We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab week in the lakes”
Review of Fallbarrow Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fallbarrow Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have just come back from a lovely week in Fallbarrow. We stayed in a 2 bedroomed lodge L23. It was in a fantastic position on the park. The views were amazing and we loved every minute. Yes the park is quite expensive in comparison to some others, but you get what you pay for. It is beautifully maintained and in a fantastic location, being able to walk into Bowness is great, we left the car on many occasions and went out for the day on foot. The lodge was great, it had everything you would need and more. We will def be back. Thanks fallbarrow you have given us some lovely memories.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Elaine1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fallbarrow Park in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

743 - 749 of 779 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

Myself, my husband and my family( 2 boys 13 & 10 yrs) stayed at Fallbarrow for 4 nights at the end of August. Being regular visitors to Bowness( we married here at The Old England in May earlier this year)we always passed the site and realised what a good location it was and booked a 3 bedroom traditional lodge. Check in was quite late, 4pm. and we were early so we were given a fob for the gate and asked to park in the park but return nearer 4pm, which wasn't a problem as we hadnt eaten so walked into the village for tea. We returned later after 4 and were given a welcome pack
with money off vouchers for the park
and various local attractions. We were allocated a lodge just off the car park in Treetops area (TT3), a little disappointing at first as we hoped for a lake view but it turned out to be lovely and not too far to walk into the village. The lodges are fantastically equipped far exceeding our expectations. There are plenty of on site facilities like pub, deli, shop, take away, but we tended to pop to the village for anything we needed as its literally 2 mins away! The site isn't huge but goes down to the lake and has a jetty area for dingies etc. The only disappointing thing was the cost of the passes to use the swimming pool at the nearby Whitecross site, £5 for children and £10 for adults, we only used it once so £30 a bit steep
for an hours swim! I would point out also if you are planning to bring bikes that there are ' no cycling' signs on the site
although people still rode their bikes.
Overall we loved it here , it's a brilliant base for exploring the lake district in a chilled out environment. We will
be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Billi2i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is only by hearing from our guests that we are able to improve on our already high standards. With regards to your lodge, Lakeview lodges are very limited so it is always advisable to call us to book as opposed to booking online. This way, we are able to facilitate any special requests you have. On a positive note, we are pleased that your expectations were exceeded with the lodge you were allocated. The charge for the leisure passes is for the duration of your stay. So although you only used the pool once, you could have used the pool, sauna and gym and White Cross Bay as many times are you liked throughout your stay at Fallbarrow. With regards to cycling on park, we do not promote it – purely from a safety perspective.

To conclude, we are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Remember to call us on 015395 69835 to ensure that Lakeview lodge and also to use your £50 loyalty discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Been to this holiday park during the 2012 August Bank Holiday. There were 6 of us (4 adults and 2 kids) and we booked a 'standard lodge' way back in February and it costs us around £550 for 3 nights. Based on our past experience of staying in log cabins in several holiday parks around the UK, I have to say that Fallbarrow Park is NOT value for money. From outside, the 'standard lodge' does look like a log cabin but inside it is nothing but a caravan. Internal walls are made of same material as the caravan and rooms are almost same size as what you would expect in a caravan. The worst bit is that there were only a single toilet for a accommodation of six! We stayed in a lodge called 'Gatehouse' and it was right at the main gate of the park. I must say that I was told during the booking that the accommodation is the first one in the park but I never realised that it would be that close to the main park entrance which will not give you the feeling that you are actually in the park! On a positive note the interiors of the accommodation was quite good though. The kitchen was well equipped with plenty of utensils, cutleries and most importantly with a dish washer. My only regret is that we paid for a log cabin but instead got the feeling of staying in a luxurious caravan.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rana_Ghosal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry to read that you were not happy with elements of your recent stay to Fallbarrow Park. It is very rare that we receive any negative comments with regards to Fallbarrow and the accommodation that we provide. If we do receive any complaints, they are taken very seriously.

The Gatehouse Lodge at Fallbarrow is a standard lodge and not a caravan. Makes, models and manufacturers of our lodges do vary so they are all different but we can assure you, The Gatehouse Lodge is definitely a lodge. We do not advertise that our standard lodges have two bathrooms so it would have been advisable for you to ask for this requirement if indeed, you needed it for your party.

With regards to the location of the lodge, we accept that we should of perhaps informed you of the location of the lodge during the booking process and for this we apologise. The Gatehouse Lodge is a very popular lodge as many families like to be near to the main complex but we accept that it is not ideal for everyone.

Again, our apologies that your short break at Fallbarrow Park was not everything you had expected. Should you decide to come and visit us again, which we sincerely hope you do, please contact our Reservations Manager directly on 015395 69835 and she will make all the necessary arrangements for you ensuring that you get all your specific requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a well kept caravan park located by the side of lake Windermere. The on site facilities include a cafe, a shop, a pub/restaurant and a lovely outdoor play area for the children. We have had many great holidays at this park and have stayed in both caravans and lodges and have found them all to be clean and well looked after. We will definitely be going again and would recommend it as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane333_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you for your recent review. Fallbarrow is indeed one of our most popular holiday parks and we are glad that you and your family have enjoyed many happy holidays with us. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I've been visiting Fallbarrow Park for 30 years, since I was very small to our last visit in May this year with my one year old daughter, and I still absolutely love it.
The park is lovely, very clean and well maintained, with direct access onto the lake and it's stunning views. The caravans are cosy and well equipped with everything you'd need.
The park is lovely and peaceful but at the same time very close to the centre of Bowness and everything it has to offer -shops, cafes, lake, boat trips, walks and more. I doubt there's a better caravan park anywhere in the country.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulesH066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thank you so much for your positive comments with regards to your recent stay at Fallbarrow Park. Fallbarrow is a fantastic holiday park and in a great central location for exploring. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and remember to mention your £50 loyalty discount when rebooking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Lovely park,just dont stay in the hoseasons caravans,near road,and not the best of vans.John the nightshift warden is a total credit to the park,very friendly chatty guy,who goes out of his way to make guests welcome...WELL DONE JOHN!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scoty1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

We thank you for your recent review and for your lovely comments about John our Night Warden. Your comments have been passed onto him. We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed in superior plus lodge in early June. We were very lucky with weather and it only rained on last day!!
Site goes right to the lakeside and it is pleasant just to walk round (which was low on visitors during our week)
Very close to shops, restaurants and lake cruises.
Lodge was very well equipped and apart from a couple of minor things lived up to the brochure description.
One tip for those with bus passes is that they are accepted on local buses including the "open tops". We used them on a couple of occasions allowing me to take in views rather than driving!!
We did not use the bar/restaurant much as it was fairly dead when we wPere there. However bar area was fine.
Shop useful but obviously prices dearer than supermarkets.
Would definitely go there again if we return to Lake District.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colchesterblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,947 reviews
1.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,459 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fallbarrow Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fallbarrow Park

Address: Fallbarrow Park Rayrigg Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Class:5 star — Fallbarrow Park 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fallbarrow Park is set amidst the wooded parkland that borders the eastern shore of Lake Windermere. Fallbarrow has extensive private grounds running right down to the water’s edge in an area of outstanding scenic beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fallbarrow Park Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Fallbarrow Park Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing