We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding!!”
Review of Fallbarrow Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fallbarrow Park
Certificate of Excellence
darlington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“outstanding!!”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

we stayed at green cottage 1 . for 3 nights there were 8 adults 1 toddler , the cottage had 3 double and 1 single bedroom all with there own bathrooms, the rooms were very clean, and really nicely furnished..the living area was very spacious and had good quality furniture , it even has 2 fridges ideal for chillin a few cans. we cannot praise the cottage enough, the site itself is very peacefull and very well kept, we found all staff to be polite and friendly. looking to book up again 10/10

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jmhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your recent review.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in Green Farm Cottage 1 and thank you for your positive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in October. Remember to call our Reservations Office on 015395 69835 and use your £50 loyalty voucher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    144
    48
    26
    24
See reviews for
353
243
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Just returned from a weekend stay in our touring caravan, and must say I was very dissapointed with the park. There was no heating in the club house so we had to sit with our coats on to eat tea. The showers were freezing cold in both showerblocks and we were unable to empty our toilet as the lock was seazed on the elsen point. If I wanted to stay on a CL site I would have paid for one. 5* SITE WITH CL FACILITIES. Was told we were unable to get refund stay away from here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank leanneCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthLakelandParks, Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of Fallbarrow Park. It is very rare that we received any negative feedback at all about Fallbarrow Park as it is a very popular and much sought after holiday park. Our touring pitches are sometimes booked months in advance as it is that popular. However, we do take any comments and feedback very seriously and we apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you encountered some problems. The Management at Fallbarrow have been advised of the issues that you had and again, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us at Fallbarrow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We took our touring caravan to Fallbarrow in September 2011. Each pitch is very private with hedge surrounding. So peaceful, facilities good. Shop and cafe on site also bar and restaurant which we didnt try as its only around 2 min walk from the busy centre of Bowness on Windermere and the Lakeside. The site itself is about 50 yards from the lakeside, we spent many an evening feeding the ducks and geese and watching the world go by. There is something magical about the lake district and this site is a perfect base to explore, we cannot recommend it highly enough and cannot wait to go back in 2012

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Back at Fallbarrow for the umpteenth time in October, cannot praise the park and lodges enough. Friendly and always ready for a chat, staff, both admin and outdoor, make guests feel really welcome. Will be back again in the Spring.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highlander947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level Contributor
249 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

This is the 4th time we've stayed at Fallbarrow and felt quite lucky to be able to book a caravan as lodges are rather expensive just for two of us. Good points - caravan clean, staff very helpful indeed, any problems soon sorted out for us. Yet again we love the position of Fallbarrow very close to everything. Bad points - ice box in fridge had not been defrosted so unable to store any ice in it, completely flat pillows in caravan (neither of these had been experienced in the past), however these problems would not stop us from staying in the future.

Room Tip: Always check on location of your property in good time. Some of the caravans had quite a lot of step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amberpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
252 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We were lucky enough to stay in a friend’s static caravan for 4 nights at Fallbarrow Park. On arrival at the park we found the receptionist who we collected the keys and passes from very helpful. She gave us plenty of information about the park and where everything was and also offered us passes to use the leisure facilities at a neighbouring park (Whitecross I think).
Our static caravan was lovely, clean and conformable and only a 30 seconds walk to the lake front.
The site is in an excellent location with all the shops and restaurants of Bowness a 5 minute walk away. There is a children’s playground, bar, take away and deli onsite but with the centre of Bowness being so close we didn’t use any of the facilities.
When we went out of an evening we found that parts of the site weren’t brilliantly lit so I would recommend taking a small torch just to make it a bit easier.
We had some lovely meals including a great Thai meal in Jintana, where we found the service and food to be of a high standard and we also had lovely take-out of fish and chips from Seafarers chip shop where everything was freshly cooked to order. We had a good pub meal at the Albert, although we did go to eat there on the Sunday and found it very busy and some people complaining so we left and went back the next night where we found the food to be good so maybe they were just over stretched on the Sunday. The only thing I found a bit odd at the Albert is that they wouldn’t set up a tab so you had to pay as you went along. We had tapas at Bodega Bar which was bit hit and miss, the potato bravas were just wedges in salsa but then the ribs, chicken skewers and whitebait were very good.
On our last night we enjoyed a meal at Roberto’s, it is more expensive than some restaurants but we found the food and service to be good and we would definitely go back again.
In terms of days out we enjoyed a wonderful walk up to Orrest Head, Windermere and enjoyed the magnificent views at the top. We also drove out to the South Lakeland Animal Park which we really enjoyed and the added bonus is that between November and February (I think) entry is free, they just ask for donation. We found the animal park to be very enjoyable and well worth the trip out.
On our last full day we had spa treatments booked at the Old England Macdonald Hotel whose facilities we had used previously when in Bowness. I must admit this time we found them a bit disorganised on arrival, not sure of the treatments we had booked and I also found the changing rooms a bit untidy with towels and dressing gowns just left lying about. Our treatments were excellent and relaxing but I just didn’t find the spa as top-class as in previous visits.
We had a wonderful long weekend, with great food and drink in Bowness and look forward to going back again soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SamM2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This park is really worth a visit it was our first time and we will be going back.The caravans and lodges are set out in a really nice way amongst the trees some are on the lakeside.Our caravan was really clean and in very good condition.We did not use the park facilities however as it is such a short walk into Bowness and all the bars, restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zigzag74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,837 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
336 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,332 reviews
1.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fallbarrow Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fallbarrow Park

Property: Fallbarrow Park
Address: Fallbarrow Park Rayrigg Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Class:5 star — Fallbarrow Park 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fallbarrow Park is set amidst the wooded parkland that borders the eastern shore of Lake Windermere. Fallbarrow has extensive private grounds running right down to the water’s edge in an area of outstanding scenic beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fallbarrow Park Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Fallbarrow Park Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing