We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveler rating
100
49
17
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
100
49
17
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location selection of beverages stroll away information pack room and en suite local buses off road parking shower pressure b and b macdonald hotel breakfast was excellent stayed two nights restaurants and bars nearby hotel lake district central location flat screen tv
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 172 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2017

Beautiful little guest house very welcoming, immaculately clean, the bed was so comfy the best nights sleep i've ever had away from home, than to be served with a wonderful breakfast, location excellent near the centre of bowness but far enough away to be very quite , would definitely stay again

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbriaboss, Owner at Holmlea Guest House (Adult Only), responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback. Our aim is always for our guests to leave Holmlea Guest House relaxed, refreshed and with their expectations exceeded. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2017

Room clean but smaller than our friends and we were charged the same rate. Breakfast ok. We would have preferred to have coffee and milk on our table rather than having to walk across the dining room to get coffee etc.We didn't like have to chose what we wanted for breakfast the night before.Nice area and good places to eat.

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank juju960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbriaboss, Owner at Holmlea Guest House (Adult Only), responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2017

Thank you for your feedback.

I'm sorry if you felt the room was smaller than your friends. It did however have a superking sized bed and larger ensuite bathroom than other rooms (at no extra cost).

Filter coffee is provided on a hot stand in the dining room for all guests to help themselves. At no time was individual coffee pots requested at the guest table. This could have been arranged if requested.

We ask guests to pre-order breakfast the night before so that we know exactly what food is required each morning. This is so we do not waste food. To maintain high standards, we cook by grill and oven which takes time (no greasy overcooked food here!). Therefore knowing what food we need to provide helps us in our prepration and cooking.

Thank for staying at Holmlea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2017

Could not fault anything lovely room great breakfast. Close to the lake and everything .john and jill were great hosts and nothing to much trouble we would love to stay there again bob and catherine hopefully in the summer

Room Tip: We were in room three and were well satisfied with it
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbatt1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbriaboss, Owner at Holmlea Guest House (Adult Only), responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2017

Thank you for the feedback. So nice to meet you and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2017

On arrival we were greeted with a very warm welcome, we were checked in very swiftly and shown to our room, which was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean.
Nothing was too much trouble.
Great breakfast, food hot and perfectly cooked, toast and coffee as much as you wanted.
Generous to a fault.
Holmlea is a fantastic base, close to all amenities, minutes away from the lake, shops and restaurants.
Highly recommended 5 star * * * * *
Will be returning again this year.

Room Tip: No needs all rooms are very comfortable.
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank iangorbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbriaboss, Owner at Holmlea Guest House (Adult Only), responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2017

Thank you so much for your very positive feedback. It was lovely to see you both again and we look forward to seeing you later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2017

Spotlessly clean and close to centre of Bowness. With off road parking. Hostess polite and helpful. Breakfast nice and filling. Room was very small bland and basic could have done with brightening up a bit and the Bath Towels were too small. We did have a nice stay in the Lakes but will not be returning to Holmlea. Sorry.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank K2220OAjeand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbriaboss, Owner at Holmlea Guest House (Adult Only), responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry you were not happy with your room and the bath towels. As you did not mention which room you stayed in we cannot respond to what you disliked. We can only advise that all our rooms are individually decorated and of varying sizes so its unfortunate you would not visit again having only seen one room. We can certainly look into getting larger bath towels in the future. On a positive note, you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality plus excellent location close to the centre of Bowness. Thank you for staying at Holmlea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews