We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveler rating
101
49
17
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
101
49
17
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location selection of beverages stroll away information pack room and en suite local buses off road parking shower pressure b and b macdonald hotel breakfast was excellent stayed two nights restaurants and bars nearby hotel lake district central location flat screen tv
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 173 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2017

Spotlessly clean and close to centre of Bowness. With off road parking. Hostess polite and helpful. Breakfast nice and filling. Room was very small bland and basic could have done with brightening up a bit and the Bath Towels were too small. We did have a nice stay in the Lakes but will not be returning to Holmlea. Sorry.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank K2220OAjeand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbriaboss, Owner at Holmlea Guest House (Adult Only), responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry you were not happy with your room and the bath towels. As you did not mention which room you stayed in we cannot respond to what you disliked. We can only advise that all our rooms are individually decorated and of varying sizes so its unfortunate you would not visit again having only seen one room. We can certainly look into getting larger bath towels in the future. On a positive note, you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality plus excellent location close to the centre of Bowness. Thank you for staying at Holmlea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2017

This is a lovely guest house and really close to the lake and shops . The owner is a lovely lady and she was really helpful . The breakfast was gorgeous and the lil cottage in the side of the house which we stayed in was brilliant we would definitely recommend this guest house ten out of ten

Room Tip: The only thing I would change is the radiator as with the room been on the side of the house it took a long time to warm the room in the winter but this is only a minor thing
Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lynnmack22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbriaboss, Owner at Holmlea Guest House (Adult Only), responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2017

Thank you for your feedback and recommendation of our guest house. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2017

Stayed for 2 nights Gill gave us a lovely welcome on our arrival, the room was spotlessly clean.
We used the Leisure facilities provided at the nearby hotel a couple of times during our stay, which we really enjoyed.
Lovely home cooked breakfast to wake up to , and only a 5 minute walk to the lake restaurants and bars.
Will definitely be returning, see you again soon .

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hazel368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbriaboss, Owner at Holmlea Guest House (Adult Only), responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your stay. Glad you enjoyed the free leisure facilities which are available to all our guests who book direct with us. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2016

Had a lovely few days at Holmlea, very clean, lovely breakfast, central for everything and off street parking and friendly owners. Plenty of nice restaurants and pubs nearby, not far from the lake where you can take the ferry to Ambleside etc.

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeanprestwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbriaboss, Owner at Holmlea Guest House (Adult Only), responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2016

Thank you for sharing feedback of your stay at Holmlea. So glad you enjoyed your holiday in the Lakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2016

A very friendly, spotlessly clean and well run guest house, ideal as a base for participating in a dinghy sailing event on Windermere, being within 5mins walk of the Sailing Club. Breakfasts are good but would be upgraded to excellent if porridge were to be offered.

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stephen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbriaboss, Owner at Holmlea Guest House (Adult Only), responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2016

Thank you for your positive feedback from your stay at Holmlea. Apologies for not having porridge as requested. We do however provide 5 different cereals and yoghurts at breakfast and will look to include porridge in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews