We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly and comfortable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holmlea Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A friendly and comfortable stay.”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here for a walking weekend and were made very welcome. The room was clean and comfortable with an excellent bathroom. Breakfasts were very tasty with a good menu. The town centre shops, bars and restaurants are only a couple of minutes walk away. We would certainly return to Holmlea. Well recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BourbonDrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbriaboss, Manager at Holmlea Guest House, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and so pleased you will recommend us to your friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    45
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
94
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We booked 3 rooms and were all delighted with the accommodation we were given. Every room was scrupulously clean (as was the whole building), and very tastefully furnished. The breakfast was beautifully cooked each day and the rooms cleaned each day. Jill, the proprietor, was always on hand but never intrusive,always smiling and helpful and attentive. The whole place has a warm, inviting feel and is very quiet and restful. The shops and lake are very close. I cannot recommend Holmlea highly enough. the whole place is a credit to the owners and i would advise anyone holidaying in the area to stay here for a warm,comfortable and relaxing time.

Room Tip: Couldnt fault any of the rooms and enquiries about the rooms were answered straight away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vink2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead-on-Tyne, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This guest house is a great place for shops, bars, resturants, and of course the lake. The rooms were clean and tidy and made up every day which was nice, breakfast was good as well. Hosts were very nice of what we seen of them but in a good way as they were there if needed them but never bothered you and just let us get on with our weekend away. would difo stay again here. First class plus if weather was too bad you could use the spa and swimming pool in a near by Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Central to the lovely lakes district at Bowness we found Holmlea to be a convenient and comfortable B&B. It was extremely clean and the attention to detail in making sure everything is in its right place and spotlessly clean was obvious. Our hosts were helpful with suggestions that proved to be spot on for our needs, and their loan of a lap-top to catch up on correspondence, etc was very much appreciated. Our room was small and the heavy-ish doona on our bed made certain that we would not be cold. However, the bright bay-windowed breakfast room was lovely and the food very good. There are heaps of accommodation choices in the lakes district, but for a good valued B&B, we would stay at Holmlea again. We also made use of the complimentary access to the local five star hotel's pool and leisure centre which was appreciated and beatifully located.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2013

my husband and I stayed here for few days in may 2013 , room was very clean everything we needed , food was great, service great warm friendly ,local to attractions walking distance to town centre , warm and friendly atmosphere , very quiet at night , would stay again and recommend to family and friends one of the best b&B we stayed in for comfort and cleanness with fanatic service hoping to visit again later this year

Room Tip: we stay in the room joining main house very clean ,quiet and comfy would stay again
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pocetnanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We are on our way back for the third time this year to stay at Holmlea Guest House. We've stayed rain and shine experiencing excellent advise on things to do during the less appealing weather. The spa and cooked breakfast also helps to make the trip more relaxing. Holmlea is literally a two minute walk from the lake and restaurants making it a perfect choice for those whom don't wish to walk very far to make the most of Lake Windermere.

Room Tip: We have stayed in room 2 and 5 previously. Both rooms are of excellent standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11Rowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Hi all,well the ladies of a certain age have been travelling again.Had a lovely break at the Holmlea Guest house,Jill was lovely nothing to much trouble,the room was excellant,spotlessly clean and the tea and coffee facilities were top class and no limitations(fabulous),the breakfast was cooked to order the choice was very good.The Holmlea is ideally situated only 5min walk to the lake side,and near some lovely restaurants and shops,also on a fantastic bus route,good not fault this little gem and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a lovely twin room on the top of the house,which we could see the lake from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mojomamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
709 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beechwood Guest House
Beechwood Guest House
#14 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Garden Guest House
Fairfield Garden Guest House
#29 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blenheim Lodge
Blenheim Lodge
#25 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laurel Cottage B&B
Laurel Cottage B&B
#26 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmlea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmlea Guest House

Property: Holmlea Guest House
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holmlea Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holmlea Guest House is a quality bed and breakfast accommodation located in a prime, quiet location of Bowness on Windermere, very close to Lake Windermere. We cater exclusively for adults only and are unable to accommodate pets. Our comfortable bedrooms offer high standards of cleanliness and a relaxing retreat after a day on the fells or a leisurely cruise or walk. Guests that have booked direct and are staying two nights or more have free access to swimming pool, sauna and gym facilities at a nearby hotel overlooking Lake Windermere. Bowness village is situated on the shores of Lake Windermere and is surrounded by magnificent countryside, scenic walks and breathtaking views. Bustling with activity throughout the year and offers specialist shopping for fashion, food, arts, crafts, cafes, restaurants, pubs, tourist attractions and Lake Windermere cruises. All within a few minutes stroll from our Guest House. Look no further than this perfect location from which to stay, relax, unwind and take home great memories of your short break in the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Holmlea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmlea Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing