We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely yes!”
Review of Lonsdale House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lonsdale House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Lonsdale House is a quaint, charming place to stay at Windermere. The room is clean and tastefully done. The service is excellent - Andrew & and his team deserve special mention for their effort to make us feel at home. There was a good spread for breakfast and the bar was reasonable when compared to other places in Windermere. They also have a good collection of books and games to pass time on a lazy afternoon. I would definitely recommend Lonsdale House to anyone looking for a relaxed break in Windermere.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbeelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 573 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2010

Two friends and I recently spent 4 nights at the Lonsdale Hotel Windermere, visiting from the United States. We were treated royally the entire time. Andrew was so helpful as we needed advice on places to go and directions to get there. He did the maps for us as well as gave us advice. Our rooms were very nice. Each room is decorated differently with several amenities including cookie and cracker snacks and sherry for our enjoyment. The breakfast was nicely presented each morning. We also enjoyed the bar on occasion. We enjoyed two nights, in addition, at one of the cottages in Lindale. It was very comfortable and very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJJSANDIEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

my wife i shayed at the Lonsdale House for three nights and from the minate we got there was made to feel very welcome by andrew and is team they are all very polite and friendly the bed rooms are very clean and you would not get a better breakfast any where and when go back to the lakes it will be at the lonsdale where we will be staying,

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roytheboy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

We recently spent 3 nights in this guesthouse.

When we arrived we got a warm welcome and were shown to our room. The en-suite room, which overlooked Lake Road, was a decent size. There were two main problems however (easily rectified); the mattress on the four-poster bed was well past its best and generally uncomfortable and the shower was an “over-head” type – it might look the part and is maybe in-keeping with the general room décor but it is really impractical as you cannot adjust the shower head. Another point to bear in mind is if the room faces the main road then you can expect some noise, both from traffic and late-night revelers making their way up from the centre of town.

Parking at the front of the house, in one of the three spaces, is best described as “neat”. Parking in the rear is slightly better. It is evident they have optimized space usage, at the expense of convenience, but to be fair this is a town centre location and space, in general, is definitely at a premium.

The full breakfast was hearty fare, with a choice of cereal, fruit juice and tea or coffee – served by the ever-friendly staff. There is a small lounge/bar, adjacent to the breakfast room, which had a relaxed atmosphere.

Room problems aside, the Lonsdale is a decent guesthouse.

We left having had a relaxing and refreshing break.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conluceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2010

After a great drive through the hills of the Lake District i was greeted by the smiling friendly staff at the Lonsdale Hotel, which makes a refreshing change. I was really made to feel at home and after being shown to our room we came down to the bar where we were told about of the sites of the local area. The lake is a short walk from the hote as many of the fantastic local restaurants and you are right in the town, everthing is on your doorstep.

I will be sure to visit the Lonsdale Hotel again and would recommend it to anyone who wants a relaxing trip in the UK.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richards221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

Went for my birthday and stayed two nights b+b and really enjoyed it,staff are great,rooms very clean,nice dining room and bar,in a very handy location for the lake and local pubs ,shops etc, would recommend this hotel to anyone,and will definetly be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

The signage at this hotel says "Lonsdale House" and not "Hotel" which got me a little confused when we first arrived especially so when the taxi driver was not too sure the location of this hotel.
Overall, we had a good stay at the hotel. We stay at room 6 which has a 4 poster bed. This is the front room which faces the road but I did not think it was noisy. The location is good, just outside the main drag of Bowness but since Bowness is quite small, everything is within walking distance.
The staff were very friendly and Andrew was really helpful by telling us where we could go out on a Friday night !

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,035 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
588 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
451 reviews
2.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonsdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonsdale House

Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $90 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lonsdale House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic Central Location close to Lake Windermere, Beatrix Potter Attraction, Restaurants, shops etc. Having Lake View Rooms, Four Poster Rooms and Family Rooms. Parking on site. Guests can relax in the Lounge or have a drink at the well stocked bar. For a great holiday at a great price contact us and take advantage of our excellent deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lonsdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonsdale House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Lonsdale House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing