We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm friendly hotel in an amazing part of England!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lonsdale House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lonsdale House
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A warm friendly hotel in an amazing part of England!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

After a great drive through the hills of the Lake District i was greeted by the smiling friendly staff at the Lonsdale Hotel, which makes a refreshing change. I was really made to feel at home and after being shown to our room we came down to the bar where we were told about of the sites of the local area. The lake is a short walk from the hote as many of the fantastic local restaurants and you are right in the town, everthing is on your doorstep.

I will be sure to visit the Lonsdale Hotel again and would recommend it to anyone who wants a relaxing trip in the UK.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richards221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    137
    69
    13
    6
See reviews for
146
272
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
cleveland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2010

Went for my birthday and stayed two nights b+b and really enjoyed it,staff are great,rooms very clean,nice dining room and bar,in a very handy location for the lake and local pubs ,shops etc, would recommend this hotel to anyone,and will definetly be going back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leonfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2010

The signage at this hotel says "Lonsdale House" and not "Hotel" which got me a little confused when we first arrived especially so when the taxi driver was not too sure the location of this hotel.
Overall, we had a good stay at the hotel. We stay at room 6 which has a 4 poster bed. This is the front room which faces the road but I did not think it was noisy. The location is good, just outside the main drag of Bowness but since Bowness is quite small, everything is within walking distance.
The staff were very friendly and Andrew was really helpful by telling us where we could go out on a Friday night !

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Starsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2010

We stayed at the Lonsdale House guest house for three nights following our wedding in April 2010 - the location is extremely convenient for local restuarants and attractions. The owner (Andrew) and his staff (particularly Pavel) were extremely welcoming, polite, friendly and basically couldn't do enough for us. We were also treated to a bottle of champagne in our room on the first night as we were newly married.

Breakfasts were fantastic - in fact I think we both put on a few pounds. This is a lovely guest house of the highest quality and we would love to visit there again - top marks!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dolgarrogrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2010

I travelled with my family (inc. two children under 10yrs), my sister and her children and my parents. We had a lovely weekend stay in the Lonsdale Hotel. The owner Andrew extended a very warm welcome and was helpful and very friendly both before and after arrival. All of the staff were also very friendly too. The room was very clean and tastefully decorated and the breakfast was great ! We enjoyed some great food in the evenings in a selection of restaurants and pubs only a short walk from the hotel. We returned to the hotel later in the evenings to relax with a drink in the hotel lounge, the children were kept entertained by the great selection of board games found in a cupboard in the lounge. There is a lovely little play park behind the hotel which the children enjoyed too. Bowness is a great base for hill walking and many other tourist attractions too. We enjoyed the cruise boat/steam railway trip and managed a walk in the middle of it too. The only minor downside was the limited parking and the hotel is located on a busy road; however, we didn't have a problem parking ourselves.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coaker24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

I would like to thank all the staff at Lonsdale House for a lovely stay. Me and my husband stayed there for 2 nights Bed and Breakfast. We had the Deluxe Room Lake View which was very nice when opening the curtains in a morning especially when the sun was shining, the room was very spacious and equipped with everything you needed eg towels, tea and coffee etc. It is ideally located near the Lake only a short walk down the hill which was ok with plenty of shops and restaurants to view on the way down. We would definitely go back and stay at the Lonsdale House Hotel again. Also i forgot to mention the breakfast was excellent plenty to put you on for the day.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

We arrived a little early and only wanted to ask if we could use the carpark but as our room was ready the helpful friendly staff allowed us to check in. The room was clean, spacious and we had been upgraded to a lake view. Hotel location was perfect just a short walk to the centre of Bowness. The small bar at the basement of the hotel was well stocked and ideal to relax and unwind. The hearty breakfast next morning was just what the doctor ordered and set us up for the rest of the day. Rooms had to be vacated by 10:30 which was not a problem for us, although I do think this maybe a little early for some?

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank risgibei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,743 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonsdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonsdale House

Property: Lonsdale House
Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lonsdale House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic Central Location close to Lake Windermere, Beatrix Potter Attraction, Restaurants, shops etc. Having Lake View Rooms, Four Poster Rooms and Family Rooms. Parking on site. Guests can relax in the Lounge or have a drink at the well stocked bar. For a great holiday at a great price contact us and take advantage of our excellent deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lonsdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonsdale House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Lonsdale House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing