We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”
Review of Lonsdale House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lonsdale House
Certificate of Excellence
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The hotel is in a perfect position, just a 5 min stroll to the lake.
Our room had a four poster bed which was incredibly comfortable.
We were treated with a decanter of sherry and a bowl of sweets.
The hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome.
The breakfast was delicious and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
We were able to leave our car for an extra couple of hours after check out.

Room Tip: We chose a deluxe room and it was a good size with a four poster bed and a couch. We stayed in a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkpancakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    145
    71
    13
    7
See reviews for
154
296
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We made a reservation in January via booking.com for two family rooms of Lonsdale House for 2 nights in July. This reservation was HALF YEAR in ADVANCE and a confirmation email was well received from booking.com.

However, when we arrived the Lonsdale House in July, the staff told me they only received reservation of 1 room only. They suspected that booking.com has missed to fax them the 2nd page (for 2nd room) of the reservation.

What a nonsense!! This was the peak season of Lake District. It is difficult to find a family room for 4 persons. Then, the staff tried to search other guesthouses for vacant room. After a while, he told me that we were lucky to have the only vacant room in the region (without private toilet) which was available 5-min drive from their house. Our two families had to be separated into 2 houses for that trip finally. So disappointed!!

Though the staff said that the missing of fax was not their fault, this could be another story. I heard from the staff that their rooms were fully occupied by other families staying for a week or more. What do you think?

Thus, to maximize profit, unethical hotels (I'm not referring to Lonsdale, don't misunderstand.) may operate this way:

Keep receiving reservation even already overbooked and coordinate with nearby lower grade apartments and pass the bookings with shorter stay to them. Upon guests' arrival, simply say "we did not receive the fax, it should be booking.com or the agent's problem. [helpfully] Let me try to search another hotel for you. [calling a few guesthouses over the phone... ]......Oh, you are the luckiest one that there is still one vacant room over there. I have asked the guesthouse to hold the room for you. Let me show you the way to drive there....." Then, you have no choice but to accept what is given during a peak season.

Suggestion to secure your reservation. Do contact the hotel directly for a separate confirmation even a confirmation email is received from the booking agent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fcxfcxfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew762448, Manager at Lonsdale House, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
To say we were surprised at your review is an understatement! As proved at the time of your arrival on the Fax Data Memory - it clearly showed one fax sheet received (not two) - the mistake was very obviously with your Chinese booking agent and not ourselves. Despite the mistake not being ours we bent over backwards to secure your friends a room in Windermere at which we would have expected a big THANK YOU. Things are obviously very different where you come from but a little bit of gratitude for going over and above to help you out of a situation which we were definitely not responsible for would have been expected certainly not accusations of purposely overbooking - how ludicrous. Please note that your booking agent now makes reservations via e-mail and not fax any more - this speaks volumes! It is always best to book direct with any property to ensure that the mistakes a 'middleman' can cause are eradicated and you often get a better deal and the exact room to suit your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Just back from a big family weekend away. Accommodation was just what we wanted. Central, clean and comfortable rooms nicely decorated, good breakfast and friendly staff. Not luxury but not expecting that for what we paid. Would recommend and would go back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AMS614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

we booked for 3 nights over new years eve, this was our first stay at the hotel and we were pleased with the choice. The hotel is lovely and cosy, we spent alot of time in the hotel bar/lounge area as there is a nice fire place and they had festive music on.

we stayed in room 8, which had a four poster bed and a nice view out onto the lake. The room was nice and quiet, and the bed very comfortable so we had a good nights sleep every night. The bathroom was a shower room, but was adequate enough for what we needed. The only critiscim i have of the room, is because of the four poster, it blocked alot of the ceiling light and the lamps were not very bright, so as soon as it was night time, the room was very dark-this proved especially hard for me at night time trying to get ready and put my make up on, and for my husband when shaving. Also there was only one small mirror over the sink, so this also proved hard if my husband was using the sink-so it would have been ideal if there was a mirror on the dressing table-or bring your own.

Our friends were staying in the room off the breakfast area, this room was lovely, more like an apartment!

We only really saw one member of staff who was lovely and helpful and always had a smile on his face. The breakfast was nice, plenty of choice.

The hotel is in a good location, i'd say a five minute walk into the town but plenty of shops etc to look at on the way.

So all in all a lovely stay, exactly what i was looking for in a peaceful break in the lakes!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayleyg85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our son bought us a Gift Voucher to stay at Lonsdale Guesthouse for our wedding anniversary (he stayed in the summer). We initially booked to stay in November but had to cancel at the very last minute and that was our first experience of how good the staff were. They were considerate and very understanding and allowed us to change our booking to January.
We arrived late on Friday due to a hold up on the M6 and were greeted by Andrew who was lovely and immediately made us feel welcome. We booked in and Andrew helped us by recommending a restaurant for us to eat that evening and a couple of choices for Saturday. Andrew showed us to our room (room 5) which was located on the first floor. The room was lovely. It was spacious with tea, coffee buscuits and a small decanter of sherry! The view in the morning was beautiful looking across the lake - what a lovely thing to wake up to.
We went down for breakfast in the morning and were greeted with a smile and given a choice of tables. There was a choice of cereals, fruit, yogurts and fruit juices to begin and then a great selection to choose from for the cooked breakfast. Bill had the full English breakfast and I had poached eggs on toast. Both of us agreed the breakfast was perfectly cooked, quality ingredients and nicely presented.
Across the hall from the dining room was a lovely relaxing lounge and bar area with a gorgeous Christmas Tree that must have been 8" tall. You could relax for a coffee or a glass of wine and there were plenty of magazines, local guide books and brochures available. The bar had a lovely warm atmosphere and was perfect for a relaxing drink in the evenings.
It was only our second visit to Bowness but the village has a lot to offer with some really great restaurants and places to visit. We will definitely be returning having rediscovered the area and will be staying at Lonsdale Guesthouse. Thank you for a lovely stay, Bill and Dotty Alderson

Room Tip: Room 5 was quiet and had a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We did not realize until we arrived but we actually stayed here about 10 years ago when passing through! It has changed a lot from the place we remember. We had a superb four poster room that was perfect and fit beautifully with the age and feel of this lovely Victorian Gentlemans Residence. There was a great bar and lounge area to relax and felt very festive. The breakfast was an excellent traditional English and set you up perfectly for the day. The staff were lovely and could not do enough for you. We are really pleased we have rediscovered Lonsdale House and have booked to stay again in February.

Room Tip: The Four Poster Room is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with another couple for 2 nights over new year. Booked on the basis that it was 4 star and good trip advisor reviews. It was ok.

Positive:
Lovely staff
Great breakfast
Very clean rooms
Nice touch with small decanter of sherry in room
Good location to bowness

Negative:
Room description on website says iron/iron board - need to ask for one then there's a shortage/long wait which isn't great when needing to get ready
Very small bathroom with rubbish shower (no hot water, poor water pressure)
Very thin curtains in room so no shield from light at all
No double glazing so quite noisy
Bar area was uncomfortably hot, couldn't sit in there

It wouldn't be my place of choice if I was to return to bowness but I would stay there again if other BBs such as rose cottage full.


Staff are fantastic!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KJ55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew762448, Manager at Lonsdale House, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you so much for the excellent review and for choosing the Lonsdale as your base for the New Years Eve Celebrations. It was a fantastic night and after what seemed like an 'Ironathon' by the whole guesthouse I can assure you that it had really paid off as when all our guests congregated by the fire in our lovely cosy bar and lounge you all looked wonderful particularly yourselves dressed in traditional Scottish outfits.
We are really enjoy what we do here and it makes it all worthwhile when we get to meet such lovely people as yourselves.
We look forward to welcoming you back next New Years Eve and maybe we might just get a rendition of Auld Lang Syne on your bag pipes.
Happy New Year from all at the Lonsdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,878 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,398 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,003 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonsdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonsdale House

Property: Lonsdale House
Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lonsdale House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic Central Location close to Lake Windermere, Beatrix Potter Attraction, Restaurants, shops etc. Having Lake View Rooms, Four Poster Rooms and Family Rooms. Parking on site. Guests can relax in the Lounge or have a drink at the well stocked bar. For a great holiday at a great price contact us and take advantage of our excellent deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lonsdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonsdale House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Lonsdale House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing