We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room and very friendly staff”
Review of Lonsdale House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lonsdale House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

After a last minute decision to stop for a day in Windermere on our trip up to Scotland I came across this guest house online. The reviews suggested overall it was okayISH but not really worth it's four stars. I could not agree less! The house is lovely and had lots of character. It has a cute typical English lounge with a small bar and there is a dining room. We were offered to use the many games they had for the children. The room was very big and clean and again with lots of character. There was a large four poster bed with extra beds either side for our children, leaving still plenty of floor space. There was a flat screen and complimentary tea/coffee and even sherry and sweets! The bathroom looked brand new and had an overhead rain shower over a large bath. Breakfast was lovely and plenty full. The staff were all very friendly. Would definitely come back here!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkeyash76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 573 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

Had two nights in the lakes and chose this hotel. Emailed the owner prior to going and asked if we could have a lake view room as it was our first visit, Andrew promptly emailed back to say he had done a bit of juggling and was sorted. Our room was on the top floor with a huge bay window and beautiful view of the lake. Staff were friendly and helpful, and Andrew came and introduced himself to us. Such a lovely cosy guest house, spotlessly clean. Breakfast was great, and such a selection, table is all set out and the staff come and take your order, full english was always my husbands choice. Have only positive words for Lonsdale House, will definitely stay there if we return.

Room Tip: Room 9 has a lovely lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollie1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew762448, Manager at Lonsdale House, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is great when guests take the time to contact us before their stay as it enables us to ensure that we get exactly the right room for you. We are really pleased that you had such a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed at the Londsdale house hotel overnight a couple of weeks ago while visiting the Lakes District. We are a family of 4 (with two teenagers) so had the large family room. It was a nice surprise to see biscuits and a decanter of sherry waiting for us in the room. Although we don't drink, it was a nice touch for anyone who does! The beds were comfy and the room was clean and cozy. Monika was very nice and helpful during our stay. The location couldn't be better with just a short walk to the lake, Beatrix Potter attraction and restaurants in the area. One issue we had was parking, but it turned out to not be a problem after all. We would highly recommend Lonsdale house to anyone visiting the beautiful Lakes District area.

Room Tip: I would imagine the rooms at the back are quieter than the rooms on the front. Busy road in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvmaui40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew762448, Manager at Lonsdale House, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for such a great review and recommending us so highly. It is always nice to welcome new guests and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Hello. Just a quick review to acknowledge a yet again a lovely stay in Windermere.
This time we have travelled as a family of four with two daughters (5,1).
This accommodation is family friendly and the room was big enough for our four.
We try to come back to Windermere every year to visit our friends, try a proper English fish and chips, drive to Ambleside and Keswick, take a cruise by boat on the lakes and … stay in The Lonsdale House!
Andrew is a fountain of local knowledge and Pawel Duty Manger (family man) is very helpful with all local activities for kids.
We enjoyed our stay – we knew about very central location of the property so we expected a certain level of sound from the street. However we were far from complaining! If you looking for a peace and quite place should look for a B&B in Wilderness ;)
We are not very fussy and did appreciate freshly cooked breakfast. My older daughter liked “the solid yolk on the fried egg”, I for instance politely asked for a soft one – which was delicious!
And one more thing that must be mentioned – a tremendous work of Kate that she put in redecorating of the rooms and dinning area. It looks great, very stylish and so fresh! Well done.
Strongly recommended. Will be back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew762448, Manager at Lonsdale House, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for your excellent review, it is very much appreciated. It is always lovely to welcome guests back to stay with us and means that we are getting it right. We look forward to welcoming you back next year. All the very best, Andrew and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I booked this through late rooms on the basis that it was 4* and was influenced by the trips advisor reviews. I rang the B&B before our stay and spoke to Andrew who I explained that it was our 40th Wedding Anniversary and therefore wanted to make it special. Andrew said we would have the best room in the B&B, room 6. On arrival we were very disappointed as this certainly was not 4*, in fact it was a very average seaside B&B. We did have a 4 Poster Bed which creaked at every twist and turn. We were booked for 3 nights and did manage to endure the complete stay even though we had major sleep depravation as the B&B is right on the main road through Bowness, the road noise was horrendous throughout the night. The room was so hot but not a fan in sight. Who has a shower curtain in 4* accommodation? The car park was so small that as the hotel was full it has 10 rooms but only 8 parking spaces so on the third day did not dare leave the car park in case we lost our space. As it was we were requested to park closer to other cars even to the extent that you could not get in the passenger door. The Breakfast was average at the very best, each day the fried egg yolk was solid, the toast was the thinnest bread I have ever been presented anywhere and tasteless. The staff were attentive, if over stretched, as they were short staffed. On a positive note the B&B was quite central between Bowness & Windermere town centres so was walkable to both. There is no outdoor space or seating to get out of the very hot room. The accommodation is certainly not 4* as already stated. If the price was circa £60.00 per night and not an average of £99.00 a night, that would be what it is worth, in my opinion,after staying at many, many B&B's & Hotels. This is not meant to be all negative but hopefully will not mean disappointment to others if they thought of booking this as 4* accommodation & facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IanSugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew762448, Manager at Lonsdale House, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

I was quoted by a Guest yesterday that people want 5 star hotel accommodation for 2 star money and that certainly seems to be the case here. We are a Four Star Guest House not a Hotel. You would struggle to find a Youth Hotel for £60 a night in the Lakes let alone in the centre of Bowness on Windermere in the height of the season with a bar, lounge, Four Poster Bed with new Sealy Mattress, Andrew Martin Wallpaper, Farrow and Ball Paints, en-suite, free parking and a valet service and all locally sourced breakfast produce. We firmly believe (and are well placed to know) that we offer excellent value for money and quality and if you had paid 3 times as much you could have stayed in the 4 star Old England Hotel which is a few minutes walk from us. We are very proud of what we do here and hold our hands up if we get anything wrong but think your review is very unfair and misleading.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Having just returned home from a two night stay in this bed and breakfast and I can honestly say that I am looking forward to my own bed to night!

I booked this room via booking.com and was told it was going to be a four poster bedroom, upon arrival we were shown through the dining room to what could only be described as the staff living quarters?! The room did not have a room number on and simply said private on the door.
We paid £100 per night for what was meant to be a deluxe double, this was far from I expected. The decoration was cheap, there were numerous stains on the carpet and walls and the wardrobe was simply a rail in the boiling cupboard.

Additionally, the bedroom was located above the car park, currently the weather is 29 degrees, therefore with no air con it meant we had to have the windows open all night, this meant been awoken both mornings by other guests checking out/returning.

This morning, we felt that we had to wait till after breakfast had been served to leave our room and check out as we felt awkward having to carry our bags through the dining area when people where eating their breakfast.

The B&B was not worth the money that I paid and I will not be staying again. However, maybe given a different room this review would be different.

However, on a positive note the staff were very nice, the breakfast was lovely and the location was perfect should you want to be in the heart of Windermere.

Room Tip: Request that you do not stay in room 11!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Creditwhereitisdue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew762448, Manager at Lonsdale House, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

We are sorry that you did not appreciate your room. Having checked your booking with booking.com a Four Poster Room was definitely not specified to us on the booking. We always recommend guests book directly with us then we can tailor your room and stay to you rather than you depending on overworked booking site staff to get it right! We are pleased that you appreciated our great location and the quality of our breakfast and the excellent service and friendliness of the staff. With being a listed building built in 1851 and being in a Protected Area of Historical Significance we obviously can not have air conditioning units situated on the building. Please book directly with us on your next visit so we can ensure you have a Four Poster Room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The polish gentleman who was going home this weekend was very kind and helpful when he showed us to our room.The room was nice but the shower room was a bit small.As we were on the ground floor facing the road we had a very bad night even with the windows closed the traffic noise was horrendous,maybe investing in double glazing might solve the problem.
Handy for restaurants and shops.Breakfast was good, filter coffee may be a better option than granules.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the traffic noise if you live in a quiet area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilko05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew762448, Owner at Lonsdale House, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

We are sorry that you did not have a good nights sleep. All our rooms have new double glazing in them so we are a little surprised that you were disturbed all night. Thank you for rating us so highly on our location, cleanliness and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,040 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,947 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
588 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
451 reviews
2.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonsdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonsdale House

Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $90 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lonsdale House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic Central Location close to Lake Windermere, Beatrix Potter Attraction, Restaurants, shops etc. Having Lake View Rooms, Four Poster Rooms and Family Rooms. Parking on site. Guests can relax in the Lounge or have a drink at the well stocked bar. For a great holiday at a great price contact us and take advantage of our excellent deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lonsdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonsdale House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Lonsdale House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing