We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our honeymoon”
Review of Lonsdale House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lonsdale House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

we stayed at the lonsdale in oct for 4nights for our honeymoon and a birthday. the room was very comfy with a travel cot and supplied a baby bath for our 11 week old baby. staff very friendly nothing too much trouble. breakfast excellent a good start to the day. cant wait to go again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew762448, Manager at Lonsdale House, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

It was really a pleasure to meet you and lovely to be able to make your Honeymoon a very special and memorable occasion for you. We look forward to welcoming you back for your first anniversary :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 573 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

A very comfortable stay, excellent attentive and friendly staff, great breakfast & excellent value for money. I was in room 9 - a fantastic view of the lake & hills! I will definitely stay again whenever I am in the area on business & will probably also come back for a weekend break with my partner.

Room Tip: Room 9 - comfortable, large room with an excellent view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew762448, Manager at Lonsdale House, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for your great review of Lonsdale House. Hopefully your next trip will be purely pleasure and you will get the opportunity to take full advantage of all the wonderful things Bowness and the lakes has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Just returned from a two evening break with my wife and young son and can only be positive in my appraisal of the place. As a regular visitor to Bowness I have stayed in many of the other hotels and I would place Lonsdale amongst the very best. The staff are superb, professional and very friendly especially Andrew and Pavel who I spoke to the most.The rooms are kept clean and are very warm and cosy with a complimentary decanter of sherry which is filled daily. There is a nice little bar area which offers general beers and cocktails at a reasonable price. To finish the breakfast is to die for and is plentiful enough for the biggest of eaters which I am! All in all good location quality service and lovely food what more do you need, myself and my family will be returning very soon.

Room Tip: Room 5 is spot on for families with one child and has a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ch147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed here for two nights with my husband. The location of the guesthouse is spot on, 5 mins walk to the lake. when we arrived we were greeted by a friendly lady who showed us to our room. We stayed in room 6, with a four poster bed, no problems with the room, very clean, nice and warm and the free sherry was a nice touch. the breakfast was beautiful and the service was good always asked if you needed more toast, coffee, sauce etc, overall we had a fantastic time in bowness and at this guest house, would definately stay here again :)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VicfosterRicfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I (and Dog) have just returned from a 3 night stay and do not have a bad thing to say about the hotel.
We were greeted by a really nice chap called Andrew who was very welcoming,helpful and informative. Even offered to lend is his OS Map to help us navigate our way around the hills, which in hindsight would have been a good idea as we got a tad lost!!
Breakfast was spot on very fresh and hot.
Was our first visit to Bowness and we loved it!! Loads of places to eat and drink and we didn't have a bad meal anywhere. Great walking straight from the hotel!! Will definitely be returning so have your OS map ready for us Andrew. :)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dazman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Londsdale House is a comfortable B&B in busy Windemere, in the English Lakes District. Our complaint therefore is not with the hotel but the booking agency Expedia, for the protracted and fruitless argument we had with them when we sought a refund for cancelled accommodation booked through them at this hotel. While abroad Expedia's own electronic processes blocked my attempts to communicate with them. Literally hours of direct phone calls to Expedia, together with waiting for return calls, then having to repeat the conversation with a new representative, led to nothing. In the end we stayed at Lonsdale House for the one night we could fit into our adjusted itinerary but had to pay for accommodation not used though we notified of cancellation in good time. Our efforts to secure a refund were reinforced by the the owner of Lonsdale House in his own independent communications with Expedia, and on returning to Australia we made every effort to communicate with Expedia by email, all to no avail.Basically, our experience taught us that while you may change or cancel your booking with Expedia in the country in which the booking originates expect insurmountable problems in doing so once you are out of the country in which you booked. What I have learnt is to shop around for hotels and prices with the booking agencies, then to book directly with the hotel. Our experience has been that you get much better service that way. I will never use booking services, like Expedia, for hotel bookings again, because the experience was the opposite of the convenience I sought, and because, if there is a problem, there is no problem solver in their system, which is based around robotic call centres.

Room Tip: Rooms well appointed but ask for one not on the street which is busy and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jomcmillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

we have just returned from a few days away in the Lake District.
We found the Lonsdale very good and would recommend it if you
want to be in the midst of Bowness. The hotel is on the main road
and great to walk to all the shops and restaurants without touching the car.
the staff are extremely friendly and very helpful. We had a family room which
was very clean, did look a bit tired and in need of a little TLC, but it served
our needs perfectly, when you stay in the lakes you want to be out and about
enjoying the marvellous scenery. The breakfast was excellent and once again the staff
were very helpful in attending to everything we wanted.
If you plan to be on the move a lot, this is an ideal base.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the back car park and you could see the lake in the distance front overlooks a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ossam_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,039 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,946 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
588 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
451 reviews
2.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonsdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonsdale House

Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $90 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lonsdale House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic Central Location close to Lake Windermere, Beatrix Potter Attraction, Restaurants, shops etc. Having Lake View Rooms, Four Poster Rooms and Family Rooms. Parking on site. Guests can relax in the Lounge or have a drink at the well stocked bar. For a great holiday at a great price contact us and take advantage of our excellent deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lonsdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonsdale House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Lonsdale House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing