We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, shame about the facilities...”
Review of New Hall Bank

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
New Hall Bank
Certificate of Excellence
Standish, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice room, shame about the facilities...”
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Before I begin this review I would just like to say that we are seasoned travellers who have stayed in a variety of accommodation types all over the world. We had a warm welcome on a very wet day!
We stayed for 2 nights in what we thought would be superior accommodation, paying nearly £200 for bed and breakfast. We had a king size bedded room which was very nice, but the "private bathroom" was wide from the mark! It was across the landing which we felt would not be an issue as no one else was staying on the same part of the building. The owner did offer to show us another room however, but we decided to give it a go.
The bathroom, as others had commented, was very small which was not a problem as we weren't there for long. Shower was good and lots of toiletries etc. available. However the mouldy ceiling, wall and window was a bit of a downer. No excuse even if you have to paint it all once a month. I know there is planned refurbishment but in the interim this is not good. The bathroom felt grubby as a result which is a shame. The separate toilet had no ventilation at all!
There are too many rules in the place. Only a 45 minute window for breakfast even at weekends, yet they do not clean your room unless requested on a Saturday so your privacy and relaxation is protected. Surely the price charged should cover a cleaned room? That meant that tea, sugar, milk etc was "doubled" on the Friday as the instruction card stated. However we ran out!! More could be "purchased"!!! I have never before come across this but stand corrected if this is practice in some establishments. The info book had more rules to adhere to than ever seen before.
Breakfast was adequate in a lovely bright room which had beautiful views across the lake. I asked for a poached egg but this was denied as they only did fried or scrambled. No jug of juice for a refill nor a very wide variety of breakfast items in comparison to similar priced bed and breakfasts. The second morning the bacon was very hard - not well done, just hard which I had to leave. I did not chance the sausage again as it was disgusting the day before. The rest was ok and we were asked if we would like more tea which was nice.
The room itself was clean and seemed newly refurbished with very nice furnishings and flatscreen tv. Bathrobes were available for our across the landing jaunts!! However I do not think this warrants the price charged. Yes it is a lovely house and obviously their home, but paying guests are not visitors and if it s opened as a guest house then they need to feel that they receive value for money. Sorry and I am sure you will question this review, but I stand by what I have written in comparison to similar priced accommodation.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindaandsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Hello Guys from Standish
Having just read your review on this site regarding your stay with us in November 2012 I was saddened to read some of your comments and I must apologise if you felt let down - as you say we did offer you and alternate room before you commenced your stay with us and I can only say that the bathroom you mention was indeed due its regular coat of paint and by the way the pictures you have posted/published do contravene our booking policy which you may have failed to read fully- but as this was the room you had selected for yourself online we wanted to give you the option to choose this room or an alternate room which even had damp free en-suite surroundings - the choice was yours and we did not expect that you would go away and then post detrimental comments after first seeing the accommodation and choosing this room over another room unless you intention was to post a bad review ? however once again my apologies - the toilet does have an obvious opening window and I cannot understand why you did not see this - the bathroom to this room is literally one pace from the bedroom door so no need to make out that you needed lengthy jaunts to the bathroom and to clarify for others reading this you open your bedroom door and then open the bathroom door directly opposite.
we do not make any charges for extra beverages for use in your room and had you wanted extras then you need only to have asked - the same goes for breakfast items just open your mouth and ask.
At least your comments do also indicate that you were not totally disappointed with your stay and that some aspects of your stay you did actually like/enjoy but we are sorry that some other things in your opinion where not what you had expected -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    63
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
196
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Myself, my husband, my mom and dad have just got back from a 4 night break in Bowness on Windermere, staying at the New Hall Bank Hotel. The hotel is lovely, very clean and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was great. The owners Doug & Ivy were also lovely. We were made to feel very welcome by both of them right from the start up until we left. The hotel is central for everything and the views from the hotel, (from the rooms and from the dining room), are wonderful. Any time we get the chance to go back to the Lake District, we will be booking in with them. Thank you for a lovely stay. The Evans & Berry Family - Sutton Coldfield.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evanse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We've just returned from a lovely two day break in Bowness-on-Windermere staying at the fantastic New Hall Bank Hotel. We stayed in room 9 on the top floor with lovely views over Lake Windermere on and Bowness. The room was very clean and spacious and we were more than pleased.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRFEELGOOD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are so glad that everything was to your likeing - we look forward to seeing you return at some future time - kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this B & B in September of this year for 2 nights. We had a nice room with a lovely view over the lake. We thought the bathroom was neat but much too small. Aside from this we had all we needed, such as tea/coffee making, iron, hairdrier etc. The breakfast was lovely and eaten in a most perfect dining room, again overlooking the lake. Our hosts where very friendly and accomodating. The location was perfect to say the least. Quiet yet just around the corner from the main street, with a decent sized carpark. And!!, A lovely pub that dated back to 1612, literally a few paces away from where we where staying.
One thing is for sure, we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room No 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davemactravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments - we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back at some future date
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The New Hall Bank is in a great location! A full English breakfast awaits you every morning, prepared and served by your wonderful hosts Ivy and Doug. And, if you still have room for more, there are cereals, fresh fruit, rolls and muffins to fuel up on before you take on the Fells. The rooms are very nice and there is a lovely communal lounge where you can meet other guests. Take the opportunity to ask Doug and Ivy about the excursions you plan on doing, they have a wealth of information to share with you. Thank you Ivy and Doug, hope to visit you again soon. :o)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladydiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The New Hall Bank is in a great location, it's tucked away from the main road but is still just a short walk to all of the bars and restaurants (the Hole In't Wall pub is only a few steps away and is a cracking place too) and the lake is just a stones throw away. We booked a superior room for a few quid more and had a fantastic lake view. The room itself was very nice, very clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. Our hosts, Doug and Ivy, were fantastic. After setting us up with a good breakfast in the rnorning they then took the time to point us in the right direction in order to get the most out of our daily excursions. All in all a great stay and will definitely return. A brillant and truly traditional guest house the like you don't often come across so much nowadays.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great place to stay, central to everywhere. 2 mins to town but peaceful, quiet setting. Lovely views, great food. Doug & Ivy lovely hosts. Warm, clean rooms. Bowness-on-Windemere is the best place to stay, lovely village within walking distance for everything. Great if the weather is not the best. Very good restaurants, good idea to book table early in day. Safe, secure car park at guest house.

Room Tip: Room room Great view, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seabcid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Laurel Cottage B&B
Laurel Cottage B&B
#29 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#14 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#19 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langdale View Guest House
Langdale View Guest House
#4 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hall Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hall Bank

Property: New Hall Bank
Address: Fallbarrow Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Lake Windermere - 4 star accommodation -Rooms with Lake Views - Parking - En-suite rooms equiped with all you need to ensure a comfortable stay - 1 min shops/bars/attractions - Full English Breakfast - No Pets - Children over 8yrs only. internet in guest lounge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your New Hall Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hall Bank Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
New Hall Bank Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing