We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Impressed, Definitely Recommend ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eastbourne Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eastbourne Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Silsden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Impressed, Definitely Recommend ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Eastbourne Guesthouse in Bowness for 3 nights.
We stayed in room 8 and it was perfect, very clean, smart bathroom, massive bed and is cleaned daily. This would be perfect for any couple.
The breakfast was another plus, we tried nearly everything on the menu over the 3 days and it was all excellent.
10/10 for this visit, look no further!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    65
    31
    11
    13
See reviews for
14
193
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Very rude owner, we had booked through bookings.com, and where not told it was adult only hotel, we had booked 2 rooms for 2 adults and 2 children age 5 and 8 years old, on arrival the owner spoke loudly to us in front of other guests, not once offering us an apology for cancelling the booking. When i said we where not told it was a adult only establishment, he said yes you where it is on the website. Why bookings . com allowed us to book I dont know. we where left in school holiday time to go looking for a alternative hotel which we did find 2 rooms at The Bellsfield hotel, where we where treat with compassion. I would never book at Eastbourne guest house again, He needs people skills, we had suffered a tragedy in the family and had booked the guest house to take the children to the animal park to cheer them up.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
15 Thank Gail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The guest house itself is very clean and welcoming. What confused us was the way the heating and power to come of the lights was on a timer. We came in from a walk and the room was very cold so my partner asked the housekeeper how we could turn the radiator up but she said the heating will not come on until 7pm. It's fair enough to be a bit stingy if it's your own home but not really fair for paying guests. It was also very hard to find a good reading spot when we only had a window in the corner the the lights wouldn't turn on until it was already dark outside! On the second night the fuse blew. My boyfriend called the owner (he told us to call 'anytime') and we were made to feel like complete nuisances. I don't think the owner enjoys working with people too much as he was very awkward at breakfast time too.
The location is brilliant, only about a 10min walk to the waterfront and loads of nice restaurants around.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank abi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Room was very cosy and clean, and as we went when it was cold and windy it was lovely to get back to the warmth and friendliness of the Hotel.
The owners where very nice, and the breakfast was lovely, whether you wanted full English or continental, there was plenty for all, and the owner was always ready to offer more if you wanted it.
Pipes where a bit noisy, but that's what is expected with Victorian houses and it added an extra touch :)
All in All we had a lovely 3day stay, and we where made very welcome with the host's, Thankyou

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thesc0users
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I only had a couple of days away at this hotel and we found it to be very welcoming and accommodating. Situated in a great location, close to the local village, we had no issues at all. Would book here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimby_m85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Room and facilities 8/10. Hospitality and warmth of welcome 0/10. I was baffled at the lack of warmth on our entrance when we were greeted by a lady whose English was far from perfect and who also sported a large stain on her t shirt. As we were shown to our room a simple question about the parking situation led to her not answering the question properly with an attitude which can only be described as dismissive. Putting this aside I enjoyed our first night at the establishment, however, on the morning of our first breakfast I met the owner for the first and only time at which point I had already decided not to mention the sticky stains all over my placemat, at no point did he say hello or welcome or show any signs of friendliness. A simple breakfast request by myself was completely ignored. Also, having billed the breakfast as a full English to receive only one slice of toast I found completely inadequate as this establishment charges £50 per person per night. My girlfriend's simple request for the vegetarian option, which is on their menu, seemed to throw him into a panic which made us both feel uncomfortable and like he was going to burn his kitchen down so much so, in fact, that we decided not to take breakfast there on the second morning of our stay for which we had paid hard earned money. All in all, having both travelled extensively, we came to the conclusion we have never stayed anywhere more inhospitable or with a complete lack of soul. It is the equivalent of staying in a cheap hotel where you use a card and has no staff. Give it a wide berth.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
23 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Nice clean and friendly. A short stroll from the main town but remains nice and quiet. Rooms nice and big bathrooms sparkling breakfasts cooked on request to your personal preference. Very nice would come again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Elim House
Elim House
#35 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Number 80
Number 80
#22 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#19 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#5 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastbourne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastbourne Guest House

Property: Eastbourne Guest House
Address: Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastbourne Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional and comfortable "adult only" Guest House with character features. Superior rooms have power showers and superior pocket sprung with memory foam beds with a choice of 5' King or 6' Super King beds. We also have saver doubles and kings for those travelling on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Eastbourne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Eastbourne Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing