We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in clean modern guest house.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eastbourne Guest House
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at The Eastbourne last night. The room we had (number 3) was a very well presented clean spacious room with all facilities you require for a comfortable pleasant stay. The hotel its self is tucked away up a side street and offers private parking spaces. Its a 5-10 minute walk to Bowness town centre and Lake Windermere its self. Breakfast was good with a choice of cereal, youghurts, plus a full English breakfast (vegetarian option available- for those of you like me that are non meat eaters), fresh tea and coffee and prompt service by staff. Would highly recommend to stay at the Eastbourne fantastic value for money. Would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiemc1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 269 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

A very nice establishment. Handy to everything (about 5 minutes walk to the shops. 10 to the wharf.) Off street parking available and very security conscious. Good breakfast. Possibly lacks the little touches that distinguish the top-of-the-range B & B's but also lacks the price that goes with them as well. A well-priced, good quality, handily located and well maintained guesthouse in a nice, quiet setting.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Excellent friendly service, lovely clean rooms, breakfast was very good. On a quiet road off the main street, so really close to the lake, shops, restaurants... 5 min walk. Car parking space provided. Stayed for 3 nights, would definitely stay at The Eastbourne again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We did not realise when we booked that this was the weekend of the Great North swim in lake Windermere so we were lucky to get a booking anywhere!
This guest house had free parking and was well situated for shops, eating places (of which there were many) and the lake.Though the entrance area was not very impresive once we got up to our room we were very pleased with it.
We were able to have a vegetarian breakfast but they need to get better quality vegesausages and though the staff were polite they did not seem very relaxed and friendly.
We would stay here again if visiting Bowness.

Room Tip: Room 5 at the side - nice size room with modern ensuite and 5 foot bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirleyann50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at the Eastbourne Guest House for the entire duration of our trip to Lake District.
It is slightly inside from the main road, but once you reach the place you will really like the location and the decor of the rooms.

We had breakfast included in our room rate (I dont remember if it was an option I had chosen, or if it is a default option), and we were so glad we did. The hosts are very welcoming, and prepare the breakfast all by themselves, which is very good by the way and has a fair number of choices, even for Indian Vegetarians like us (okay, we eat eggs!).

While the property isnt on the Lake directly, but the Bowness piers are only a 5-7 min walk through the market area, and there are many restaurants close to the guest house too. The manager also helped us book our Lake Supertours, as well as our taxi back to station on the day of the departure.

We'd highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a fairly decent accommodation at a reasonable price, with great breakfast and great hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeetCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the Eastbourne Guest House in May this year. We were attracted to this hotel was it is located in a quiet street about 10 mins walk from the town centre and harbour area. It also provides complimentary off street car parking which is a bonus as local streets are quite narrow and have time restricted parking. We had a very enjoyable stay. The owners were very helpful and made suggestions on places to visit. The hotel also has a guest lounge with honour bar which we made good use of. We booked a room described as a Compact Double. While this would have been quite adequate under normal circumstances we had 2 large suitcases plus assorted hand luggage meant there was not a lot of floor space. I suppose we could have asked the owners if we they could store one our bags but didn't think of it at the time. If you are just on a weekend away with just an overnight bag you won't have this problem. Breakfast was wonderful, cooked, fruit, cereal and as much toast and jam as you can wish for, one of the best we had while we were away. We would certainly stay again were we to find ourselves in that neck of the woods.

Room Tip: Beware the Compact Double does not have a lot of storage for large bags
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HawkerAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Excellent guest house .in a quiet area .but close to everything.staff give a warm welcome .Go out there way to help you .rooms are superb.adults only breakfast excellent .owner was there to than you for your stay .this was our second time .and will be there again
..

Room Tip: Ask for room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul1ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,491 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
477 reviews
2.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastbourne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastbourne Guest House

Address: Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastbourne Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional and comfortable "adult only" Guest House with character features. Superior rooms have power showers and superior pocket sprung with memory foam beds with a choice of 5' King or 6' Super King beds. We also have saver doubles and kings for those travelling on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eastbourne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Eastbourne Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing