We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room but bad experience upon checking out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eastbourne Guest House
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely room but bad experience upon checking out”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed for one night on Thursday 18 April. We arrived at about 7.30 in the evening and went straight out for a meal in one of the pubs nearby. Good location for most of amenities. We were up first thing and had checked out by 9am as we were pushed for time and wanted to visit the lake (also very nearby). We stayed in one of the superior rooms which is well worth paying a little extra for. Very comfortable and spacious. Great shower.

Breakfast was a little rushed but very good.

Even though we had barely unpacked as we had plans, i received a text message from the owner the next day to ask me to contact him as we had not reported any damage to the TV stand in the bedroom upon checking out. I called him straight back to explain that the reason for this was because we were not aware of any damage! When i was asked to shed any light on it obviously i could not. As far as i am aware we were not asked to pay anything however it left a very sour taste after an otherwise lovely stay. I appreciate these things must be looked into however this must have been done before we arrived and perhaps should have been checked.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Kaye L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    66
    31
    12
    15
See reviews for
14
204
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

On every 14th of Feb my wife and i always try some were romantic as on the 14th is my birthday,our wedding anniversary and Valentin's day this time we chose lake district uk we stayed at Eastbourne b&B in Bowness on Windermere lovely room with a view the bed and pillows were very comfortable very clean sheets and towels small bathroom but very cosy breakfast could be better even the service could be better but on the whole we loved it its in a very good location as its not far from restaurants bars shops and the lake. Bowness Is a very nice little town but its a must to hire a car because you need one to get around we went to very nice towns like we went up to York Penrith Kendal Ambleside thanks to our little Toyota. The walks by lake very romantic. We had fish and chips at a very good and very clean English fish and chip shop called shell shop in Ambleside very nice mate keep it up and for a very traditional steak and kidney pie we went to st martins tea room in bowness very tasty and fresh well in one word thank you lake district we enjoyed it in any way PAUL & CLAIRE FROM MALTA

Room Tip: room no 7 large room with own bathroom and a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed Easter wkend in room 6. Comfortable bed, nice towels & clean room. Electric shower was poor. Breakfast was nice, but cooked part always seemed rushed, arriving just before or as you finished cereal. Good location, just 2 mins walk into Bowness, 20mins to Windermere.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank nremmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

On arrival spoke to someone via intercom. We were shown to the annex room by the cleaner who spoke little English. Room was fair, but breakfast was disappointing. Asked what we would like, but told the waitress we had not been given a menu. Two menus were literally thrown on the table. The breakfast itself was below par; neither my wife or I ate the sausages because they were raw! Plates were collected and we were not asked if everything was O.K. even though we had both left a lot of uneaten food. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank BRI866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Its a nice house, the room was clean and tidy and a very good newly fitted out bathroom. We only ever spoke to the owners over the phone and through the intercom which felt a bit impersonal but not really a complaint as they sounded friendly enough. There was a problem with the payment through booking.com and also with their card machine (it wasn't a lack of funds on my behalf!). Anyway we had to take cash which I didn't mind but I'm used to paying once I check out, not before I've even stayed or seen the room; I can only assume that they have suffered with 'runners' in the past! The breakfast was average (I didn't think much of the sausages) but the staff were very friendly and very helpful offering extra tea, coffee, toast etc which is nice because its surprising how many places don't! Good value for what we paid, didn't exceed any expectations but in a good location and the free parking space is also a plus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Dynamike1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Positives:
Eastbourne is walking distance from the Pier and close to all the good restaurants. They provide dedicated parking space for each room. The check-in and check out process is quite hassle-free (as pointed out in other reviews, we never happen to meet the owner!) - money gets deducted from the card you provide during booking and you hand over the keys and parking permit to the ladys managing the property.

Negatives:
The B&B staff do not understand English and not at all welcoming! We wanted to enquire about vegetarian brkfast options and they lady just walked off assumed what we wanted and got us something. They don't talk to you properly. Everday walking down to the breakfast table was a challenge!! The food though was quite decent.

Room Tip: Go for the Super King room (number 3)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank amipro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Not really impressed, room was clean but l dropped something on the floor my husband lifted the bed it certainly has not been cleaned for months someone's straightners still under bed. Was kept awake most of the night by something on roof rattling all night in the wind (2 nights)On arrival no one to greet you just an intercom owner was in car answering it, and hung up while my husband was still talking to him. We never saw the owner at all, just the staff who at one point when we returned to our room at 11.15 told us house keeping was cleaning 10 to 12 saying l don't know I don't know she wanted us to come back at 12. We went up to the room anyway. Room 6 wasn't a good room was more disappointed because it was my birthday on the Saturday. Breakfast ok nothing special asked for mushrooms and received a stern NO. Cannot fault the location, we love the lakes always come in March but will not be returning to this B & B.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
20 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#18 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
125 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#6 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Elim House
Elim House
#39 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blenheim Lodge
Blenheim Lodge
#24 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langdale View Guest House
Langdale View Guest House
#3 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastbourne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastbourne Guest House

Property: Eastbourne Guest House
Address: Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastbourne Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional and comfortable "adult only" Guest House with character features. Superior rooms have power showers and superior pocket sprung with memory foam beds with a choice of 5' King or 6' Super King beds. We also have saver doubles and kings for those travelling on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Eastbourne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Eastbourne Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing