We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinctly average and very impersonal!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eastbourne Guest House
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Eastbourne for three nights over New Year, having spent the last two previous New Year's in the Lakes. Our breaks in the previous two years (in Windermere and Ambleside) were excellent and the hosts had gone to real efforts to make sure their guests had a memorable stay over New Year and we have since recommended them to friends and family. It's the extra personal touches that make B&B's and guest houses more appealing over hotels. Unfortunately the same can't be said about the Eastbourne. On arrival we were told via the intercom that the owners were at their other B&B and we could let ourselves in and go straight to the room. On booking we were asked whether we had any special dietary requirements at which point we requested vegetarian and gluten free options. At breakfast we were told that we would have to bring our own gluten free options. Had we known that beforehand we would have done! Compared to other places we have stayed in the area we wouldn't say that it warrants four stars. The stay was adequate but nothing special, which was a shame.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mikat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 269 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

A lovely guest house with very nice rooms and super friendly hosts. We stayed in one of the King rooms for a couple of nights and it was great. The room was very clean and spacious; bathroom had shower gel, shampoo and conditioner (unfortunately there was no toothpaste, which I found a little strange). For us the price was most reasonable, especially since the breakfast was such a big portion, they didn't skimp out in that area.
It's also located in a good place, whether you are looking for a quiet place to stay, or if you want to visit the local attractions. Eastbourne sits just outside the town, so it's a short walk to the shops for food or other things and the Beatrix Potter Attraction is about 10 mins walk away.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bee_Lee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Eastbourne guest house is in a perfect location, as it is on a road off the main road going through the centre of Bowness, so you are right in the middle of the centre without any noise of traffic or people at night. It was easy to find, and the Eastbourne guest house provides you with your own parking permit. When you arrive you need to press the buzzer inside the porch, this was answered quickly and we were soon greeted by a polite efficient lady who talked us through the basics, the area, and the near by walks. She then showed us to our room which we were more than happy with. The room was modern, clean and had a tv and it's own bathroom. The mix between the great location and the comfy bed meant we had a fantastic night sleep! Breakfast was served between 8.30 and 9.30 , there was a buffet table with croissants, cereals and juice and a separate menu for the cooked breakfasts which were delicious! We would definatly recommend anyone to come here as it is clean, quiet, and relaxed. It is a well ran establishment by two very friendly owners and was the perfect mini break for us!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OleGunnarG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

booked a single room and was given king size bed. Was a little late for check-in, but the owner waited for me. Very friendly and helpful.
Room was on second floor and no lift. Everything else was perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We wanted a room that was a bit more luxurious than a normal double and the Eastbourne Guest house had a superior king room available and for a reasonable price. We arrived early so decided to make ourselves known anyway. The owner Martin was there and I must say, on my 1 and only encounter is one of the strangest persons I've ever met. Our room was right next to the front desk and was very concerned about the possible noise issue but apart from the odd door we never found it a problem. The room was very clean and had every conceivable extra in it you could ask for, including an ipod docking station which isn't much use unless you own an ipod as it did not have a usb input for other devices. The big television didnt have a lot of the freeview channnels but apart from these trivial things it was a great place to stay. Marina (one of the owners) and her lady helper were very polite and helpful and cooked a great breakfast and would like to thank them both. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoddyLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We visited the guesthouse for a short weekend break. When we arrived there was nobody at the b&b to greet us, he spoke to us on the intercom, however he explained that he was at the other b&b and would be back soon if needed to speak. We was given a parking permit and there was plenty of car park spaces. The rooms whee really big, and very homely. In the room was a massive bed, hair dryer, tea and coffee making, tv with DVD player and sky box, ensuit bathroom with a power shower, iron and ironing board. The b&b is in a good location, just off the hill not too far of a walk to the lake. Breakfast was very good. Would go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayleigh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Passing through Windermere before reaching Bowness-on-Windermere, we wondered if we had done the right thing? Windermere seemed quite vibrant and lot of interesting shops and restaurants - but Bowness had more! We loved our 2 night stay here at the Eastbourne Guest house; the weather was very rainy and misty for most of the stay but it didn't matter.
The guest house is a lovely old building and our room was large and well-furnished. Breakfast was excellent with the owners taking great care to provide the food we desired. Close to restaurants, shops and the lake itself.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindazyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melbourne Guest House
Melbourne Guest House
#17 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oakbank House
Oakbank House
#26 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Number 80
Number 80
#32 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elim House
Elim House
#36 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blenheim Lodge
Blenheim Lodge
#25 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastbourne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastbourne Guest House

Address: Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastbourne Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional and comfortable "adult only" Guest House with character features. Superior rooms have power showers and superior pocket sprung with memory foam beds with a choice of 5' King or 6' Super King beds. We also have saver doubles and kings for those travelling on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Eastbourne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Eastbourne Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing