We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay House Lake View
Certificate of Excellence
Hawkshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great room and excellent service”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I visited Bowness with a friend for a long weekend and the Bay House was recommended as lovely and reasonably priced place to stay. On arrival, Maxine and Graham were so welcoming and nice!!! We got all help we needed and our room was very beautiful and newly refurbished. Oh, and the full English was so good! If you are looking for a place where you can relax and enjoy choose here. I highly recommend this place :D You will feel at home there! Many thanks to Maxine and Graham again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FS1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    35
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
243
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
2 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

The couple who run this b&b make you feel very welcome. Their main aim is to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The rooms are always warm and cosy. Graham's breakfast's are the best in Windermere.Its in a great position for shopping,bars and food. Its 2 minutes fron the lake. We had a packed lunch and was impressed with what we got in our box. Thank you for making our break special.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Such a lovely little b&b with such a warm welcome :)
My partner and I arrived at Windermere without booking accommodation and found this lovely little place!
We were offered a room straight away and nothing was too much trouble. Great room looking out onto the lake!
Breakfast was great too!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TashaAdams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Pros:
Fantastic service
Delicious breakfast and cake
Clean, cosy room
Good central location

Cons:
None

Myself and my partner stayed at The Bay House for 3 nights in January and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The owners are really warm and welcoming and can't do enough for you. The breakfast was tasty and filling, especially the locally sourced sausage and home made jam and marmalade. The room was clean and cosy with a lake view and delicious home made cake delivered to the room daily (We tried ginger, chocolate and toffee, all lush). The location is great as well, central to Bowness village and on a quiet side street. The chocolates in the room for my partner's birthday was a really thoughtful touch. We hope to visit again and would highly recommend this guest house to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToonAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this lovely clean hotel for 2 nights for a quiet getaway celebrating my hubby's birthday! Couldn't have been made to felt more welcome, Maxine and Graham are lovely, and clearly working hard to make this place a warm and friendly business.

Tucked away on a side street, but very central, Hole in T'Wall is just round the back of the place, and is a must visit pub.

As others have stated breakfast is amazing, homemade jam is a must! Graham you must start selling it! (Sorry I know that's more time in the kitchen) and homemade cake to die for!

Getting a birthday message and chocolates was a very unexpected treat too.

Would definitely return again.

Merry Xmas Maxine and Graham, hope you have a good one!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank debkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My second visit to Bay House Lake View guesthouse was in early December, a surprise birthday treat. Really warm welcome from Maxine and Graham who were eager to show us the fruits of their refurbishments plans and the dining room looked lovely, especially the flooring. Amazing breakfast included the best sausage ever! Can't wait to visit again in the new year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naissuag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on 2nd & 3rd Dec and enjoyed our time at the Bay House. Maxine and Graham are 1st class hosts. The B&B is situated central in Bowness, and in a very quiet road so you do not get woken up with traffic noise. It is very clean, and the rooms are very comfortable, the breakfast is second to none and will keep you going on your travels for quite a while. There is plenty of good eating establishments and bars in the area to suit all ages. We shall certainly be going back to Bay House in the future. A most enjoyable break. Anne &Rob.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,879 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,400 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.0 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,004 reviews
0.1 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay House Lake View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay House Lake View

Property: Bay House Lake View
Address: Fallbarrow Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay House Lake View 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you from Maxine and Graham at The Bay House, nestled on the shores of Lake Windermere in the picturesque village of Bowness in the heart of the Lake District, within 2mins walk of all the restaurants, shops, bars and the Lake. All rooms en suite color TV tea and coffee facilities in all rooms. A perfect location for a few days away.Due to our location we do not have on-site parking however the Rayrigg Road NCP Car Park is only 60 mts away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bay House Lake View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay House Lake View Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Bay House Lake View Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing