We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay House Lake View
Certificate of Excellence
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My second visit to Bay House Lake View guesthouse was in early December, a surprise birthday treat. Really warm welcome from Maxine and Graham who were eager to show us the fruits of their refurbishments plans and the dining room looked lovely, especially the flooring. Amazing breakfast included the best sausage ever! Can't wait to visit again in the new year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    35
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
234
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on 2nd & 3rd Dec and enjoyed our time at the Bay House. Maxine and Graham are 1st class hosts. The B&B is situated central in Bowness, and in a very quiet road so you do not get woken up with traffic noise. It is very clean, and the rooms are very comfortable, the breakfast is second to none and will keep you going on your travels for quite a while. There is plenty of good eating establishments and bars in the area to suit all ages. We shall certainly be going back to Bay House in the future. A most enjoyable break. Anne &Rob.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

What an amazing weekend we have just had. Traveled to the bay house lake veiw on 29.11.2013 for a 2 night stay, on arrival to the beautiful B and B which is located a stones throw away from lake Windermere we were greeted with a smile and Maxine was so helpful and took our bags in for us. She then showed us to our room which was perfect, recently re decorated and with a lovely homely feel to the place, everything that you would have needed was there. The breakfast hate revived in he morning was delicious and I would pay good money for it, the homemade jam is beautiful and I would tell everyone to try it. This B and B is not to be missed and has everything around you in walking distance, we will be returning in the very near future!! Thank you maxine and graham.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Thank you Maxine & Graham for your hospitality and friendly accommodation. Our 3 days in Bowness-on-Windermere in September was made all the more enjoyable by your lovely B & B with comfortable room and amenities. Close to everything the location was fabulous. Breakfast was yummy and we couldn't mention breakfast without saying how delicious the home made jam was! The area of course is spectacular and Maxine's weather predictions were spot on - perfect one day and look out for the rain and wind the next! Good walking shoes, sunglasses and rain jackets are recommended! Would love to go back one day to see how Maxine & Graham's plans for renovation go - I'm sure they will do well. Robyn & Danny

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RObyn282013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

echoing the earlier reviews, this great little B&B is ideally situated centrally for walking around bowness. tucked away means you don't get perhaps the late night cars or pedestrian noise.
we stayed for 2 nights in room 5 [small double at the top of the house with lake view].
breakfast was a delight and relaxed [that said we did get the window seat so had the view!!].
overall a great place to stay, even before the planned modernisation work.
yes it does need a slightly fresher look and maxine and graham have inherited some housekeeping issues but am sure they will rectify these, once they embark on their refurbishment.
the car parking/pass was a bonus and only involved short walk so no real inconvenience not being 'on-site.'
best of luck to maxine and graham - and hopefully we will get to come back soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here for two nights 16-18th October and it was the perfect place to enjoy our Lake District getaway. The B&B itself is small but cosy- currently undergoing restoration but that didn't affect our stay at all. The room was small but clean which is all we could have asked for. The owners, Maxine and Graham were very welcoming, polite and friendly and were the perfect hosts. My only suggestion would be to extend breakfast hours. 8.15am-9am isn't a huge window and given we were on holiday, we didn't necessarily want to wake up that early!! Maybe until 9.30am would have been a little better but it wasn't a huge issue. We wish them well for the rest of the refurb and look forward to returning when they re-open in March next year! Lisa and Will.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
55 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Lovely little guest house, virtually in the centre of Bowness on Windermere, but tucked away from the hustle and bustle. Really cosy little house....we had a room up in the attic with a lovely view of the lake. Very welcoming atmosphere, and situated in just the right place to leave your car parked up while you just walk into town and explore the shops, bars restaurants, and of course, the lake itself.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WingedSpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,837 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,362 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay House Lake View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay House Lake View

Property: Bay House Lake View
Address: Fallbarrow Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay House Lake View 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you from Maxine and Graham at The Bay House, nestled on the shores of Lake Windermere in the picturesque village of Bowness in the heart of the Lake District, within 2mins walk of all the restaurants, shops, bars and the Lake. All rooms en suite color TV tea and coffee facilities in all rooms. A perfect location for a few days away.Due to our location we do not have on-site parking however the Rayrigg Road NCP Car Park is only 60 mts away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bay House Lake View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay House Lake View Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Bay House Lake View Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing