We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay House Lake View
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Many thanks to Maxine & Graham for a lovely weekend at the Bay House. We were given a very warm welcome and soon felt at home(the home-made cake was yummy and a lovely touch). The rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The location was perfect for exploring Bowness after a superb breakfast! We have been visiting the Lakes for over forty years and are so glad we have found this "hidden gem". We will certainly stay here again. Nothing was too much trouble for Maxine & Graham and we wish them all the very best with their future plans, which can only enhance this lovely guest house.

Room Tip: Room 6 and the one below have a lovely view over the Lake
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
There are newer reviews for Bay House Lake View
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 340 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

The whole experience for our two night stay was great. The room was very clean and the bed was comfy. The homemade cake on the tea tray was a lovely touch. There was lots of choice for breakfast based on the size of the place and the owners were lovely and very willing to help where they could. Thanks for lovely stay, will definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauramckinnon1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed one night hotel is in a great location in the heart of bowness with all amenties no more than 5 mins walk.the hosts were extremely helpful and nice and having not long took over will be renovating the premises great hotel good food and very nice hosts we will be back

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

we have stayed in many guest houses and pubs in Bowness but this has to be a favourite . Maxine and Graham have made a wonderful, cosy, welcoming place to stay, the room was very clean with a lovely view of the lake and the breakfast was fantastic. As they have only been running this b and b for a short while , im sure it will only get better and better. i wouldnt hesitate to recommend Bay House to anyone wanting a relaxed, friendly place to stay. thanks Maxine and Graham .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nettyb b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Wonderful week at this superb b & b. Our hosts, Graham and Maxine, couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful.
Graham's breakfasts are first rate, and the complimentary home made cake left in each bedroom made returning at the end of the day a very pleasurable event.
Maxine runs a tight ship with every room being personally cleaned daily to a very high standard. Comfortable beds, good food and excellent hosts - who could want for more?
This super couple shared their 3 year renovation plans with us,and it's only going to get better and better.
The location is first rate, with all the amenities and attractions a two minute walk, and for the more further afield, they supply a complimentary car park pass which enabled us to get free parking in several neighboring towns as well as in Bowness.

We will be returning again soon and will have no hesitation in recommending this B & B to our frineds... .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pennytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Have booked 1 night in August, but after seeing the B&B and the area, have decided to stay for 2 nights. Our room was supposed to have a lake view, but there was a leefy tree outside, so couldn't see the lake from our room. Not a problem at all though, as Lake Windermere is just a couple of minutes away, as well as bars and restaurants. Our room was very clean and had everything that we needed, including Maxine's lovely homemade cake (the chocolate one is yummy!). All in all, we had a lovely stay, with a great breakfast (my husband really enjoyed the omelette). If again in the area, I would definitely stay at Bay House Lake View. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i_fun_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

On arriving at the lake, we were unsure of where the guesthouse was. After my partner phoned the number we had, Maxine was extremely helpful and came and met us at the main car park, for which we were given a free pass for and able to use this pass at a variety of car parks around the Lake District. Maxine walked back to the guesthouse with us and even carried some of our luggage; extremely helpful! We were shown to our room, given a basic lowdown of house rules and left to settle in, but knowing we could speak to Maxine and Graham if we needed anything else. The location was fantastic, extremely close to bars, shops and restaurants, with a beautiful view of the lake from our room, but not too much in the middle that we were woken by the nightlife. Our room was very clean, and cleaned on a daily basis; daily homemade cake was a lovely homely touch (favourite being the chocolate of course :)) There was a very good variety on the breakfast menu, but Maxine and Graham were very flexible and would cook whatever you required, changing dishes on the menu to suit.

Overall, an excellent stay, with Maxine and Graham being exceptional hosts. Very helpful especially on a first visit to the area. I would certainly recommend this guesthouse to anybody visiting the area and will certainly be returning in the very near future for another weekend. All the best to Maxine and Graham with their future refurbishment plans.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,896 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,417 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
574 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,015 reviews
0.1 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay House Lake View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay House Lake View

Address: Fallbarrow Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $101 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay House Lake View 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you from Maxine and Graham at The Bay House, nestled on the shores of Lake Windermere in the picturesque village of Bowness in the heart of the Lake District, within 2mins walk of all the restaurants, shops, bars and the Lake. All rooms en suite color TV tea and coffee facilities in all rooms. A perfect location for a few days away.Due to our location we do not have on-site parking however the Rayrigg Road NCP Car Park is only 60 mts away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bay House Lake View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay House Lake View Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Bay House Lake View Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing