We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Carling did B & B......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay House Lake View
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Wonderful week at this superb b & b. Our hosts, Graham and Maxine, couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful.
Graham's breakfasts are first rate, and the complimentary home made cake left in each bedroom made returning at the end of the day a very pleasurable event.
Maxine runs a tight ship with every room being personally cleaned daily to a very high standard. Comfortable beds, good food and excellent hosts - who could want for more?
This super couple shared their 3 year renovation plans with us,and it's only going to get better and better.
The location is first rate, with all the amenities and attractions a two minute walk, and for the more further afield, they supply a complimentary car park pass which enabled us to get free parking in several neighboring towns as well as in Bowness.

We will be returning again soon and will have no hesitation in recommending this B & B to our frineds... .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pennytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 342 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

Have booked 1 night in August, but after seeing the B&B and the area, have decided to stay for 2 nights. Our room was supposed to have a lake view, but there was a leefy tree outside, so couldn't see the lake from our room. Not a problem at all though, as Lake Windermere is just a couple of minutes away, as well as bars and restaurants. Our room was very clean and had everything that we needed, including Maxine's lovely homemade cake (the chocolate one is yummy!). All in all, we had a lovely stay, with a great breakfast (my husband really enjoyed the omelette). If again in the area, I would definitely stay at Bay House Lake View. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i_fun_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

On arriving at the lake, we were unsure of where the guesthouse was. After my partner phoned the number we had, Maxine was extremely helpful and came and met us at the main car park, for which we were given a free pass for and able to use this pass at a variety of car parks around the Lake District. Maxine walked back to the guesthouse with us and even carried some of our luggage; extremely helpful! We were shown to our room, given a basic lowdown of house rules and left to settle in, but knowing we could speak to Maxine and Graham if we needed anything else. The location was fantastic, extremely close to bars, shops and restaurants, with a beautiful view of the lake from our room, but not too much in the middle that we were woken by the nightlife. Our room was very clean, and cleaned on a daily basis; daily homemade cake was a lovely homely touch (favourite being the chocolate of course :)) There was a very good variety on the breakfast menu, but Maxine and Graham were very flexible and would cook whatever you required, changing dishes on the menu to suit.

Overall, an excellent stay, with Maxine and Graham being exceptional hosts. Very helpful especially on a first visit to the area. I would certainly recommend this guesthouse to anybody visiting the area and will certainly be returning in the very near future for another weekend. All the best to Maxine and Graham with their future refurbishment plans.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Excellent quiet location yet a stone throw away from eating places, bars, shops and lake. The owners are very sociable down to earth people who chatted to all guests at every opportunity. The burden of parking our car was soon cleared once given a pass that allowed us to park at several car parks. Breakfast was prepared to perfection while waiting. After a good day out we always found a home made cake in our room.( My favourite was ginger, Kev's was chocolate ) Kev and I wish the owners, an honest couple who were happy to share with us their future improvement plans of the Bay House every success at the Bay House and may their dreams come true. Looking forward to coming back to Bay House next summer.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SVMKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We arrived at the Bay House and was given a parking pass for the car park up the street. It's also a public parking lot so we did struggle to get a parking space. We were shown to our room and it had a full view of the lake and the boats across the road, which was lovely. There was also a little book filled with helpful information about the area, shops, restaurants and cash points.

The B&B was very close to the center and promenade but far away enough to not hear all the bustle of the town and tourists. Ideal location for us being a young couple.

There was loads of options for breakfast and a lot of vegetarian options too. It came out quick and was really tasty.

Every morning, when the room was cleaned, we had a different home made cake by the kettle. Which was a lovely and much appreciated touch. We had ginger cake, chocolate cake and on our last night, toffee cake. Every single one was gorgeous!

The staff were also incredibly friendly and welcoming. I would recommend the Bay House to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a full view of the Lake and I think Room 6 does too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrelentless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our small but quaint room had a beautiful lake view. Car park pass included improved value and was very convenient. Position is excellent - quiet area only minutes from all pubs and shops. Hole in the Wall pub just round the corner is a must. Lovely couple now running this small B and B - friendly and helpful - lovely breakfast with very good range of choices available. Home made cake in the room every day is a welcome touch - we can recommend the chocolate cake!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherylandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Superb customer service during our one night stay. Maxine helped us to carry luggage and park before showing us to our room. She explained that she and Graham were new owners and were in the process of major refurbishments. The building is in need of updating but all rooms are spotlessly clean. The building has character and unique shaped rooms, a nice change from bland rectangles in modern hotels. Breakfast had lots of choice and Maxine gave her complete attention to us whilst taking our order, I felt like a valued customer. The location is great, 2 mins walk to bars and restaurants in Bowness. I will return here, for the location, the welcome and to follow the progress of the refurbishment plan.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naissuag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,915 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,446 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
582 reviews
1.8 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay House Lake View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay House Lake View

Address: Fallbarrow Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $104 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay House Lake View 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you from Maxine and Graham at The Bay House, nestled on the shores of Lake Windermere in the picturesque village of Bowness in the heart of the Lake District, within 2mins walk of all the restaurants, shops, bars and the Lake. All rooms en suite color TV tea and coffee facilities in all rooms. A perfect location for a few days away.Due to our location we do not have on-site parking however the Rayrigg Road NCP Car Park is only 60 mts away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bay House Lake View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay House Lake View Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Bay House Lake View Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing