We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The little things make all the difference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay House Lake View
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful two night stay with Graham & Maxine as we toured the Lake District in June. We were warmly welcomed when we arrived, assisted with our bags and made to feel at home instantaneously. The personalised breakfast service including the most exquiste omelettes, homemade marmalade & jam and the cakes in our room each day were the small things that made all the difference.
Conveniently located to all major tourist sites in Bowness and around Lake Windermere, we found it incredibly easy to move around & enjoy the sights the area has to offer. The rooms were well appointed & although small, were comfortable, clean and homely.
We would definitely return to visit Bay House Lake View

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lenny_Penny20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 343 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I spent the week here and we had a lovely time. Maxine and Graham were very friendly and keen to help in any way possible. Yes there were one or two things that could be improved but considering they'd just taken over the place, who can blame them for opening up and making hay while the sun shines. Having said that the place was kept very clean, and tidy. The breakfast was lovely.
local produce obviously used and cooked to perfection. So what if you cant see the lake in full view it was litteraly 2 minutes walk. We're not hotel inspectors, we didn't go there to look into every nook and cranny looking for faults we went to have a relaxing short and pleasurable holiday and thanks to Maxine and Graham thats exactly what we got. We'll be back next year. cant wait.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heggars49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Had an exelant time will definitly will be back again GMainie and Graham were exelent hosts. Nothing was too much bother for them the room wes fantastic with a great view of the lake. and very central.

Room Tip: choose any of the rooms that look over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 628douglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had a lovely stay in this wonderful part of the Lake District. Maxine and Graham, the new owners, were incredibly warm and welcoming, making us feel right at home. Thank you very much, Maxine and Graham, for a lovely stay! The breakfast was wonderful (and so was the home-made cake in the room!). Although the decor is a bit dated (which I have no doubt the refurbishment they are doing will sort that out!) the room was spotlessly clean and Maxine and Graham's warmth, dedications and enthusiasm more than made up for it. The location is just excellent: in a very quite road, but just a minute away from all amenities. The free parking just up the road was a plus, too. And the amazing views from the bedroom!!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lalpetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have read the other reviews and if you look at things objectively 5 star ratings means there is no scope left for improvement, in my opinion so nowhere else to go.
Just back from a short break having read the reviews and the professional pictures the place look immaculate so sold it for me.
The main thing going for is it's location, right in the centre of Bowness and parking provided. A very short walk and you have everything at your fingertips, shops, bars, restaurants and the lake with boat trips.
The room itself needs a major overhaul, damp on the wall, bathroom had broken tiles, grout coming away and the sink/taps have seen better days. Carpets need replacing, bed has seen better days, well used shall we say. Not what I was expecting for the room rate to be honest, however appreciate it is probably due to its location.
We were expecting an amazing view from our lakes and another reason for booking, where as we had a series of roof tops, quite disappointing.
The owners are very friendly as all other reviews suggest and helped with luggage and recommendation for eating places.
I am not sure if I would return perhaps not here until an overhaul was completed.

Room Tip: Maybe the other room shave been refreshed, ask for lake view guarantees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evievi123139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Maxine and Graham made it a real homely stay. They are new owners and embarking on a new venture....they will be highly successful I am sure. The choice at breakfast was excellent and really tasty. The rooms were clean and the new beds so very comfortable.....a good choice Maxine !! The little extra touches (home made cake in the bedroom) as well as the tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms made you feel you were at home.... the location was perfect , central to everything you can need....and the view of the Lake from our bedroom was brilliant........we will be back !!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolLyndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We could not fault our two night stay, we were met by Graham at the front door who handed us a parking permit for the car park a short walk away. When we returned we were shown to our room with our bags already there. The whole stay was a delight, breakfasts fab, home bakes in the bedroom each day, rooms lovely clean and fresh and a super short distance to bowness centre. We can't wait to return to stay again when the new owners Maxine and Graham will have started to carry out there upgrade plans, fully recommend. Duncan and Joanne.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duncanm611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,941 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,035 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
551 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lingwood Lodge
Lingwood Lodge
#1 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay House Lake View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay House Lake View

Address: Fallbarrow Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $94 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay House Lake View 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you from Maxine and Graham at The Bay House, nestled on the shores of Lake Windermere in the picturesque village of Bowness in the heart of the Lake District, within 2mins walk of all the restaurants, shops, bars and the Lake. All rooms en suite color TV tea and coffee facilities in all rooms. A perfect location for a few days away.Due to our location we do not have on-site parking however the Rayrigg Road NCP Car Park is only 60 mts away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bay House Lake View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay House Lake View Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Bay House Lake View Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing