We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable 3 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay House Lake View
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2013

'Bay House Lake View' is a great place to stay. Right in the centre of Bowness, but tucked just around the corner away from all the tourist hustle and bustle. A lovely little place, but what really sets it apart are the new owners. They pull out all the stops to make your stay as pleasant as possible, from the fresh homemade cake placed in your room each day, to idle chat over breakfast about the days events. They have big plans to return the building to its former glory in the very near future, but for now it's very clean and homely. And one last thing, the new omelette pan works absolute wonders at breakfast time! N&S Room3

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 343 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at the Bay House View on 1st of June for two, on a last minute break, very lucky to find a room (what a room, overlooking the lake, not at silly prices) 1st time we have stayed here and we will be back, yes a work in progress ( new owners) but they have started as they mean to go on. Very friendly, clean, comfortable and a great filling cooked breakfast. Free parking close, central location and quite (even on Sat night) We will definitely be going back, not just to see what work has been done, but to see the lovely owners again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike2228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at bay house lake view on 14th June for 2 nights as I was taking part in great north swim. Owners where lovely and friendly, and very accommodating. Rooms where lovely and clean, and we where left homemade cake each day in our room which where delicious, and not something you would get from many places! Breakfast was lovely, and plenty of choice. Great location, free parking just around corner. We will definitely be staying again on our future trips to Bowness!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed at the Bay House Lake View for 1 night with my husband,son and daughter. Although it is still a work in progress (being overhauled and updated by new owners) our rooms were lovely and clean and the beds and pillows comfortable. The delicious cooked breakfast was an added bonus. Our hosts were very welcoming and accommodating considering we didn't arrive until later in the day with our last minute booking. It was great to have parking included - very hard to find in Bowness - and we were perfectly located to stroll around this beautiful little town (or is it "village"). We would definitely return to Bay House and look forward to seeing the finished results.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed for 1 night Sun 9th June. Start to finish it was a lovely break.The new owners were so welcoming and once they put their stamp on it they will have a little gem.Bed/sheets/towels etc were spotless.Free cake n Bikkies didnt last long.Free parking very close by(bonus).Lake views.Nice quiet nights sleep.Georgeous breakfast.Will be back.10/10 for location.

Room Tip: Go for a Lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raddaz0455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a great stay at Bay House, we was greeted with a very warm and friendly welcome and was shown straight to our room, the room was basic but had everything we needed even slices of homemade cake which was a great touch! And it was lovely! Rooms were very clean and had a great view, the owners told us that they had only been open 3 weeks so have lots of decorating to do to make the B&B their own, I hope to return to see the results. Breakfast was excellent with all locally sourced products, you could really taste the quality and homemade jam and marmalade. All in all we had a great stay here and would definitely return. The hosts have done a brilliant job in turning a run down B&B around in just 3 weeks, you can see that it has been quite run down but once it is fully completed I think you will have to book quite far in advance for a room!! Lovely place, lovely people, great value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophieBeswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Such a pleasure to stay in this B&B, New owners are professional and very helpful,
Close to all local shops, pubs and local attractions. It is clean, tidy and very well presented.
Food is to a very high standard and the home made cakes are delicious, i will be returning in August and cannot wait!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,942 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,038 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
551 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lingwood Lodge
Lingwood Lodge
#1 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay House Lake View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay House Lake View

Address: Fallbarrow Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $94 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay House Lake View 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you from Maxine and Graham at The Bay House, nestled on the shores of Lake Windermere in the picturesque village of Bowness in the heart of the Lake District, within 2mins walk of all the restaurants, shops, bars and the Lake. All rooms en suite color TV tea and coffee facilities in all rooms. A perfect location for a few days away.Due to our location we do not have on-site parking however the Rayrigg Road NCP Car Park is only 60 mts away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bay House Lake View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay House Lake View Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Bay House Lake View Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing