We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay - home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop
Cambs
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay - home from home”
Reviewed September 13, 2009

We stayed at the Lake View for 5 nights in September. From calling to book the room to being waved off as we left, Dave and Manny were efficient, helpful and very hospitable. I can only add to the other positive comments on this site and say that yes this B&B did live up to our expectations. Our room was large, clean, the breakfasts were delicious and cooked exacly as requested but most of all Manny and Dave made us so welcome which meant with the lovely weather we were also lucky to have, it was a very relaxing and enjoyable break. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    20
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
48
61
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Superb - Dave and Manny really helpful with local knowledge. Nothing too much trouble for them. Superb breakfasts. Shame they couldn't sort the bank holiday traffic for us! Really nice weekend in a superb location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Firstly, if you are visiting Lake Windemere be sure to stay at Bowness. It is right next to the lake whereas Windemere is some distance away. If you are going to stay at Bowness look no further than the Lakeview. Whilst there is a toch of Monty Python about the name,(difficult to actually SEE the lake from your room) it is but a minutes walk away. We spent 2 weeks in B and Bs in this price range all over the the UK. We did not have a negative experience in any of them but none was better than the Lakeview. Terrific rooms, wonderful hosts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkandChrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Spacious rooms, comfy beds and extras like - sofa, coffee table, fridge, hairdryer, digital TV, fresh milk and chocolate biscuits daily. Vast breakfast choice. Impeccably prepared and served with a smile.

You'll want to go back again and again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maz0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Once again a fantastic stay at Lake View, Stayed in room number 1 which was large with a double 2 singles and a bedsettee! There is a fridge which is handy as well as hairdryer, TV with freeview and bright clean bathroom. The hosts are really lovely and allowed us to gatecrash their evening on both nights we were there sitting and chatting. The breakfasts are massive with plenty of good local produce well cooked. The location is also great close to the lake and near lots of bars and eating places. Would recommend this place without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonyrosenalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

After spending a very pleasant weekend with my family at the Lake View, I would highly recommend staying there to others. The owners were courteous, helpful and polite. The rooms were the best we have used in a B&B and the breakfast kept us going all day!! Nothing was too much trouble and the parking facility added to the experience as the guest house is in a prime, centre town location. Malcolm S. Newcastle upon Tyne

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ruslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2009

We stayed at Lakeview for three nights in early July 2009 and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when we return to the Lake District again. Our hosts Manny and Dave were very attentive and welcoming which made the atmosphere very homely and nothing was too much trouble. We were very pleasantly surprised when we were shown our room as it was very spacious having it's own sitting room seperate from the bedroom. Everything was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. The location couldn't be better either with plenty of restaurants and other facilities within easy walking distance, including the lake. We have stayed in many guest houses during short breaks but Lakeview is by far the best we've had for both comfort, hospitality and attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike and Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Laurel Cottage B&B
Laurel Cottage B&B
#28 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
719 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Hall Bank
New Hall Bank
#20 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Field House Guest House
Field House Guest House
#33 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Court House
The Old Court House
#30 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#13 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop

Property: Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop
Address: 2 Belsfield Terrace, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Lake View Guest House And Coffee Shop
Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing