We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really surprised it wasn't busier!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 80 days - CLOSED

80 days
Price range: $5 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really surprised it wasn't busier!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We went to Bowness-on-Windermere with family (six of us in total) for two nights and ate at 80 days on our second night.

We hadn't booked anywhere and we were really surprised just how busy everywhere in Bowness was (even the average pubs!). We tried 80 days as a last resort as we expected it to have been booked up long before. However, they weren't too full and accommodated us brilliantly - dragging three tables together so that we could all sit together.

The atmosphere and decor is pleasant - clearly done on a bit of a budget but it all looks good.

The menu offers really good combinations. There's Italian (pizzas and pastas) as well as the 'around the world' dishes with specialties from each country. A great mix as it means everyone (even the fussy ones!) are catered for.

The staff were friendly and welcoming, and ensured we were happy at every stage.

All in all, a great little restaurant which we'd visit again if we got back to Bowness.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anfcepc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
80DaysBowness, Manager at 80 days, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your evening. We have only been going since Februaury so are still acquiring a client base amongst both locals and visitors to the area. The time you have taken to leave your feedback really helps so we thank you for that.

We were significanlty busier in the following weeks after you visited.... so maybe it was a good thing you visited when you did, you had our undivided attention.

We really do hope to see you again on your return.

Many Thanks

:-)

The 80 Days Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    44
    14
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quite nice. Spoiled by music choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

The food is rather interesting. The decor similarly well thought out. The service was pretty good too. But the restaurant loses stars because it seemed to take its music playlist from Absolute Radio and I get more than enough of that at the office.

This restaurant uses the interesting Jules Verne theme to serve a varied menu of world dishes. Surely the musical accompaniment to your meal should complement the food. So perhaps some World Music choices? Pink Martini? Deep Forest? Take a leaf out of Giraffe's book.

So nice food but, please, no Daft Punk. Oh, and a slightly nicer house red might be good too.

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
80DaysBowness, Manager at 80 days, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We love it when our guests love our theme, and completly get what we are about.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

You will be pleased to know we now have an 'around the world' themed playlist. This is on alternate evenings however as we find to please both staff and customer we need to offer a variety. Our other playlist is certainly not from the radio and is actually made up of acoustic covers. I put the tracks on myself and know, daft punk do not feature. :-) the only explanation for this I can think of is occasionally for brunch and lunch we do play the local radio, they do usually play old classics, so apologise if this was not the case on your visit.
(we dont play it jsut in case anymore)

We hope to see you again.

Many Thanks

:-)
The 80 Days Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Incredible food in a lovely relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

I was in Bowness for a week-long trip with family, and the food and service were so good the first time we ate here that we came back again two nights later. The specials on offer were delicious (chicken satay, red snapper, tagine cooked for 6 hours) and the a la carte menu was also great. Would recommend the spring onion and chilli burger - one of the best burgers I've ever had. The whole dining experience was lovely, and upon hearing that it was my dad's birthday the first night the waitress brought over a huge slice of cake complete with candle. This restaurant is definitely a hidden treasure! Everyone who goes to the lakes should have a meal here. Very reasonably priced with friendly service and open late. My only criticism is that the wine list could perhaps be extended a little.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
80DaysBowness, Manager at 80 days, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
It was a pleasure having you and your family dine with us.

THANK YOU so much for your kind words, we really appriciate you taking the time to leave your feedback as it really helps with us being so new.

If you are ever up north again.... please come and say hi. We now have a great Tuna Teryaki on our specials to try.

:-)

The 80 Days Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Summer holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

During our stay in Bowness for a 2week summer break this was one of the restaurants we chose to visit. It's a bit strange with this one because each time we walked past in the evening it never seemed to be very busy. We looked at the menu which is based on meals from around the World and it looked very interesting. In the end we decided to give it a go and I'm very pleased we did. The staff were extremely friendly and knowledgable about both the food and the wine choices available. From our discussions with the staff this is a relatively new business and it needs customers to try the experience. We thoroughly enjoyed the excellent food, brilliant service and are happy to highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
80DaysBowness, Manager at 80 days, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Well.... We are SO glad you did try us too.

Thank you for your feedback. We have only been established since February so your kind words and experience make it all worthwhile. :-)

We have got busier, however do still have to prove ourselves, with such a lot of competition close by. We know with time we will be as busy as everywhere else.

We hope to see you again if you have another holiday here.

Many Thanks,

:-)

The 80 Days Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice romantic meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Went with my Fiancee for a romantic meal. Range of different dishes from various countries was a nice and refreshing choice. Having the kitchen open for everyone to see was a nice idea too. My only (slight) disappointment was the length of time we waited for our main course and dessert. The restaurant was half full when we arrived but waited roughly 30 mins for our main course and waited roughly 10-15 minutes for our dessert which was already on show in a display fridge so there wasn't much prep required. However the food was top quality.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank glower1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
80DaysBowness, Manager at 80 days, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We are glad you enjoyed your evening.

I can only apologise regarding your wait. Having opened in February we found it very hard to predict how busy we were going to be. It seams that no pattern exsists, making it hard to staff correctly. Having had a few more months for staff to settle in, we hope should you be able to visit us again, you would find a huge improvement. You may even be asking us to slow down :-)

We hope to see you again in the future.

Many Thanks,

:-)
The 80 days Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 80 days also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing