We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our 1 year anniversary”
Review of 80 days - CLOSED

80 days
Price range: $5 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“our 1 year anniversary”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

my partner and i arrived here on monday evening for our 1 year anniversary. I had organised this a month in advanced and asked for a romantic table, the staff went above and beyond to make this a special evening for us, we had rose petals on the table, candles and a private section. the staff were very friendly and complimentary and the food was beautiful. we ahd an amazing anniversary so thank you xx

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank nichola_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    44
    14
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing little restaurant.”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

If you read any negatives about this restaurant just ignor them, just very picky people who just want to rant.
We had a fantastic meal here and the food was amazing, they fitted us in at last moment and was very pleased they did, food was well presented and served hot, good varied choice and i must say they all worked hard to make the evening for my partner and myself. We will definatley be revisting this place again. A++++++

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nikinunu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

So lovely! Hubby is a VERY picky eater and they were more than happy to accommodate us. Beautiful food, and the finishing touches to the dishes and overall presentation set this establishment high above the rest.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Ate here with my husband while on holiday in April. Had high expectations due to all the positive reviews but was horribly disappointed.
Menu is very short supplemented by "specials" (which is fine) but 2 of the starters were not available (Friday night) nor was one of the mains. Decided not to have starters as we had wanted scallops which were not available. My husband had lamb which he said was fine but nothing special and nothing that he had not had at home. My pork was really poor. Was not fillet as on the menu but a chop which was tasteless and the accompanying sauce was so thin it was actually a gravy - tasted ok. Potatoes were cold and soggy deep fried cubes (cant remember what they were billed as). Vegetables were really nice - fresh and "crunchy" just as they should be. Decided not to have a pudding - went to the coop and bought a Gu desert to take home to eat later as was not convinced this restaurants offerings would be any better.

Husband had a beer (on the expensive side for what it was) and I had a glass of the house white wine - came warm and was definitely overpriced.

Service was haphazard and desultory - waitress was very young and certainly didn't know much about the menu. I felt she had not had quality training as to expectations for service which was a shame as she was pleasant. Both waitresses had long hair hanging loose - I don't like this as it always ends up in the food! Long hair should be up or tied back. Personal issue I know!Long wait for food.
Restaurant is not comfortable - at least only some of its tables are. Our table was fairly close to the open kitchen in what was really the vestibule and a gale force wind blew in when the door opened. Also chefs shouting "Service" every time they put a dish on the counter was really off putting.

We felt we had wasted an evening here - my fault as I insisted on going as I am keen to support and try new places. We holiday in the Lake District at least once every year (walkers!) and have eaten in many fine places. On this performance we couldn't recommend and would not go back - there are so many better places in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank avrilritchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic service and food”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Lovely place, great atmosphere, our 2 year old girl is lactose intolerant and the staff went out there way to go out and get the right food for her. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking to relax and have a great meal. Thanks

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 80 days also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing