We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Elim Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elim Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Lavendon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Me and my girlfriend spent 3 nights at this B&B over a busy bank holiday weekend. The building is located right in the heart of Bowness-on-Windermere so restaurants, shops and the bay are all right on your doorstep. Bowness-on-Windermere is also a good choice if you want to explore the whole District. Over 3 days we managed to see all the major lakes and the popular towns such as Keswick, Ambleside and Grasmere.

The room was exactly what we were after; it was spotless, comfortable and included everything you'd expect from a good B&B. There were plenty of breakfast options to choose from, including toast, cereal, muesli, a full English and even a vegetarian choice.

By far the best thing about Elim Lodge is the hospitality provided by the owners. We were enthusiastically welcomed as soon as we arrived and were made to feel at home straight away. We would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone who wants to visit the Lake District and will certainly be staying here again.

Room Tip: We did not have a shower/bathroom in our room, but it was about 2 metres away. It was not a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKidd12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    30
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
34
52
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed in Windermere at the elim lodge for 3 nights third week of may 2012. It was an amazing experience for us. Since we are from India, we were worried about the cold weather! But it turned out to be nice and sunny. The b and b was the icing on the cake for us. It was a nice and cosy room, with a private bath as well! The breakfast was just how we liked it, fresh! Roger and Linda are very welcoming hosts! One thing to do is go to ambleside from bowness. It's a beautiful boat cruise away and the town walk is amazing as well!! Thanks roger and Linda for an unforgettable experience :-)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rakarules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodger W, Owner at Elim Lodge, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Many thanks for the kind comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your first visit to the Lakes. Ironically, as we were all worried about how cold it was whilst you were here last week, it is now 28 C !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

excellent bb comfy room great breakfast and friendly hosts much recommended we will be back

Room Tip: room 6 better for vertically challenged
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrispea28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at elim lodge. The rooms were clean and cosy, the hosts were lovely people, and the breakfast was the best we have had in the lakes. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stubyrnes85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Just returned from a three night stay at Elim Lodge for New year's eve. A very friendly welcome from the owners on arrival and made to feel at home straight away. Our room was number 6, clean , comfortable and very quiet. The breakfasts were great, with a good choice. Off road parking was a plus as was the location, just away from the hustle and bustle. A comfortable place with plenty of character.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oilyrag07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Just had a very pleasant weekend break in Bowness - hotel was situated right in the heart of all the pubs / shops and restaurants so no complaints there. Hotel was great, owners greeted you on arrival and left the rest of the stay up to you (unless you required something) - plenty of options for breakfast. Good price, good location and parking space provided - both my partner and 2 young nieces thoroughly enjoyed their stay.

Room Tip: We had front room which was number 3 (family room) - plenty of space for 2 adults & 2 small kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Great breakfast. Fantastic friendly service from the owners/staff - really went the extra mile. The price seemed expensive but this was august in the lake district, well located in bowness...so in the big scheme of things you'd have to say it's competitive. The only thing that lets it down a little is the decor in the rooms - plenty of scope for.improvement there. But it's clean, quiet and comfortable and I know you can do a lot worse than that in the lakes.

Room Tip: talk to the owner and book early. not all rooms are born equal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Pigeon_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
944 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
566 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Elim House
Elim House
#39 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
208 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#6 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elim Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elim Lodge

Property: Elim Lodge
Address: Elim Lodge Elim Lodge Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rob and Karen welcome you to Elim Lodge Guest House, an attractive Lake District house, only a short walk from Lake Windermere. Built around 1860 in the traditional local stone and slate style, Elim Lodge is in a pretty part of Bowness village, very close to local attractions and well placed for visiting the enchanting scenery of the Lake District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Elim Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elim Lodge Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing