We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stags Head

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stags Head
St Helens
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Mediocre hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed as a large group and room was adequate for weekend stay. Beds was 2 single beds pushed together kept falling inbetween as one was higher than the other. Breakfast was ok nothing really special.
The hotel bar gets very busy in the evening with evening entertainment and has a large night club in the
basement. The staff I found friendly and the service was good. In an ideal location and had a pleasant stay.
Large hotel with plenty of
rooms and is perfect for large groups. In major need of an update but ideal base.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    98
    63
    40
    70
See reviews for
50
152
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leek
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

The only plus point about this place is the location, everything else we were very disappointed with!
The rooms were not up to standard after paying £90! The bedroom was ok however there was no mattress protector, the bathroom was dirty, hairs in the shower, cracked tiles, mould in the shower, stains on the walls...oh and the window in the bedroom did not close properly so could hear noise from kitchen downstairs.
We had breakfast and were greeted by a very rude member of staff. We were seated in the pub downstairs for breakfast in between fruit machines and the stale smell of alcohol, the décor was shabby and very tired. The breakfast was very disappointing...cold and undercooked food.
We would not stay here again and definitely would not recommend this to anyone! Beware!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Booked 'The Bowness Suite' for a romantic getaway, looking at the photos it sold itself well, but upon arriving we were informed that the basement houses a nightclub (open until 3am) and that in the bar below there is a Sunday Karaoke. Wouldn't be so bad, but our room (the most expensive in the hotel) was directly above all of this, and upon entering the room it was cold, with lamps not working, bulbs missing and an odd smell drifting around the place - didn't feel welcoming at all. One positive to say though, the staff were incredibly courteous about our feedback and apologised for the problems. We found alternative accommodation and received a full refund, we just don't want others to feel the same disappointment as we did. It could've very easily ruined our stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank SeanFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Visited here after looking on Google for things to do on a Sunday night. This was the only thing that came up. We don't sing but decided to bobbed in. The place was ok, could do with a refurb, but the singers were outstanding very, very surprised at the quality. We loved it entertainment value 10/10.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireLass2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Just come back from weekend stay in stags head, and I agree when people say it need updating, but it still has all the oldy worldy decor, staff where lovely, very friendly, room was fine and clean, breakfast was fab, would definitely recommend, and would definitely stay here again , fab location.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fishtank3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

£90.00 a room! It only costs me £30.00 to put my dog in kennels for 2 nights which is a dam sight cleaner than this place!

Double room, 2 single beds pushed together with no mattress covers, no hot water when showering. Friends of mine said the floor was cleaner than the actual bed!

Location wise, fantastic can't knock the location apart from the church literally on the door step with its bells ringing... Not good when hung over.

Would I recommend anyone to stay here? Erm.... No, I wouldn't put my dog in it.

Over all.... Dirty, tired, requires a good deep clean with some serious elbow grease!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wilber-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

By far this has to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The room was absolutely filthy with mould growing out of the wall! We went to this hotel because it was a good base for the stag doo we were on and for 90 pounds for a twin room it seemed quite reasonable however how wrong could we be. The staff that we dealt with we're rude and unhelpful and the hotel itself needs more than a lick of paint. Another poster commented back at the end of March that there was dry sick all over the sinks in the men's toilets. We'll guess what it was still there. As for the rooms don't expect much the carpet was filthy there we're punch holes all over the walls and no mattress protectors on the bed. We ordered food in the afternoon however the fish I ordered was raw so sent it back. I walked past the kitchens and they looked filthy so all 9 of us on the do decided it would be safer to eat elsewhere for breakfast. I will be writing to the stags demanding a refund however the way the staff were with us I don't expect a response. My advice pay a bit extra for your room and go elsewhere!

Room Tip: We had room 14 so demand you don't have this mould infested room or you will wake up itching lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
0.4 mi away
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel & Spa
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel ...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stags Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stags Head

Property: Stags Head
Address: Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stags Head 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Stags Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stags Head Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Stags Head Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing