We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating”
Review of Stags Head

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stags Head
skelmersdale
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The staff at this hotel are really nice and helpful. Breakfast in the morning was delicious, wide choice on offer and plentiful. But the room was a different matter. We were in a family room, room 12. The bathroom definitely needs refurbishing, broken tiles and broken toilet seat, very unhygenic. Cleaning standard was not very high at all and needs to be addressed. Only had 2 sockets in the room and one of them had TV plugged in, so when you both have mobile phones, ipad and need to use hair dryer and curling tongues (that was my hubby) lol it was very inconvenient to say the least. There is no car park so we parked in the Belsfield Hotel which isnt far, although there are signs that say its for hotel residents only and you may be clamped, luckily we werent. There is a pay and display car park, but would work out expensive if staying more than 1 night, someone told us you can park on the road near the cinema, only 5 minutes walk. Entertainment was good on the Friday and Saturday, there is also a disco downstairs if you like that too. Because of our disappointment with the room we wouldnt stay here again, there are plenty of other hotels to choose from. But as I said, staff and breakfast cannot be faulted.

Room Tip: There may be nicer rooms, on the website they look totally different, we were just unlucky as it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    102
    65
    42
    71
See reviews for
53
157
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tranent, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Been here a few times but never had food. This time we tried it and cant complain. Food was plentyful and rather nice. Lacks a little atmosphere but has a real fire which is great on a cold night. Staff are great and helpful. Place is clean and friendly mostly couples that were in but children are welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel is in an ideal place in Bowness, and first impressions were good. However the room while being adequate could do with an update. The bathroom tiles were very mouldy but the bed made up for it as it was so comfortable. The main downfall was the noise. We knew there was a disco in the basement, and while we are at the older end, and we can party with the best of the, the thud thud thud was not acceptable and the noise from party goers on the street. What we couldn't understand was why there was a notice on the exit door asking people to be quiet when leaving and have consideration for the neighbours, then they have music playing so loud themselves . We be very reluctant to recommend this hotel to anyone, which is a shame because the location is perfect

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
4 Thank Beverley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Arrived at the Stags Head and were given our hotel key to room 16 the lady was still cleaning the room so we were able to leave our suitcases in the room.I have never seen such a filthy room and was very disarpointed with the state of the room.To park your car leave on the top road on the way to ambleside with no parking charges only 5 minutes walk from the hotel.We return to the hotel and found the room had not seen a dyson on the carpet bathroom was ok .we were informed that they stop serving meals at 2 30pm and they recommened The Albert pub for a meal so off we went and the welcome we got from the staff was brill from the staff 10-10 given for the food and service.we ate there for the rest of our stay in a evening. Well back to the stags head workman and swearing locals makes this a a low life place , with one 12year old and a ten tat least there is a pool table and a tv in each part of the pub if you want to watch sport with the riff raff????.Well now to breakfast next morning you each in the bar area of the pub and was greeted by a scottish lady and she was the rudess person i have ever met she needs to attend a course on politeness she took our order of the menu and when we ask her for tea and coffee she snipped and stated she other tables to look after and we would have to wait well does that make me angry ,the food is plenty full if you have a bib big tummy.wouldn,t stay in this hotel again we were never ask by any member of the sfaff if we enjoyed our stay in the rotten place do not book this hotel only if you want to slum it rated zero.

Room Tip: don,t bother to stay at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bluebell1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I really thought that the value website we booked this hotel through was worthy of respect until we saw what you lads said on this site. Still, we thought we would give it a bash...you were all right!

We have never stayed in such an awful place in all our travels.

The room was awful - the smell of smoke, the beds were not changed, the shower was more like an elf pissing through a hole than a shower, the staff were more like day release than staff, the alleged 'real ale' was more like the remnants of a CAMRA night out and to top it off we had the joy of a drunken women (to call her a lady would be a crime) on Sunday night challenging other guests to a game of pool as, in her inimitable style, she was "fg great". We heard her all night and believe me, she was simply a peasant.

The rooms are awful, the food fatty, the staff simple and the price ridiculous. DO NOT VISIT unless you are a stag or hen do.

Other than that....great!

Room Tip: Do not eat here. There are great restaurants around...in fact, stay in these places!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Upon our arrival and spending a fortune in car park fees as the hotel doesn't have a car park and managing to get through the cloud of smoke from the staff all standing outside smoking (and a lad scraching his ging gang goolies) we went in to the hotel to find a free standing till and no reception area, my wife then went in to the crowded bar to check in, at this point she was advised there is a live band on till 11pm then the night club in the basement will be open till 3am (having a 2 and 4 year old i couldn't see us partying on through the night)
The room itself (up 2 flights of stairs and no lift so a problem with a buggy, and next to a small room used to keep tools and paint with no door on it) had a very snazzy new bathroom but the main room had a leaning wardrobe that looked like it was bought from a carboot sale and as for a room with a view... well the building work at the back of the next hotel was far from the lake view we expected. within hour 1st hour we had the surround sound of people making love and a good argument in the pub toilets that are situated below room 16 the family room, my mrs booked this and we thought we had a bargain reduced from £160 to only £80. with breakfast i'd be pushed to pay £40. This hotel would be perfect in ibiza or Kavos, definatly not the lake district, its more like a stag and hen resort. Breakfast was average but sharing the room with so many hungover people swearing about there night around my children did not inpress me, This is not a hotel, this is a pub with a late licence and a nightclub that isn't mentioned in the description

Room Tip: There isnt a swimming pool or fitness center, thats a seperate hotel that the staff don't mentio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank martin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here with my young family and as it isnt stated on booking.com it turns into a nightclub at night whichs finishs at 3am so it was very noisey and kept the children up all night also it didnt help that the people above us were arguing. No car parking either and no lift so we had to carry the pram up and down 2 flights of stairs. It isnt worth the 80 pounds we paid.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AmyH1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,853 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
916 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
352 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
992 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stags Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stags Head

Property: Stags Head
Address: Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stags Head 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stags Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stags Head Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Stags Head Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing