We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheaper than alternatives in Bowness....but there's a reason !”
Review of Stags Head

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stags Head
Tunbridge Wells
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Cheaper than alternatives in Bowness....but there's a reason !”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Not a great experience in the Stag's Head unfortunately. Made to pay upfront on arrival (which in hindsight, I should not have agreed to). Parking is in a public car park a few minutes walk away (£13 for 24 hrs) and contrary to other reviews, no one offered us a free pass for this. To get into the hotel you must pass multiple staff smoking at the entrance, which isn't the nicest way to enter a hotel with small children. You have to check in at the crowded, noisy bar. The man who checked us in did carry my suitcase up the room, which was kind. But the decor is dreadful, old, smelly and in urgent need of improvement. The carpets are worn. The nightclub in the basement has noisy revellers departing into the small hours. The whole hotel is very noisy at night (room 16 has the pleasure of being above the toilets where all sorts of bodily functions can be heard into the small hours...). Staff put the tumble dryer on at midnight, and again at 4am - Who would do this ??? Our door had a 1 inch gap below it which shed unwanted light into the room for most of the night. Arguments, singing, all can be heard at unsociable times. There are several doors to storage rooms (one housing a selection of tools etc, which was open the entire time we stayed there.). There is no security stopping anyone from the club / pub from wandering upstairs to where the rooms (and indeed tools), are !
On the plus side, the bedlinen appeared to be clean, and our bathroom was nice (but small). Breakfast was okay, but eating breakfast at 8am in the shabby pub would not be my first choice. I cannot imagine who would rate this 'hotel' as excellent. It is without question a pub with rooms. It should be the choice for a stag / hen / boozy weekend but definitely not for anyone who a) wants a good nights sleep, b) has children, or c) is interested in cleanliness.

Nobody asked if we enjoyed our stay, there seemed no interest in customer service, no attention to detail, no pride, no service whatsoever.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PeaLomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    102
    65
    42
    71
See reviews for
53
157
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at The Stags Head for new year with some friends.
The hotel is in a great location for the lake, shops and restaurants/bars in Bowness.
We stayed in a room which was at the back of the hotel, rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean.
Check in is from 1.30 and check out is 11 which is slightly later that some others In The lakes where you get kicked out at 10.
The bar area is nice and if you show your room key when at the bar you get 10% off what you order.
We found all staff apart from one arrogant bar man helpful and friendly. But hey you get one of those everywhere you go!
The nightclub in the basement is good and serves until around 2am.
The breakfast at the hotel was good.
All in all we had a great time and will be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahL1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

we stayed here for a couple of nights on a weekend, very friendly and clean we stayed in room 10 which is above the bar and can get noisy so me and my hubby stayed in the bar and had a fantastic night good entertainment. would definately stay there again perhaps not in room 10 though.all the staff are a credit to the owners.

Room Tip: higher rooms have less noise though it does quieten down eventually.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley022699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 27 December 2012, which was a Thursday. The reason I say this is that most of the reviews state that you should expect some noise on a Friday and Saturday night. We were in room 10. A horrendous room that I could only imagine is similar and as basic as to that of hostel accomodation. The room was small with a double bed which was hard and lumpy and very uncomfortable. The curtains in the room were paper thin and outside the bedroom window was The stags head neon green light outside shining in the bedroom so the room was never dark. The windows were not double glazed and should have been as the room was right below the entrance to the pub/nightclub - two hours later and still no sleep from the fights, arguing and loud shouting from the people outside the pub. I might aswell have been sleeping in the nightclub itself. The bathroom is something from the 60's, no shower just a bath that had seen better days and I didn't even want to use it. Eventually at 11.30pm managed to get a room change to number 27. This was a bigger room and an improvement on room 10 however the bathroom very poor again although did have a shower. But again very noisy on a morning from the bin lorries collecting the rubbish. This hotel would be ok for stag/hen nights or the place to be if you can sleep well after having a few drinks.
On a postive note the breakfast was good and the location is excellent.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 10 noisy, small, no bath, terrible room, in desparate need of updating. Room 27...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels

Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Spent a night in the excellent Bowness Suite - 4 poster, great shower, nice decor. Now, this is very much what it says on tin - live music to 12, bar till 1, so don't expect to get to sleep at 10. Pub grub was very good and reasonable, cooked breakfast OK. Staff generally friendly - both the lads who served/helped us called me 'buddy', fine if you are not expecting 'Can I help u Sir?' type of attitude. There was one exception (made me laugh though) - a gruff female member of staff who was not very tolerant of us Sunday morning sleepyheads! I did not pick up her accent when offered orange or apple juice - when I said 'yes,juice'd be great', I was shouted at and given the choice again. When my better half said she'd have grapefruit segments (also on the menu), she was shouted at - 'I didn't ask that, I'll do that in a minute.....now, what fruit juice would you like?!!!! A bit rude, really, but we were too stunned to object! It added to the 'charm' of the place, but may not be for the sensitive. Anyway, it was fun, clean and car parking was free down at the Glebe (December), so we left with a smile!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martillo146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed here on saturday night and its was excellent. The family rooms were very clean and had loads of room. There was a couple of families and we were all put on the same floor which was great as the kids could walk between each room without us worrying about them going near the stairs. One of the rooms were overbooked and we were given the suite, which was fabulous and would recommend paying the bit extra for it. It was a little noisey but it was no problem for us.Breakfast was great and loads of choice. The food at the stag was fantasic and cheaper than going the chippy. The staff were very friendly and always helpful.
Defo going to be booking again for next year.

Room Tip: family room 16 was at the back of the hotel so hardly any noise and the room was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colly11
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Hotels in Bowness/ Windermere are normally reasonably priced on a cold December's night & this, unlike the one next door, was no exception.
A basic Pub B & B with clean bedrooms & a good, modern shower (Room No. 9) centrally located but without Parking.
Added with a hearty breakfast make this worthy of another visit when in the area.
I dare say prices rise with the temperature.

Room Tip: Mid Week dinner is not served. But this Pub does have Sky TV for the footy fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,853 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
916 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,379 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
993 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stags Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stags Head

Property: Stags Head
Address: Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stags Head 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Stags Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stags Head Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Stags Head Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing