We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Easter break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodlands Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We decided on a last minute long weekend break after Easter. We literally jumped in the car and drove to the lakes. I spent hours searching for accommodation to stay but there was too much choice, so we literally just turned up with nothing booked. We arrived in Windermere and the Woodlands had vacancies, so we parked up and went in. We were met by Alan who provided us with a tour and a choice of rooms to pick from. All the rooms we saw were lovely, as nice as our bedroom and bathroom at home (we have high standards). We picked a double room with en suite bathroom which overlooked the woodlands.

The room was very nice, modern decor, furnishings, and furniture, comfy bed, toilteries in the bathroom, hari dryer, iron, TV, and tea and coffee supplies and biscuits. The bathroom was fully tiled and fitted with a modern suite and towel warmer.

The breakfast was absolutely amazing, a choice of fry up, cooked food, cereal, fruit, yughurt..... and my favourite, the pancakes with fruit. The waitresses could not have been more helpful.

Alan was amazing in recommending where we should sight see and helped plan most our days. He also recommended some brilliant restaurants and bars for us to walk to.

The location is really good, inbetween windermere and bowerness, both within a 5 minute walk, which meant we could add variety to our evenings going to different villages, on foot.

Restaurant recommendations would be The Lighthouse in Windermere, great cocktails and food, and in Bowerness - Windermere we went to The Village Inn which again had a nice bar and restaurant area. Food was amazing in both.

You can also have free access to the gym and spa at The Old English with your Woodlands Room Key, although we did not make it, the option is there.

All in all a fantastic trip which was made by Woodlands, Alan and the staff, so accommodating. I always like to visit new places but if we went back we go back to Woodlands without a doubt.

Also great value for money for a really nice modern B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 10, a double, lovely views over the woodlands and stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 408 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

I wasn't sure, the location was on the main road but infact we couldn't hear the road noise as the windows were double glazed. Nice, big comfortable bed, with lovely thick, clean towels. The room was very clean, tea and coffee making facilities. Very friendly staff that couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. Easy to walk into Bowness and Windermere. The breakfast should have a special mention! Fabulous!

Room Tip: Room 16 looked very quiet, tucked round the back of the hotel with a 4 poster bed, maybe ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The woodlands is nice friendly guest house serving a lovely breakfast. Our room was nice and clean. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Beds were very comfy and rooms well equipt. Lovely clean towels and bath robes were provided. We will be booking again for october. Looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which was a decent size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P0lly40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I booked a three night break at Woodlands for my husband's 60th birthday in March. We had to bring this forward due to illness and subsequent treatment on my part.
I chose Woodlands as it was described as a 5* luxury guest house and on reading Trip Advisor now some people do seem to agree with this, the photos on the web site would certainly support this but in reality our room did not live up to this.
Over the years we have stayed in some outstanding accommodation but when we arrived at Woodlands we were very disappointed. In fairness they had left us a large box of Thornton's chocolates.
The room itself was not what I expected, it was tired looking, there were marks on the bedroom wall, the handles on the TV unit were broken, there was a dent in the bath where something had been dropped, there was an over bath shower with a shower curtain and the sink tap was loose which soaked me whilst trying to wash my hands. Overall not 5* by any means. Going by the bathroom photos on their website I had expectations of a luxurious bathroom and this most certainly was not. The wardrobe was just a cupboard without doors in the little corridor between the bedroom and bathroom. The overall impression I got when I first looked around was of huge disappointment.
When we complained we were shown another courtyard room which was equally disappointing and a lot smaller. When we finally met the Owner he was not helpful, quite offhand and could not understand the issues we had. After heated discussions we were finally given a full refund and left at just after 9.00pm.
We managed to find alternative accommodation which was only 3* but was 100% better. It was the same price as Woodlands and included a three course evening meal. Our alternative accommodation was well presented, beautifully furnished with a luxurious bathroom, it included bathrobes, slippers and a safe and the staff were very helpful. No comparison whatsoever!
I would add that we did not take the chocolates and I appreciate that not everyone sees things in the same light. When I book accommodation I want at least the same standard as we have at home or even better and this most certainly was not.

Room Tip: Read reviews on Trip Advisor thoroughly!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in a courtyard suite..Lovely room with a four poster bed...Very clean place staffed by helpful and smiley people..!!..Excellent breakfast with a choice of everything and nothing is too much trouble..
The hotel is situated on the main road between Bowness and Windermere..Out of the hotel, turn right and Windermere is a 5 minute walk, turn left and you can walk into Bowness in 10 minutes slightly downhill so coming back may take a little longer..!!
There are plenty of nice places to eat and drink pretty close to the hotel but we hope you have better weather than we did...My My it was cold..!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluke831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was our first visit to the Lake District and we chose woodlands based on the excellent reviews. We were not disappointed, the hotel was in a great position for both Windermere and Bowness, the staff were polite and helpful, the breakfast was first class, and the rooms were clean with everything you needed. We will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacquiyf59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile


Stayed here August bank holiday 2012
small well run hotel fabulous room
top quality Breakfast great location
Oldy Worldy very British style we have
Already booked to go back
great value for money a very pleasant
Comfortable peaceful place to stay

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 84to87legends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.6 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Windermere Boutique Hotel
Windermere Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Windermere
350 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,489 reviews
2.6 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Windermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Windermere

Address: New Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $114 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Windermere 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A handsome Edwardian villa located on the peaceful side of the village. The 15 newly refurbished guest rooms with brand new en-suite shower rooms and White Company toiletries, include a choice of doubles and twin rooms, with two of them located on the ground floor. All rooms are well equipped with 19" flat screen Toshiba televisions, radio alarm clocks, hairdryer and complimentary tea/coffee making facilities. Three of the rooms have King Size 4-poster beds and three of the rooms have super king size beds, if you really want to impress, flowers and/or champagne can be waiting for you in the room. There's a bar and residents' lounge where you can relax with a drink, and breakfast is served in the light and airy dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Woodlands Windermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Windermere Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing