We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Relaxing Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodlands Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Me and my husband recently stayed at The Woodlands hotel for a 2night break. Upon arrival we were shown to our room which had been upgraded to one of the courtyard suites, which we were delighted at. The room was lovely could not of asked for anything else, it was modern and clean with a good stock of tea, coffee and also hot chocolate. We were also really impressed with the breakfasts they were freshly cooked and everything was delicious. I am really fussy about food wherever I go especially breakfasts and I even cleared the plate!!! The staff are all very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend a stay at this hotel because you wont find a better one in Windermere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clairelouise1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
There are newer reviews for Woodlands Windermere
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 396 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

The location is ok just 10 mins walk from either Bowness or Winderemere centre. Plenty of bars and restuarants around and many activitys. The staff are sensational and very very helpful. Breakfast was five stars and we even took advantage of the Free spa and swimming pool down the road. A fantastic trip and a great hotel. Bumped into a couple of rude guest but hey they werent in there own country and everyone deserves a second chance right.

Overall pleasent stay great rooms quality service Thankyou

Room Tip: Book early on busy weekends for four poster bed!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delphinusdelphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I bought a voucher from The Woodlands for 3 nights including afternoon tea for my parents as a Birthday treat. They had their afternoon tea on arrival and dare I say it, my Dad is still talking about it, he absolutely loved it! Their room was beautiful and of extremely high standards in quality and cleanliness. They tried something different from the breakfast menu every morning and enjoyed every mouthful! The staff, including Alan & Sarah could not have made their stay any more enjoyable as they were so friendly and helpful and even planned days out for them and recommended Restaurants for them for the Evening. I don't think my Mum has done so much in 3 days for a long time! I would really like to thank all the staff for looking after my parents so well and for making their stay with you so enjoyable, relaxing and special!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lancsLytham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

First went with my hubby for a weekend without the kids ,didn't have it book just turn up quite late ,with just one room spare ,took it eagerly ,the staff are very helpful ,they is a beautiful garden next to the hotel which we enjoyed sitting in,not far from main town an enjoyable walk down to it,breakfast was top class ,we also went back a year later with the boys got the same excellent service ,would go back with out a doubt

Room Tip: Every room to a good standard
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wenlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Myself and my husband spent a weekend at Woodlands in May 2012, booked as part of a TravelZoo offer which included 2 nights bed and breakfast along with cream tea on arrival, a bottle of prosecco and an afternoon tea. I cannot fault the service of the staff, the quality and cleanliness of the rooms/lounge/dining room or the location - everything was perfect. Located about a mile downhill walk to Lake Windermere, we thought it was a good location for the centre of Windermere as well as Bowness and Lake Windermere and we did a lot of walking...through choice! Would not hesitate in recommending Woodlands and would definitely return :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SianDaviesCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Spent 2 nights here. Paid extra for a courtyard room (£300 in total for 2 nights) and not worth the money. The courtyard room was £60 extra. On arrival, the ground floor room smelt damp (heavy rain that day) and the internal floor mat was soaking wet (this was sorted once the owner had been informed of this). Room was nicely decorated though and the bed was nice, but the pillows were rubbish. Nice touch with bathrobes. Bathroom very small. Shower virtually scolded us once, as the temperature could not be regulated. Toiletries were a good quality.
Fresh milk would be nice for tea/coffee, as would some bottled water in the room.
Breakfast was average but efficient, with the cooked breakfast arriving before my partner had eaten her cereal. Staff were friendly but too quick to keep asking us if we wanted more of anything.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Peter I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Decided to stay at Woodlands after reading other reviews which seemed very favourable. Was not disappointed - staff so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Bit of a walk to Bowness - but was all downhill. Windermere slightly shorter walk. Breakfast was always freshly cooked to order and waiting time was very minimal. We stayed three nights and each morning breakfast never disappointed. Also choice of cereals and yoghurt and fresh fruit, so something for everyone. Staff always keen to help if you need advice for any trips. All in all a very friendly, clean and welcoming hotel - forget the big chains and try this cosy independent five star abode.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter than front. Try for upgrade, rooms larger and free wi-fi.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.7 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
980 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
528 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#6 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 107 in Windermere
703 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Garden Guest House
Fairfield Garden Guest House
#31 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
310 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laurel Cottage B&B
Laurel Cottage B&B
#27 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Windermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Windermere

Address: New Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $135 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Windermere 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A handsome Edwardian villa located on the peaceful side of the village. The 15 newly refurbished guest rooms with brand new en-suite shower rooms and White Company toiletries, include a choice of doubles and twin rooms, with two of them located on the ground floor. All rooms are well equipped with 19" flat screen Toshiba televisions, radio alarm clocks, hairdryer and complimentary tea/coffee making facilities. Three of the rooms have King Size 4-poster beds and three of the rooms have super king size beds, if you really want to impress, flowers and/or champagne can be waiting for you in the room. There's a bar and residents' lounge where you can relax with a drink, and breakfast is served in the light and airy dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Woodlands Windermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Windermere Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing