We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, central”
Review of Laurel Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Laurel Cottage B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2010

Stayed with my wife and 10 year-old son for two nights and would come again. Not fancy, but clean with friendly hosts who make a great breakfast. The best thing is also a drawback: location. There is a bar next door and at night patrons come out at irregular intervals saying loud good nights to one another. But it's worth it for the pleasure of being right in the middle of such a charming village. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Laurel Cottage B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 303 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2010

Laurel cottage is very picturesque, like something off a postcard, very preety. The cottage is in a great location, for shops, and cafes. It has got a car park but it is not on site, its further up the road, so you might be tired if you have heavy bags. The cottage is gorgeous to look at though, very cute, aww. With it being a cottage it is very old, not at all modern, so it depends on what you like. We got a very warm welcome, the staff were very friendly, nice people. The cottage has a very warm feel to it inside, would be nice in winter, had a cosy sitting room. The decor was not really to our liking, could do with being done up a bit, maybe new furniture. The room we had was very comfortable, felt very relaxed, warm. The room was very small though, couldnt swing a cat in it, not much space to move around. There were no wardrobes, just a hole in the wall with a curtain attatched to it, that you pull over. We did have our own bathroom, which i was glad of, we dont like sharing with other guests and a lot of b&bs do that, nice to have your own. It was tiny though, really small, and there was a giant spider as well. The shower was a bit grotty, looked abit dirty, didnt really want to get in it. The sink was not in with the bathroom, it was in the room itself, by the bed. We did have a little window seat, which was nice, and comfy. Unfortunately though we had no view, our view was the side of another building, and a small car park. There was tea and coffe in the room, biscuits. There was no hot chocolate, which i like, just basic facilities really. The bed was comfy, warm, clean. There was a tv, flat screen, quite a few channels on it. The tv was quite small though, strained your eyes to see the writing when lying on the bed, could do with being a bit bigger. The decor of the room had a typical cottage feel, old, hows its meant to be really. Some things were a bit grotty though, felt like i was staying in a old persons home, not really to my liking. We didnt have breakfast, we got up to late, but sure we would of enjoyed it. It wasnt to pricey, £25 each per night, we only stayed one night. Could work out expensive though, depends on how long you stay, should just pay per room like hotels. I would go back, it was nice, and i have stayed in worse. I do prefer to stay in modern hotels, with more facilities, this is good though if you want a quiet escape.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathrine1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Just returned from staying 2 nights at Laurel Cottage. We last stayed about 25 years ago and had often remembered it with great fondness. We were so looking forward to our return visit. Staff were extremley friendly and welcoming. We were able to park behind the cottage and so that was not a problem at all. The biggest problem with this property now is its location. Unfortunately now there is a bar almost next door that is probably the noisiest in Bowness. If you are staying on a weekend and have a room on the front like we did you are likely to be disturbed by drinkers leaving late at night. When we stayed we were unfortunate enough to have a large group of men staying who decided to sit in front of the cottage in the early hours being very noisy and having no regard to residents especially those asleep in the front bedrooms. Bedrooms are tired and desperately in need of a spruce up. Family who were staying with us had a problem with their shower and we felt was addressed very well. The cooked breakfast was very good however the cold part of the breakfast was limited. Overall I have to say that I would not visit again and feel sad about that. as I always had such good memories of the place.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyBoopTeesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

Just recently returned from a 7 night stay at Laurel Cottage, Cosy B&B in a great location in Bowness on Lake Windermere. Hospitable and friendly is john & Syma, John cooks a great breakfast. It’s our first choice when staying in this area
Steve & Sandra

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arsenal1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

lovely place, very clean and well presented, great value for money! lovely owners very welcoming, would recommened to all, will definatley be re-visiting again, had a fantastic time, rooms lovely and clean and a great breakfast!!! thanks alot

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chell888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

A great place to stay, very friendly service.
Rooms where very clean and comfortable.
The full english breakfast was excellant.
We will come and stay again

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NottinghamGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

My partner and I have just returned after staying 4 nights at Laurel Cottage. What can I say? After reading some of the reviews on here, I thought we'd been somewhere else. It was lovely. Our room was clean and tidy. The breakfasts are great and the welcome is just as we like.
We looked at a few before we booked with vastly differing prices and found this to be great value.
The location is fantastic, just 1 minute walk to the lake. Some people found parking a problem but we pulled up behind the b abd b and left the car for the 4 days. On our last night ( a saturday) there was a bit of noise from the pub next door but not unreasonable.

We would not hesitate to recommend and will return.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrea2364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#4 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Hall Bank
New Hall Bank
#21 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#15 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#16 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Cottage B&B

Address: B&B Kendal Road St. Martins Square, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $108 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laurel Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laurel cottage is under new ownership since March 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Laurel Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Cottage Bed And Breakfast
Laurel Cottage Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Laurel Cottage B&B Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing