We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fantastic place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Laurel Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Laurel Cottage B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke On Trent
Level Contributor
214 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A Fantastic place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

This is the 2nd time i've visited Laurel Cottage with friends and have always had a warm welcome and a pleasant stay. Yes the decor may be a little bit too floral for some peoples liking but its inkeeping with the cottage atmosphere. The location is second to none right in the heart of the village.

I would not hesitate to recommend people to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blue_haddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    83
    21
    10
    6
See reviews for
42
192
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

We’ve stayed a fair number of times in Bowness, but this was our first time at Laurel Cottage. What an omission not to notice it before – it simply is the jewel in the crown. It was much more that excellent value (very important for us after a major spend on home repairs) – it was superb in every way. The house is full of charm and character, and genuinely homely. Dating back to 1613, and with an annexe right above the Peter Rabbit shop (bliss for Beatrix Potter fans) it still has every mod con, and an unparalleled location – wonderful views, but with all the facilities of Bowness, including a huge choice of restaurants, virtually on the doorstep. The welcome from John and Syma and daughter(?) was warm, friendly and genuinely kind – without ever being obtrusive – and nothing was too much trouble. We were even given fresh towels for swimming at the leisure club (a mere 5-minute walk away) to save on hire costs. And when our car got stuck (this was a severe winter leaving hilly Bowness thick with ice and snow) we were helped by John with a smile. The room (shared by my husband, myself, and our teenage son) was extremely comfortable, thoughtfully furnished and very spacious – views from the window were a delight, and there was loads of room for all our belongings and ourselves. The en-suite facilities were first class – there was even plenty of shelving in there for toiletries, etc. No danger either of running out of supplies – when our son asked for a little more tea and milk, he was given a generous handful of both. And there were little Belgian biscuits as a lovely extra touch, replenished each day. There was never any disturbance (although this was New Year and in the centre of Bowness), and our fellow guests were friendly and clearly enjoying themselves. The home-cooked breakfasts were plentiful, healthy, fresh and really delicious, with lots of choice and flexibility – special diets and even particular likes were cheerfully catered for. The freshly brewed coffee (and I am quite a connoisseur) was some of the best I’ve tasted. We really did strike lucky with Laurel Cottage and can’t wait to return – well done, all of you, we can’t thank you enough.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2009

Stayed 3 nights from Sunday 18th October. Warm welcome on arrival from younger member of staff (daughter?), met John and Syma on the second day and were made to feel very at home. Location couldn't be better for pubs, shops, touristy stuff... etc. Very clean room, good breakfast. John was really knowledgeable about local walks big or small. Hope you read this John we're planning to come back in February or March.

Mark & Emma

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greasenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2009

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at Laurel Cottage. The cottage itself was very central, ideal for leaving your car and walking everywhere.
As we had booked one of the rooms with a super kingsize bed, we were able to have a full english breakfast delivered to our room each morning - delicious!
The staff were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. A special thanks to Dave who very kindly packaged up my toiletries and more importantly my make-up and took them down to the Post Office the following day as I had left them in the hallway when we checked out on the Sunday morning.
Really enjoyed our stay with you - thank you.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jplpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2009

Myself and my partner were treated to a 3 night break at Laurel Cottage with our friends who had stayed there before and had thoroughly reccomended it.
This was a belated birthday present to my partner who had broken her ankle back in August and was the first real test of how she would get around after being confined to plaster and limited mobility for the best part of 3 months.
On arrival, we were offered every assistance whilst being shown to our room, which had a king size bed and front facing view.
The room itself was spacious and clean but the en-suite facilities were a bit cramped. However, there were additional toilets and bath/shower rooms outside of the guest rooms.
The owners were on holiday during our stay, but the relief manager was friendly and helpful and served us a nicely cooked, hearty breakfast each morning,
We spent the days travelling by car to the many beautiful towns and villages around the lakes but stayed local in the evenings, to take advantage of the abundance of restaurants and pubs close by.
The location of Laurel Cottage is so good that you don`t have to wander far for an excellent selection of places to eat and drink on either side and directly opposite. This was very much appreciated by my partner who was still dependent on crutches to get around. The best evening meal we had during our stay was at the Village Inn, which is directly overlooked by Laurel Cottage and not far to stagger back after a few glasses of wine !

All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable 3 days and will definitely be returning at the earliest opportunity (maybe for a few long(er) walks next time !!!).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

This was the best accomodation we experience in the UK!!

Poor Mr Trevor Shep must be a whinging pom!

We can't thank the owners enough - Syna and John - for the fantastic hospitality. The room was lovely and very clean. The staff attentive - nothing was too much trouble! And the breakfast was delicious.

This is the ONLY place to stay in the Lakes District.

Nick and Di
AUSTRALIA - Darwin

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darwin091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights and throughly enjoyed our stay. We were greated with a friendly welcome by the staff and the owners were more than glad to chat and offer advice about the local area and where best to visit. It is ideally situated for all amentities with nothing too far away. The room was clean and tidy and a great breakfast set us up for the days activities. We will definately be back to stay again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloucesterCanoers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.0 mi away
Laurel Cottage Windermere
Laurel Cottage Windermere
#36 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#6 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop
Lake View Guest House & Coffee S...
#42 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#17 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Cottage B&B

Property: Laurel Cottage B&B
Address: B&B Kendal Road St. Martins Square, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laurel Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laurel cottage is under new ownership since March 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Laurel Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Cottage Bed And Breakfast
Laurel Cottage Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Laurel Cottage B&B Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing