We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Payment beware....”
Review of Laurel Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Laurel Cottage B&B
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Payment beware....”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Please bear in mind that if you book here full payment is taken from your account as you arrive. I received a receipt for payment for my whole party when I asked for the bill when we had our final - not very pleasant - breakfast. So I had paid for my friends without my knowledge. I have reviewed the 'policies' as the host liked to call them and there is nothing to indicate that this would happen. Luckily my 'debit' account had enough in to cover the bill. The receipt said 'customer not present' - which I was. When this was questioned the 'gentleman' was extremely aggressive and rude. He pointed out all our 'misdemeanours' as guests in his 'home'. To which I pointed out that we had paid quite a lot of money to stay in his 'home'. I haven't slept properly since and am considering whether to contact the local tourist information centre. There were some nice things, but he spoiled it. Luckily we had stayed with lovely people the other nights of our holiday.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Juani56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    83
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
42
198
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

The host, Jason, was unreasonably aggressive verbally towards us. Jumped toward unfounded conclusions. I've never experienced a hospitality host overreacting like he did. His staff appeared nervous. The rooms were small. The food was ordinary and not well cooked (tepid sausage & black pudding) disappointing. Wifi not available in room only on stairwell. Bathroom small. Something red on overmirror light cord looked like blood. Bathroom fan not working.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Theresa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonjamesturner, Owner at Laurel Cottage B&B, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Hi there,
I am terribly sorry I asked you to take off your muddy climbing boots when you had total disregard for my very polite request to take off all 6 pairs of muddy boots on your arrival.
I am sorry you felt this request was asked in the way you described, I genuinly thought i was being diplomatic (as i was certain that all 3 of you would have taken your boots off if you were walking mud on your own carpets).
As far as the breakfast, I am also sorry you experience was not like most other guests who we cook for here and that we won an award for.
Fortunately, most guests know what I am personally like, and know that every staff member has been here with me for what will soon be 3 years--speaks volumes i think.
I have an amazing high degree of customer focus, but i feel BOTH reviews you left are unfounded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Have been staying at Laurel Cottage at least once a year for a long time, and have never been disapointed, the current owners have done a really nice job updating the interior of the cottage but still keeps its old world charm, the breakfast,s are the best we have ever had in a B&B.
Cant wait to go back again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moobell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to this b&b and we had another fabulous weekend. Ideally situated near the lake,bars and restaurants. We were made to feel very welcome. The room was clean & spacious and the breakfast was to die for. Will definitely be returning in the near future

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Enjoyed a two night stay with my daughter in April , we had a twin room lovely and clean and warm. Breakfast was fab I had the Vegetarian breakfast which was excellent. Choice of cereals and juices , fresh tea and coffee followed by a cooked breakfast , great location right in the centre and allocated parking which was great. Hosts and staff were very welcoming would certainly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the front onto the road but didnt find things too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fourstarlancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

First time we have stayed here, but we will be back. Jason and Yui are the perfect hosts, very attentive but not obtrusive. Lovely building, well equipped rooms, great location, pleasant staff and a fantastic breakfast. We have always judged breakfasts by the quality of the sausage and
the sausage here is divine (really good Cumberland) served in a very nice dining room by very friendly efficient staff. Jason cooks the breakfast and nothing is too much trouble. We often come to Bowness and have stayed in some wonderful guest houses but Laurel Cottage is the best so far. All in all we enjoyed our 4 day stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank retnuhblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Centrally located with a fantastic breakfast!. Room nice and clean and warm, staff friendly and helpful. Would recommend to anyone looking to stay in Bowness-on-Windermere.Three night stay here and I usually dont bother with breakfast after the first day, but did here! Yum!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank woodlands1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
734 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blenheim Lodge
Blenheim Lodge
#23 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
321 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#15 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#18 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langdale View Guest House
Langdale View Guest House
#3 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elim House
Elim House
#37 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Cottage B&B

Property: Laurel Cottage B&B
Address: B&B Kendal Road St. Martins Square, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laurel Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laurel cottage is under new ownership since March 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Laurel Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Cottage Bed And Breakfast
Laurel Cottage Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Laurel Cottage B&B Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing