We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Laurel Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Laurel Cottage B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Second time at the guest house. Fabulous location in the heart of bowness, a stroll from the lake, shops and restaurants.
Great breakfasts, a warm welcome and an overall wonderful place to stay. Will be returning soon all being well!
Ps; amazing pastries made by Jason! Thankyou,

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stephandwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 312 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

On arrival we were told "If there is anything you need just come and ask". I was shown to the car park and as I had just finished parking, the owner (Jason) asked me to pay, before I had even got out of the car park. Having stayed in many B&B's this was a first, we usually pay the bill at the end and in the B&B!
In the room all was well, complimentary bottles of water (a nice touch) and biscuits (1 packet of 2 biscuits). The room was clean warm and spacious, but the super-king size bed had 2 mattresses, which were a bit saggy (as Adam1630 states).
The first morning we had a great breakfast, we understood why it has gained a breakfast award, served by really friendly staff. We then left for the day.
On our return we stated that we appreciated the bottles of water on our initial arrival (a compliment to him) and asked for some more biscuits to have with a cup of tea, which I think was our mistake. This only became apparent on the evening of our third and final night, when Jason said "You two want a hotel and not a B&B.You ask for extra biscuits, but we're only a B&B". We pointed out that we thought biscuits would be put in the room every day and that other B&Bs that we've stayed in, in Bowness, do this. Jason disputed this and said that we weren't happy "me and the rest of the staff think this". So much for the initial "If there is anything you need, just ask". We told him we were happy until that point. I think that he has some work to do with his approach to hospitality, as all he achieved from that point was 2 irritated guests, who felt they had been unjustifiably told off.
I would have liked to have spoken with him on the morning we left, but he was not around.
This is a shame because it is a nice B&B, in a fantastic location with great, friendly staff, but an owner who needs to learn to manage his impulsivity and take some lessons in hospitality.
Had it not been for the 'biscuit telling off' we would have given 4/5.
If you book beware of asking questions! There are plenty of lovely B&Bs in Bowness with owners that appreciate your custom.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

A lovely old property with lots of character right in the heart of Bowness, surrounded by local restaurants, bars, shops etc. just less than a minutes walk from the lake. A warm friendly atmosphere and a welcoming greeting when we arrived, we were shown to a beautiful, warm room, very clean and tidy. We had a lovely 2 night stay with a luxury of breakfast in our room, and that was a lovely full hearty breakfast a good start to the day! It was a little noisy at the front of the building but with it being weekend it was expected. We had a lovely stay and we was well looked after. Thank you to all at Laurel Cottage we would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The property is in an excellent location a stones throw from the lake and the piers, the owners are very friendly and the breakfast is excellent, though I am not sure why it has to be served in your room when there is a perfectly pleasant dining room downstairs.

My only criticism, and the sole reason why I reduced it to a three star is the quality of the bed and the bed linen. When we are staying away from home, especially in a B & B the main purpose of the room is to sleep in it, unfortunately with this one we didn't get much sleep, the bed is a standard divan bed with another mattress on top of it, neither mattress is particularly good quality and the result is a significant sag in the bed and my wife and I sleeping very close to each other! (even though it is a king size bed). The bed linen is threadbare and poorly fitting meaning that most mornings we woke up sleeping directly on the mattress.

We wouldn't stay here again unless they have installed new beds and bedding, if they have done that, then we would have no hesitation.

Room Tip: Beware of early checkout at 10.00am
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife & I stayed in this B&B, along with my sister and her hubby, on the 7th Nov. for a couple of nights. We have not stayed here before, but we have passed by it dozens of times as we have stayed in other establishments nearby. It was a cold & very wet afternoon when we arrived, but the cheery, welcoming staff showed us to our rooms, and we were very pleased with what we were offered, and they had not scrimped on the heating - the whole building was lovely & warm & welcoming & comfy. We slept well, and our room was at the rear of the building, and no noise at all was heard by us during the whole night. Breakfast was downstairs in the front room and they had assembled 2 of the tables together, to accommodate the four of us eating. The food itself was good, hot and plentiful, we opted for the cottage breakfast, which was bacon, sausage, fried bread, black pudding, mushrooms and eggs, although there were different other options, like scrambled eggs and poached eggs on offer. The breakfast came with fruit juice and tea/coffee, and toast, and also if you had the appetite for it, cereals and fruit were available for you to help yourself. Great !!! As with most places in the Lakes, parking was at a premium, but this lovely B&B had it sorted. They gave you a card to place in your windscreen, which enabled you to take a parking place in a very near-by car park, belonging to another hotel. All in all we had a great time here, and this was a real comfort, what with the bad weather we encountered. The Laurel Cottage is easy to find, being right in the centre of Bowness, and we reccommend that you stay there, we certainly will stay there again next time we are fancying a couple of days away. Thank-you Laurel Cottage.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheStablers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Returned for our third stay for 3 nights! Huge comfy bed and lovely room! Just love staying here, everything about the place is homely and welcoming! Breakfast 5* as always! Can't wait til next time!! Thanks for looking after us Lucy!!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Cherrypyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I have just had a wonderful 4 day break in the lakes, thanks to Jason and Lui. Laurel cottage is a beautiful B&B with a warm and freindly welcome and superb breakfasts that set you up for the day whatever the weather. We had a nice sized room in the actual cottage form which you get a great view of the hills overlooking windermere. the bed was comfortable and also the room boasted a great shower. My only gripe would be due to no double glazing the room is subject to road noise. This said I would thoroughly recommend this lovely B&B to anyone thinking of a stay in the lakes.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clive C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,964 reviews
0 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#18 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Melbourne Guest House
Melbourne Guest House
#19 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
61 reviews
0 mi away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#15 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#6 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Cottage B&B

Address: B&B Kendal Road St. Martins Square, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $111 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laurel Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laurel cottage is under new ownership since March 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Laurel Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Cottage Bed And Breakfast
Laurel Cottage Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Laurel Cottage B&B Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing