We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional”
Review of Laurel Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Laurel Cottage B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Two of us stayed in a twin room upstairs, in the extended part that used to be a bank. The smallish room (with very small bathroom) was very clean and comfortable. Plenty of teabags, biscuits and coffee were supplied. The staff are friendly and willing, and the breakfast is excellent, with lots of choice. Situated in the centre of Bowness is good, but also slightly unfortunate. There is no double glazing, and the street noise level is high, particularly since our room was above a busy Tapas bar. Prices are generally high in The Lake District (for everything) and we've stayed in B&B's (Cotswolds, in July) just as good but much cheaper. Two minor quibbles: the TV remote control had the back missing, making it difficult swatching channels (temporarily fixed after complaining), and the bathroom door jammed (it should have been planed long ago.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the original (old schoolhouse) building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 237enigma .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 312 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stopped here over August bank holiday weekend for three nights. The cottage wasceay to find and had free car parking facilities nearby. The car park was only 5 mins away, not a problem at all. What more an you expect when you are located so fantastically right in the centre of everything. The car was parked when we arrived and was left till we were leaving as everything was on our doorstep.
We stopped in room 12, a four poster room which had breakfast served in the room. I had the fruit compote and yogurt each morning...highly recommended, as was the cooked breakfast which my husband enjoyed.
All the staff we very friendly and helpful recommending where to eat.
Thank you for a lovely relaxing break. We will be back when we visit the lakes again.

Room Tip: A four poster room where you get breakfast served in your room. We stopped in room 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed here a week ago and had a brilliant experience. Despite the awful weather we received a very warm welcome from Jason.

Initially I had booked a deluxe room and a single room (which did not have an ensuite) but when I arrived the single room got upgraded. Ended up having a double room with ensuite. The B&B is really nicely decorated and being an extremely old building has many fantastic individual quirks. The rooms were immaculately clean, comfortable and well equipped.

The breakfast was really great and set us up for a day exploring the area/lakes.

We suggest going on the Sunset Cruise as it was particularly beautiful to see Lake Windemere in the setting sun.

Would recommend this to anyone - clean, comfortable and a brilliant location. Thank you to Jason and his wife for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bond231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

hi just like to say we stayed here end march begin april this year, been to four star since in aug ,but no way has it compared to laurel cottage, if we go back to lakes laurel cottage we will stay,got to hand it to them ,laurel do a good job ,thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicola w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights, which in hindsight was not enough to take in all that the lake district has to offer. It was a perfect location for us as we travelled by train from Hemel Hempstead to Windermere, the only town in the district with a train station, although the bus routes are very good too. It is situated a minutes walk from the lake and ferry, and right next to all the bars and restaurants. The breakfast was lovely. Very clean rooms and lovely owners who were super friendly. Windermere is probably the busiest town, however for more beautiful views of the lakes, mountains and waterfalls I would get on the bus and head north to Derwentwater, Buttermere, Thirlmere etc. Also word of warning: most maps are not to scale so beware of Grizedale woods next to Connistion, very easy to get lost in the miles and miles of mountainous forresty marshland if you do not stick to the paths, as we found out on our first day. In fact I would steer clear of it all togther, other than getting a bus to the go ape centre. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This was our second stay at Laurel Cottage and we were not disappointed. Check in was swift and friendly - we even had our bags taken to our rooms for us while we parked the car in the car park just a few minutes away from the accommodation. The room was lovely - more spacious than last time with a good size bathroom (room 12). Breakfast was served in the room as we had a four poster room and it was delicious and filling setting us up for the day. Bowness is a great place to visit and there are lots of lovely bars and restaurants a stones throw away from the B&B. We particularly liked the Bodega Tapas bar (next door to Laurel Cottage) as they had a selection of beers from the world and great tapas! We will definitely be staying here again as it is a great location, welcoming staff and great rooms. It is great value for money and I have recommended it to many of my friends!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackcat82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at Laurel Cottage from the 12th July to 15th July 2012 in the four poster room with lovely views and brilliant en-suite bathroom. Our stay was for us to celebrate our college and uni achievements in the last few months and as we had come last year we thought what a great place to come to for us to relax.

The breakfasts were as magnificent as last year and the room was even better.

Jason and Yui are brilliant hosts and made us both feel very welcome from start to finish.

We will definately go back again next .

Room Tip: For a special occasion choose the four poster rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MIkeJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,964 reviews
0 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#18 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Melbourne Guest House
Melbourne Guest House
#19 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
61 reviews
0 mi away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#15 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#6 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Cottage B&B

Address: B&B Kendal Road St. Martins Square, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $111 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laurel Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laurel cottage is under new ownership since March 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Laurel Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Cottage Bed And Breakfast
Laurel Cottage Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Laurel Cottage B&B Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing