We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a lovely time and we will definitely be back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Laurel Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Laurel Cottage B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We had a lovely time and we will definitely be back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed from the 8th July to 10th July 2011. We stayed in the four poster suite with the option of breakfast to be served in the room. On arrival we were greeted by Jason who
was extremely friendly and helpful host.

The room was beautiful, good size, clean, well decorated and the gorgeous flowers finished the room off nicely. The facilities were very good with en-suite, wardrobe, table and chairs for breakfast, dresser and a beautiful four poster bed. We had a lovely view from the windows. We had breakfast in the room each morning which was out of this world and more than expected. For breakfast you had a choice of cereal, orange juice, toast and jam, plus a big pot of tea and coffee and the cherry on top was a full English breakfast which consisted of bacon, sausage, egg, beans, black pudding, tomato, mushrooms and fried bread.
The breakfast was delivered so that you had enough time to have your cereal before the cooked breakfast arrived.

Jason and Yui were gracious hosts, they could not do any more than they did to make or stay better than it was. Jason gave us recommendations for evening meals which were spot on. The cooked breakfasts were very good due to fact, that Jason worked with Marco Pierre White and Gordon Ramsay, and this showed in his cooking.

The other members of staff were also very friendly, helpful and always had a smile.

Overall our stay at Laurel Cottage was outstanding, we paid £40pp per night including breakfast in the room with a four poster bed. Extremely good value for money. The cottage itself was beautiful.

We will definitely be back again, the stay was the best we have had in the UK.

I would recommend to anyone to stay at Laurel Cottage.

Thank you Jason and Yui

Michael & Jayne

Room Tip: If you want a beautiful room and breakfast in the room, pay for the four poster suite. Well worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIkeJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    83
    21
    10
    6
See reviews for
42
192
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

Had a lovely weekend at bowness staying at laurel cottage! Made to feel really welcome by our hosts. The room was really nice and comfortable, the breakfasts were great, and the location couldn't be any better. Would definitely stay there again and would recommend laurel cottage to others.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodycross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

Laurel Cottage is a great B&B! Jason and Yui are generous hosts and very personable, friendly people. We enjoyed breakfasts and my 5 and 7 yo were treated very nicely indeed - the local special mint cake that Hilary took to Everest went down a treat. The music and free wifi were great. Thanks Jason!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darcy1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

This is a cosy B&B close to everything in Bowness such as shopping, pubs and only about a two minute walk to the wharf. Room was small but comfortable, ensuite was the biggest, but you have to remember you are staying in a 1600's building. Food was very nice and served in a dining room downstairs - can get busy if full, so consider getting to breakfast early. Parking is tight as it is everywhere in Bowness, so be prepared to leave the keys with the owner in case someone needs to get out and they are parked in. The owners were very friendly and appear to be upgrading rooms at the moment. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobandWendy151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

Had a lovely time here the cottage is perfectly situated in Bowness, The family room was perfect for us it had all we needed. Tony looked after us brilliantly nothing was to much, I cant wait to go back there soon.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kelly32t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

We stayed at this Guesthouse for my birthday last October and I liked it that much that I decided to book it as a surprise for me and my husbands 21st Wedding Anniversary. When I booked, i realised that new owners had taken over. A couple of days after I booked, I found out that my mother in law has terminal cancer and hadnt got much time left. I rang and spoke to the owner (Jason) to explain the situation. He was extremely understanding and said that if it came to it, we could either cancel and receive a full refund or move to another date. Fortunately, my mother in law is still around so we decided to go. And how glad I am that we did. As soon as we walked in the door, Jason greeted us and a young lady took us to our room. What a lovely surprise, we had been upgraded, free of charge to a lovely four poster room where we were given the option of having breakfast in our room if we so wished. We went out round Bowness and upon our return, an anniversary card was left on our bed from the staff, which was another thoughtful little touch. When we went out again for a meal that evening, Jason gave us some handy tips on places to eat and places to avoid and also gave us some information about the history of the guesthouse. We decided to have breakfast the next morning in the dining room and I must say, it is one of the best breakfasts I have ever had. There was fresh fruit juice, cereals if you so wished and THE most gorgeous cooked breakfast consisting of the fattest cumberland sausage, 2 rashers of bacon, a fried egg, mushrooms, fried bread, beans, black pudding, tomato and what can be described as like a little omelette rolled up, 2 rounds of toast with marmalade, jam and butter and tea or coffee. It was very substantial and filled us up until tea time. The guesthouse itself is in a very convenient spot, literally 2 minute walk from the Lake with pubs and restaurants a few steps away. Jason is in the middle of re-decorating and had just had new carpets fitted in the dining room and the private lounge, some of the bedrooms have been re-furbished already and we noticed the one that we stayed in last year was just being re-done. Jason and his staff are a credit to this lovely little gem in the heart of Bowness. We have a wedding to attend next October at the Old England. Will we stay there? Not on your life, we will definitely be booking into Laurel Cottage and hope to be able to return again before then. Thank you to Jason for making our 21st wedding anniversary extra special

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmedsec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

The hotels around Lake District are pretty pricey and they are booked up fairly quickly. Found this B&B which is reasonably priced and centrally located (2 mins walk to Lake Windermere and surrounded by restaurants!).

The rooms are quite nice, except the toilets can be a little small. Warm water takes a long time to come on. Fair bit of stairs to navigate but hey, this is a cottage built in 1613 as the original village Grammar school, and for such a building with character, one has to compensate otherwise.

The dining room is very pretty, and the owners "assign" you to specific tables so everyone gets a seat. I saw a family with baby being set up in the living room too! You get to choose from a breakfast menu, and the cooked breakfast is very good!

You need to leave your car keys with the owner as parking is very tight and they may need to shift your car around.

Owners is also helpful with recommending things to do and restaurants to check out. Overall, a satisfying stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chayying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.0 mi away
Laurel Cottage Windermere
Laurel Cottage Windermere
#36 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#6 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop
Lake View Guest House & Coffee S...
#42 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#17 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Cottage B&B

Property: Laurel Cottage B&B
Address: B&B Kendal Road St. Martins Square, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laurel Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laurel cottage is under new ownership since March 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Laurel Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Cottage Bed And Breakfast
Laurel Cottage Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Laurel Cottage B&B Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing