We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lingwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lingwood Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
solihull
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“a great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2008

We would like to recommend the Lingwood Lodge to anyone seeking a relaxing break.
The room was well appointed and spotless, the food delicious, and our host, Paul was very nice.
We had emailed Judy to ask if we could leave our luggage at the Lodge for a while on the last day before we caught our train. She advised that it would be fine and also offered us chauffeur services to and from the lodge! Although Judy was away during our stay we would like to thank her again for arranging things for us.
A big thank you to Paul for being a great host and chauffeur!!
Overall an excellent stay that we will recommend to all our friends / relatives.

  • Liked — nice decor and close proximity to activities
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mosaicmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    17
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
58
156
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
north west
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2008

OUTSTANDING!!!! We cannot praise judy and the Lingwood Lodge enough,this is by far the nicest place we have stayed in the lake district.
The rooms are clean,modern with everything you could possibly need lcd tv,comfy bed,en suite etc...........
The breakfast is outstanding,a lovely bowl of sliced fresh fruit,yoghart,full english fruit juice lovely clean dining area etc........we could go on forever.
Superb location,great parking overall totally outstanding somewhere we found by accident but somewhere that we and our family and friends will be visiting very soon.
Thanks judy for your hospitality it was fantastic.
Ste+Jayne

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stephench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2008

We booked the day before and had a warm welcome when we arrived. The place is very modern with flat screen TV's and DVD player. And if you think the DVD player is a waste of time because you didn't bring any with you - you can borrow lots of DVD's from the guest house. The house also has wi-fi or use of lan cables if your laptop doesn't have wi-fi.
The rooms are quite small but they have made great use of the space available.
I loved the guest house and would recommend it to anyone staying in the lake district.

  • Liked — the rooms were clean, well presented and very modern
  • Disliked — the wi-fi wasn't very fast but was still useable
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kjwilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, Surrey
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel last weekend whilst attending a friend's wedding in the Lakes. This hotel has superb positioning in Bowness, a 2 minute walk to the pier and town. Be prepared to keep walking up, up and up, but as this is the Lake District, that's something you should be prepared for anyways! The breakfast was wonderful as was the service (fresh pots of tea were brought out whenever ours was looking low). You get a great sense of personal attention to detail at Lingwood, helped mainly by the two proprietors, Judy and Paul who were really lovely and helpful. They also both have a great sense of humour, which shines through even in their guest information pack! Also, our room was absolutely spotless, clean as a whistle. The TV was lovely and worked the whole time as did the DVD player. In the reception cupboard downstairs are a pretty decent range of DVDs which you can borrow whilst visiting (I thought this was a great touch). The only problem I had with our room was that it didn't have a bath, only a shower, but I booked knowing this, so it's just a personal thing. I usually like to chill out with a bath at the end of the day, which I wasn't able to do, but on this occasion, as we were really only there for the wedding, this wasn't really necessary. There may have been other rooms with baths, but I'm not sure. In any case, we had a great time and can't wait to go back!!

  • Liked — The DVD palyer, free wi-fi and great brekkie
  • Disliked — This is really stretching it, but the lack of a bathtub.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ysabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burnside Hotel & Spa
Burnside Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,776 reviews
1.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lingwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lingwood Lodge

Property: Lingwood Lodge
Address: Lingwood Lodge Birkett Hill, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lingwood Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lingwood Lodge is a contemporary guest house in a peaceful location just 400m from the steamer piers on Lake Windermere, the shops, restaurants and attractions of Bowness. Comfortable en suite accommodation, family rooms, TV/DVD players. Fast Fibre Optic Broadband internet access, private off road parking. Freshly cooked brakfast using local produce.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Lingwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lingwood Lodge Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing