We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate and with all mod-cons”
Review of Lingwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lingwood Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

It is difficult to find any fault with the Lingwood Lodge B&B - the staff were very welcoming and helpful, the room bright & comfortable, with TV & DVD player, iPxx dock/radio and fast internet access (free). We were even given a lift back to Windermere station on the day of our departure. We would certainly return when next in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 330 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Having read the reviews and being recommended by a family member I was expecting my stay to be more than pleasant, however that was not the case.
The walls appeared to be made out of paper they are so thin, I stayed with my partner (on her birthday) and we felt we had to whisper every time we spoke.
Conversations could be heard clearly from the room next to us and the room above.
As the time came to go to sleep and the TV was turned off, I could hear a gentleman snoring fairly clearly and another TV on elsewhere in the building. I feel that for the price I paid for the room, I shouldn't have to be disturbed like this.
I have slept in A LOT cheaper BnB's in Blackpool and have not been faced with this problem before.
I had only managed 5 hours of sleep as I was woken by a loud rumble that appeared to be the pipes in the wall as someone had turned a tap on.
I was very unhappy to say the least!
We both went for breakfast, half asleep, and had a really nice Full English, this is the only reason why my review is given 2 stars.
When we left in the morning we weren't even asked how our stay was, even a small touch like this isn't much to ask for!
We had planned to go round Windermere during the day but went home early as we were both too tired.
Overall I was thoroughly disappointed with my stay, and will not be recommending this to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Ath3rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lingwoodlodge, Owner at Lingwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2016

Sorry to hear that you had a poor night’s sleep in 2013, usually it very quiet and peaceful at Lingwood Lodge as per our other reviews. I can inform you that the owners have changed since you stay and we, the new owners, hope you give us another try..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We arrived to a very warm welcome and were made to feel very much at home. We had two rooms, one for my husband and I and one for a friend, both rooms were very nice and there is also a lovely and comfortable guest lounge. We had super weather and sat outside in the sun. The breakfast was also delicious! Only a 5 minute walk from the pier and the lakeside town. We were recommended a lovely Italian restaurant for the evening and after a boat ride on the lake had a great meal, all in all a beautiful place and a super B&B to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueIan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Lingwood Lodge is among the best B&B we've been to of all times. It's located just behind Windermere ferry pier, up on a small hill where we can easily park our cars.

The room is simply AWESOME!! A individual villa with large garden and table and seat, you can just have a coffee in front of the B&B and enjoy beautiful views of lake district.

We arrived in a rainy afternoon in early Aug, with a warm welcome from Judy. She introduced to our room (actually they've just 4 rooms) as well as some recommendations of nice restaurants in the town, which turned out to be very decent choice. Our triple room is located on group floor, with view of floweres, forest and sunset, and a bit of lake.

Breakfast is another highlight of this place! The host highly customized for each of their guests, and the breakfast dining room is quite lovely. The settings, dining dishes are also well decorated and felt at home. We met three other tables who stayed in Lingwood Lodge as well and we all felt sensational of this place!

In our 2nd day of the stay, we went our very early in the morning, when the town hasn't waked up yet. Just 5min walk down the hill, you'll see beautiful swans, silent lakes and many others. At night you may also walk around the place, which is extremely quiet and beautiful, with shining stars up on the sky.

It's very convenient to drive there, but if going their by train, you may have to walk a bit from Windermere railway station. Thanks Judy for giving us a perfect stay in Winderemere and we will definitely be back next time if visiting Lake District!

Mike

Room Tip: Triple room is the room on your right hand when entering the lodge. It's located on ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

After a heavy going couple of days work staying here was a perfect pick me up. The owners are lovely. Everything about our stay was fantastic. Bed, cleanliness, attitude, service, room and food. It was all good. Puts much bigger establishments in the shade. In fact they should learn from the lingwood lodge because they really do it well. Thank you for a lovely stay. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Bezzie Mates on Tour Part 3,was a huge success. Left the trawling of accommodation to 'Alan Whicker' and he didn't let us down, what a gem of resting place he found. 'Four in a Bed' would struggle to find anything wrong with this gaff, it was immaculate! Our room had a comfortable bed and pillows with pristine 'hotel' bedding. Light and airy en-suite with toiletries and fresh towels daily. Views from the window...beautiful. The proprietors couldn't have been more helpful, always on hand ( they even gave us bread to feed the ducks) It was a pleasure to eat in the stylish dining room, in fact I think our lass might be stealing a few ideas for her house! The smoked salmon on toast was delicious as was the full English, and if you didn't want cooked there was ample other choices. Only a stones throw away from the lively Bowness. Would certainly return but I doubt they would have many vacancies when people read the reviews, that's why I'm keeping it top secret!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MERBHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed at lingwood lodge with our friends on our annual get together, it was the icing on the cake of a fantastic couple of nights chill out. The staff are very welcoming and warm, it has a very homely atmosphere. I thought our lass was house proud but this place takes the biscuit. If I had searched all day I would not have found one single spec of dust. I love it when you come across little gems like this.the breakfast was spot on and cooked to perfection and just what you needed after a night on the tiles in a very lively bow ness. We hope to visit again it was brrrrrrrrrill.

Room Tip: Just take what you get all the rooms are top quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bodger01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
1.5 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
760 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
595 reviews
0.4 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,063 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lingwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lingwood Lodge

Address: Lingwood Lodge Birkett Hill, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $118 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lingwood Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lingwood Lodge is a contemporary guest house in a peaceful location just 400m from the steamer piers on Lake Windermere, the shops, restaurants and attractions of Bowness. Comfortable en suite accommodation, family rooms, TV/DVD players. Fast Fibre Optic Broadband internet access, private off road parking. Freshly cooked brakfast using local produce.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lingwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lingwood Lodge Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing