We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding B&B”
Review of Dene House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dene House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We spent two nights in this lovely B&B. We couldn't have been happier. It was right next to the town area and a couple minutes more to the lake. On the side of the house is an absolutely gorgeous garden area beside the house with various colors of Rhododendrons.

The hosts Ian and Jenny were just so sweet. They couldn't help us enough or be friendlier. We really liked the little extras all around the house, as well as at breakfast. They had locally produced yogurt and homemade marmalade. The sheets were soft and the towels plush; with both of them having such a fresh scent to them. If we are ever back in the lake country, we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MVPinBoynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S, Owner at Dene House, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for all your great comments and it was a pleasure to meet you and your wife. We trust the rest of your journey was enjoyable too. If ever you are back this way, we would love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 554 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed one night at Dene House but we both felt we had the best nights sleep in months. The greeting we received was warm and friendly and our room was lovely. It was so much bigger than expected and so modern with a lovely bathroom. There was a fridge in the room and flat screen tv and the bed was so comfortable and at least super king in size. The breakfast was served between 8.30 and 9.30 and there was such a great selection of cereals, yoghurts and fresh fruit and juices. The cooked breakfast again was huge and so tasty. The location is fantastic and literally minutes walk down to the bustling shops and bars. There is ample parking for all guests right outside the property but away from the road. It was peaceful and quiet at the guest house and what we needed. We would truly recommend anyone to try this accommodation if you want a friendly, comfortable and relaxed overnight stay or longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S, Owner at Dene House, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and all your lovely comments. Thanks you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The room was big, bright and very clean. It was very nicely decorated and had very good facilitates. Excellent value for money and in a great location for walking into town. Price include wi Fi . I would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank bluepaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S, Owner at Dene House, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Dene House. We really appreciate your very kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Another wonderful stay at Dene House. I think this is the 6th or 7th time my husband and i have stayed. We were met in the hallway by the lovely Lisa with a wonderful warm smile and hug for us both. It is like coming home each time we visit Dene House. The rooms as always are gorgeous and clean. A few little changes new beding all lovely. Breakfast as always is bang on, and served in the lovely bright and airy breakfast room. Maybe change some of the tv brackets so they arent slightly tucked to one side, and defo need a wifi booster. Looking forward to goin back again. Keep up the good work guys because you are doing a wonderful job. Dene House is a fantastic place to stay, i dont think anyone wouldnt want to go back. Lizzie & Paul Hagan xx

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LK-Hagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S, Owner at Dene House, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thanks for all your lovely comments. It was great to see you both again at Dene House. We have taken on board your comments and just installed a wifi booster. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I have just spent three nights at Dene House. Firstly it helped no end that the weather was incredible which made our stay extra special. DH is located only a short walk away from the lake, pubs, restaurants and shops. It's in a nice quiet location with private parking. It's extremely well maintained with a very pleasant seating area out front. Our room (2) was a good size and we had en suite. The fridge came in handy in our room. The bed was extremely comfy and it was generally a very pleasant room in which to spend our time in. Only slight moan is that the curtains are a bit too light so we awoke very early every morning with the sun shining through (and I know this doesn't happen that often in the lakes!!). Breakfasts were nice with a number of options. It was so easy to come and go from this place due to it's ideal location. The owners were around but never intrusive - which added to the appeal of this delightful B&B. Would definitely recommend this if you're thinking of where to stay but without any idea of the area like we were. So glad we booked it and would hope to return again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JT163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S, Owner at Dene House, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted your comments and hope to welcome you to Dene House in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a lovely hotel , Tina is very helpful and informative and made us feel very welcome immediately. The fresh coffee and cakes on arrival is a nice touch. The hotel is spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and they provide lots of little extra's in the room for convenience, iron and ironing boards, wine glasses and corkscrews etc things not always found in larger hotels but very helpful. Away from the bustle but 2 minutes walk into centre of Bowness and superb breakfast, couldn't ask for more.
Christine and Ian the new owners have made subtle improvements to this lovely Hotel since we visited last year and we will most definately book in again when we are next in the lakes.

Room Tip: We have seen three rooms and they are priced according to size not quality, they are all a high stan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S, Owner at Dene House, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write such a great review. We do try to please and it's good to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night only and trust me I would love to come back here. Travelled in train from London and have decided that will rent a car next time. Parking is on the premises and the host are just great. Its like this country house and just has this amazing appeal. We stayed in room no. 1 which is probably the biggest one. It is useful to be on the ground floor if you have heavy bags the way we did. Amenities are great. Short downhill walk to the Lake Windermere and there are enough places to eat around.
There are options for breakfast and I chose salmon , eggs and toast. Vegetarian breakfast also available.

Room Tip: I liked the ground floor room ..Room no. 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnkitSaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S, Owner at Dene House, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Dene House, we really appreciate it. We do hope you will return, and as you say, for a little longer next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,962 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lingwood Lodge
Lingwood Lodge
#1 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
319 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dene House

Address: Dene House Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $100 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dene House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dene House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Dene House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing