We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Curry lovers look no further!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shahib's

Shahib's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $26
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Fusion, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to the Shahib's tripadvisor page. We are a bespoke Indian & Bangladeshi restaurant, our style of cooking is that of Bangladeshi/ Indian homemade feel. We use the freshest spices and herbs along with the tenderest meats to create our unique, fresh and bespoke dishes. We are situated upstairs above the arcade in the heart of Bowness on Windermere. Perfect view of the much appreciated picturesque town center . We can cater for large parties as we have a seperate dining room aswell as our main dining area for 60 covers, be it 8, 10 or 30. We can accomadate without a problem. Our seating arrangements give ample space for customers not tight fit or cramped. Aswell as dining in we offer a takeout service with 30% off total bill.
Portishead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Curry lovers look no further!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

We first ate here back in April 2011 when it was trading as the Emporers Palace (I think) it has now changed hands and is even better!

The food is great, best keema rice and chicken tikka rezalla I've had to date. It was well spiced, lots of fresh corriander and parsley in the rice and fantastic sauce with plenty of garlic and just enough hint of chilli.

The only thing that would have improved my dinner would have been a pint of Kingfisher lager rather than the pint of Cobra, but that is a personal preference and not a view shared by all.

Would highly recommend a visit to anyone holidaying in Bowness!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tris_C1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    166
    50
    29
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gives our local curry house a run for their money...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

We ate here on our honeymoon and both thoroughly enjoyed it. I am fiercely loyal to our local curry house, but I had to admit that Shahib's was at least on par (perhaps slightly better...!) with their food. Some of the best Indian we've had, so we returned the night before we left.

The service was very good too, and it's nice to see people taking pride in their work place, which is definitely the impression we got from the manager (/owner?) and his staff.

If we're ever in the area we'll be returning.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank almostahawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

We looked for the best reviews in the area to go for somewhere on my birthday meal and Shahibs was the first to come up - and there's no surprise as to why!!

We called up and made a booking for a table of 2 - arrived a bit early and was happily shown to our seats. Very lovely restaurant with good music and atmosphere. It was quite quiet as it was a Sunday evening. We were given drinks straight away, ordered starters and they came within 15 minutes - hot, fresh and full of flavour. Mains were soon to follow, and we both ordered something off the Chefs Special section, with side portions of rice each. Each of these mains were individually flavoursome and tasted wonderfully authentic.

Good and fresh quality ingredients, generous amounts of meat and portions. All for a very reasonable value for money. We were topped up with drinks, and asked if the meal was okay - and enjoyed a friendly chat with the owner Jack which made us feel even more welcome.

Definitely recommend to anyone and everyone! When we return to the lakes we'll be coming back for sure

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 771jenniferr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

The staff are all very friendly and helpful. They gave us recommendation for the dishes to choose and they were attentive toward re-filling our drinks when needed as well as checking that everything is ok. The food was great, the sauce of each of our quite different dishes had a good consistency, but still contribution individual flavours from each of its ingredients. Overall, very happy with this visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yolosnakesinth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“AMAZING FOOD!!!! Must try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Totally love this little Indian ! We go every year when we visit the lakes. The food is simply gorgeous!!!! One of the nicest Indians I've had! Good value for money too! Staff are all friendly, helpful & pleasant !!
Simply you should just try!! X

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hugoboss3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shahib's also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Shahib's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing