We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class Indian food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shahib's

Shahib's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $25
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Fusion, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to the Shahib's tripadvisor page. We are a bespoke Indian & Bangladeshi restaurant, our style of cooking is that of Bangladeshi/ Indian homemade feel. We use the freshest spices and herbs along with the tenderest meats to create our unique, fresh and bespoke dishes. We are situated upstairs above the arcade in the heart of Bowness on Windermere. Perfect view of the much appreciated picturesque town center . We can cater for large parties as we have a seperate dining room aswell as our main dining area for 60 covers, be it 8, 10 or 30. We can accomadate without a problem. Our seating arrangements give ample space for customers not tight fit or cramped. Aswell as dining in we offer a takeout service with 30% off total bill.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“First class Indian food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We'll presented food, restaurant room provided good intimate privacy, looking forward to eating here again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank A_St_Ranger421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    165
    49
    25
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Sodbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Great food and service. If we visit again it will definitely be somewhere we will visit for a meal again.

Helpful?
Thank Danielle-Lyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Decided to eat here on the Sunday night of our stay. The restaurant was quiet but still pleasant. The staff were friendly and polite. Our food was brought quickly. The starter was slightly smaller than expected but the curries were excellent. Would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cinders2872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely meal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

We enjoyed our meal when we ate here during our trip to windermere. Chicken chat starter was delicious but the mixed starter was a bit boring and a tiny portion for the price. We then had a prawn and spinach curry, and a chicken tikka masala which were very nice. Garlic naan was slightly crispy and dry but over all it was a very nice meal, came to aprox £35. Restaurant was slightly cold though!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chloe2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Standard Indian Fare and Menu.

However, cooked excepetionally well and very very tasty.

For information the use of sugar in indian food depends on the region the individual dish comes from, many areas dont use any sugar at all. Butter chicken is traditionally cooked with honey.

I visted the first weekend of March, upon arriving I thought the waiting staff looked a little young and my expectations for good service fell ( I know I know as a parent with teenagers im becoming increasingly biased). I couldnt have been more wrong, the service was prompt, the serving staff being efficent, polite and very friendly. Just the right amount of being available without hovering over your shoulder or constantly asking if everything is ok.

Tasty, fresh well cooked curries and sundries, worth both a visit and if in the area again a return

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mak3m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shahib's also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Shahib's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing