We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beechwood Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in November and cannot fault our stay at all.
The hotel is quiet and family-run with only a few rooms. Our room (room 1) was lovely, very clean and well equipped (spare toothbrushes and other toiletries as well as tea/coffee making facilities).
The staff are lovely and friendly and are there to help if you need anything.
Breakfast was gorgeous, there was a very good selection and it was very good quality.
It is only a short walk from the centre (5 mins or so) which was nice as it is just out of the way but close to all amenities.
There is a lovely lounge with a fire and puzzle (the person to complete it gets wine!) and there are wine glasses in your room so you can bring your own wine without having to pay for an expensive bottle.
I will definitely be visiting Beechwood again and I cannot recommend more!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manchesternatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    17
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
165
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just had a long weekend at the Beechwood to celebrate my wedding anniversary. Third time back but first time for a few years,however no change in very high standards, the room, food and location all excellent , can't go wrong. Definitely recommend to others!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crispywales2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Thank you for another wonderfully relaxing stay. Excellent standards in everything. Breakfast is brilliant and really sets you up for the day. The location always allows us to explore loads without the car which is great. We will be back again soon. Cannot recommend enough.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank garypykitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter Staffs
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and l have just returned from a lovely four night stay in the Lake District staying at Beechwood Guest House in Bowness-on-Windermere, somewhere we have admired from afar during numerous previous visits to the Lakes. Beechwood certainly did not disappoint, it is a beautiful Victorian House with a great location, only 5mins walk into town with lots of nice bistro's, restaurants and pubs and only a 10 minute walk to Lake Windermere. On arrival we were given a really lovely welcome and shown to our room by a member of the family. Our room (Room 6) was lovely,large, well appointed, spotlessly clean and spacious with a nice shower room en-suite. The proprietor Catherine was really friendly and offered good advice about places to visit and eat. Breakfast was lovely too with a good choice of menu and the fresh fruit salad provided each morning was divine !!. A really lovely place to stay and our thanks to Catherine and her family for allowing us to share their beautiful home. Although this was our first visit to Beechwood l do not think it will be our last and we would not hesitate to recommend it to others. Hopefully we will see you all again sometime in the near future.

Room Tip: Room 6, although on the second floor was a really lovely and spacious room with beautiful furniture...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have just returned from yet another wonderful September break in Bowness, staying at the Beechwood Guest House . This was our eighth stay and we have never yet been disappointed - the room was extremely clean and comfortable and the breakfasts are always cooked just the way we like. The homemade fruit salad is a delicious start to the day! Our hosts were lovely - firstly making us feel welcome when we arrived and always being friendly and helpful in every way. We would thoroughly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisyrex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a fabulous two night stay on the weekend of 13th September at the Beechwood Guest House. The building is an attractive Victorian property with its own off street parking (which was very important to us). On the inside, there’s a cosy lounge and a nice dining area. As there are only six letting rooms, the atmosphere was cosy and informal and it really felt like home from home. We stopped in room 6 which was comfortable and well appointed and had a huge sleigh bed. I must say that the highlight for me was the excellent breakfast; it really set us up for the day and we didn’t need to eat again until late afternoon. The owners Catherine and her husband could not have been more accommodating or helpful and they helped make our stay both relaxed and stress free. This is English B&B at it's very best!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankymRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed at Beechwood for three nights in their smallest room. Everyone was very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The room was the only room which was not en suite. It has a separate private bathroom up a fight of stairs. The room was lovely and very comfortable and the bathroom was really well done! We saw one of the other rooms which was larger but finished to an equally high standard! Breakfast was great - I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay again! Thank you very much!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,879 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#6 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
734 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Guest House

Property: Beechwood Guest House
Address: Beresford Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beechwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beechwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing