We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Windermere Lake Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Windermere Lake Cruises is a leading tourist attraction in the heart of the Lake District on England's largest lake. Steamers and Launches sail daily throughout the year with Summer season connections for The Lakeland Motor Museum, Lakeside & Haverthwaite Railway,Lake Aquarium, the Lake District Visitor Centre at Brockhole, Fell Foot Country park, Wray Castle and Ferry House (with connecting sevices for Hilltop and Hawkshead). Combined tickets are available. Windermere Lake Cruises offer more than a ferry service. We hold private charters, lunch cruises, buffet cruises, corporate hospitality, public sailings and group travel. The perfect all-weather attraction.
falmouth, maine
Level 6 Contributor
704 reviews
263 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

our hotel recommended this; we wanted a good walk so he recommended the walker's pass which included a boat to Wray Castle, then we walked about 5 miles to the ferry, picked up the ferry (DON'T take the car ferry, which we did by accident) to Bowness, then took the boat back to Windermere. Clean, timely, efficient, safe, and a good value. The walk on the west side of the lake is beautiful and for us - walkers - it was a great lakeside walk. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank chimayred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere L, administrator at Windermere Lake Cruises, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Many thanks for your excellent review & recommendation of our Walkers cruise. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your day out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,485
    758
    123
    28
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“what a lovely trip”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

windermere is the largest lake in England, i thought i would feel queasy aboard the boats but no, i never, it was thoroughly enjoyable and i can't wait until i go back again. it was a warm day and the trip on the lake was beautiful. we had one boat up to bowness and another on the way back to lakeside. both were fully equipped with safety gear and very clean, the boat captains were fully knowledgeable about windermere and the history of the area, the commentary was interesting and informative. it is safe to take children and most of the boats are pushchair and wheelchair friendly. the boats have toilets and refreshments available, the tip from lakeside to bowness is about 40 minutes and longer if you are going all the way up the lake.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere L, administrator at Windermere Lake Cruises, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful & very informative review of our attraction. You arent alone in expecting to feel seasick & then being pleasantly surprised to find you werent- many people have expressed similar worries to us but our boats gently sail along at a steady but smooth pace.
I sincerely hope you can join us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fun for all”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Decided to go on the lake one sunny saturday. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We went on the walking cruise. We boarded the boat at Bowness and went up to Ambelside, changed boats and went over to Wray Castle then walked the 4 miles down the lake side to Ferry house where we caught another boat back to Bowness. £29 for a family of four enjoyable day had by all.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kscumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere L, administrator at Windermere Lake Cruises, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review of our Walkers cruise- I'm so pleased you & your family enjoyed your day out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Blue tour is good”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

There are 3 choices of tour and blue is the shortest. As we were short on time we opted for this 45 minute cruise. In my opinion it was plenty of time to take in the sights and take a few photos. Unless you're a hardcore boat fan anything longer might be hard work as the boat isn't particularly comfortable. That said if you visit this part of the world it is well worth taking in the sights from England's largest lake.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere L, administrator at Windermere Lake Cruises, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Many thanks for your review of our attraction. I'm very pleased you enjoyed the cruise. The launches which operate the blue islands cruises are built to be practical but comfortable. As a previous reviewer points out below, we have lots of different boats & our Steamers are a bit more luxurious, even fit for royality! Hopefully next time, you might have a bit more time & can experience a wider range of seating standards :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oatley NSW
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We took the trip from Bowness to Ambleside, it was a beautiful trip. We sat upstairs on the top deck where there was a commentary but we couldn't hear a word of it over the engine noise. So if you want to hear that you should sit closer to the front of the boat on that deck. The return trip cost £10.
Ambleside village is a 15 minute walk from the jetty, which we did. Had lunch there and then headed back.
The return boat ride was better, a smaller boat and less crowded. The sun was fully out which made the lake glisten and highlighted the outlines of the surrounding hills.
A very nice afternoon.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere L, administrator at Windermere Lake Cruises, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review of our attraction & very pleased to hear you had a very nice day out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windermere Lake Cruises also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Windermere Lake Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing