We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst fish and chips ever!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vinegar Jones

Vinegar Jones
Cuisines: Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional British fish and chip takeaway with eat in facility. Butcher Shop pies, sausages and burgers. Vegetarian, Halal and Gluten free meals available. Fresh fish and potatoes prepared in house. Watch your meal being prepared. Family owned and run. Free wifi, hot drinks machine and bathroom facilities.
1 review
“Worst fish and chips ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

The worst fish and chips I have ever eaten! My fish was so dry and smelled like it was going off! We bought two fish and chips with mash and curry sauce as a take-away. Got gravy sauce and and one fish that was going off. I couldn't be bothered to drive it back and deal with the rude staff!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vnaidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLakesWaterTiger, Front Office Manager at Vinegar Jones, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Many apologies for your experience with our business. We would like to take this opportunity to offer you a full refund. Please print out this response and the counter will automatically refund you on presentation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    127
    80
    38
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great take away in Bowness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

Wasn't expecting much from this take away in the centre of Bowness on a bank holiday Sunday, but was very impressed. I ordered scampi and chips, and both ingredients were cooked perfectly. While waiting for the food, the waitress commented that the scampi were really good and that they came from Whitby. They certainly were the best scampi I have tasted. Yes it's a high throughput operation in a tourist trap town but the staff were working hard and seemed well organised to me.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Filler1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLakesWaterTiger, Front Office Manager at Vinegar Jones, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. This is what the whole team are working towards. If you ever return please print out this response and we will give you an adult meal for free or every meal purchased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“sub standard food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

we visited vinegar jones on Saturday night, 23/08/14. the place felt like it was being run by children, plenty of them but no leadership and everyone just bickering and arguing with each other, I'm surprised an order finally got put together. the chips were definitely not worth waiting for, substandard food for an establishment in the heart of the lake district. I don't expect the manager to do much about it, all his answers to the bad reviews on this site say that further training will be taking place. You need staff who want to be there to do a decent days work for their pay. I feel your staff turn up for the paycheck and that's it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank markjen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLakesWaterTiger, Front Office Manager at Vinegar Jones, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Your complaint is to be printed out and pinned to the notice board in the staff room. As we work to source everything fresh and artisan made, we are very disappointed that the point of sale is so lacking. Many members of the team are indeed students and it is a summer job. However, this is no excuse for their attitude and yet again a meeting will be held and customer service reaffirmed. We offer you a full refund with this response. Many apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very rude staff and no customer care and poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

Food was excellent just a shame about the staff and there lack of customer care and politeness. We ordered food and paid and then stood waiting for 15 minutes without any communication from the staff on how long our food would be. They were cooking the fish cakes to order but we did not know this. When it was finally ready the so called cook apologised for the delay. I said it was fine but would of been nice to have been told when the order was placed. The young girl serving with him said we can't please everyone. This was totally unacceptable and she continued to be very rude. It's a shame about the staff as the food was very nice but would not visit there again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLakesWaterTiger, Front Office Manager at Vinegar Jones, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Many apologies behaviour of this kind is unforgivable and team members in question will be reprimanded. Our team meetings are all about the customer and that service is the most important part of our business. If you do return please bring this response and we will refund in full your meal. We hope this goes some way to appease your complaint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Fish & Chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

This is a great fish and chip shop in the centre of Bowness. No complaints good old fashioned fish and chips, not greasy. They have toilets which is great as most don't. They also have upstairs and outdoor seating which is really nice. The price was reasonable and the portions were good I really liked it. Especially sitting outdoors on the Royal Square relaxing watching people pass by. Just let down by one of the female staff working the till very short quite rude.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LloydTranquil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLakesWaterTiger, Front Office Manager at Vinegar Jones, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We work actively to keep the standard of our food, using only fresh fish and preparing our own locally sourced potatoes. This takes time and effort and we are so pleased when we gain this type of reaction. Please print this out and receive a free meal for every meal purchased on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinegar Jones also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Vinegar Jones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing