We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very rude staff and no customer care and poor service”
Review of Vinegar Jones

Vinegar Jones
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $150 - $800
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Traditional British fish and chip takeaway with eat in facility. Butcher Shop pies, sausages and burgers. Vegetarian, Halal and Gluten free meals available. Fresh fish and potatoes prepared in house. Watch your meal being prepared. Family owned and run. Free wifi, hot drinks machine and bathroom facilities.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Food was excellent just a shame about the staff and there lack of customer care and politeness. We ordered food and paid and then stood waiting for 15 minutes without any communication from the staff on how long our food would be. They were cooking the fish cakes to order but we did not know this. When it was finally ready the so called cook apologised for the delay. I said it was fine but would of been nice to have been told when the order was placed. The young girl serving with him said we can't please everyone. This was totally unacceptable and she continued to be very rude. It's a shame about the staff as the food was very nice but would not visit there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLakesWaterTiger, Front Office Manager at Vinegar Jones, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Many apologies behaviour of this kind is unforgivable and team members in question will be reprimanded. Our team meetings are all about the customer and that service is the most important part of our business. If you do return please bring this response and we will refund in full your meal. We hope this goes some way to appease your complaint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

495 - 499 of 627 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2014

This is a great fish and chip shop in the centre of Bowness. No complaints good old fashioned fish and chips, not greasy. They have toilets which is great as most don't. They also have upstairs and outdoor seating which is really nice. The price was reasonable and the portions were good I really liked it. Especially sitting outdoors on the Royal Square relaxing watching people pass by. Just let down by one of the female staff working the till very short quite rude.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LloydTranquil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLakesWaterTiger, Front Office Manager at Vinegar Jones, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We work actively to keep the standard of our food, using only fresh fish and preparing our own locally sourced potatoes. This takes time and effort and we are so pleased when we gain this type of reaction. Please print this out and receive a free meal for every meal purchased on your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

As above suggests! Very over priced and under filled portions. Absolutely disgusted at paying £2.70 for a 'large' portion to open them and find a portion less than standard sized anywhere else. Food ok but as a whole will not return.

1  Thank Pcoates84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLakesWaterTiger, Front Office Manager at Vinegar Jones, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Thank you for your review. I was very disappointed to hear how you had not been correctly served. Print this out and get a full refund. In the height of the season mistakes are made but we feel our customers have every right to be reimbursed. Apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Filled the gap. Staff could be more cheerful. Food was fine nothing to write to TripAdvisor about. Reasonable cost.

Thank sidj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLakesWaterTiger, Front Office Manager at Vinegar Jones, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you for the time taken in writing your review. We will be discussing your comments at our team meeting. Sorry we did not impress this time, we are always working actively to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We visited about 6pm on a Monday evening. The queue was out of the front door but we decided to eat in upstairs, without realising this meant standing in the same queue and waiting even longer to have the food brought up to us instead of given to us like takeaway customers. This all seemed at odds with itself but we waited nonetheless as we had been told this was the best fish and chips in the area.
Upstairs there were only a few tables that did not have rubbish on and all needed a bit of a clean and most of the sauce bottles were empty. Indeed, when another customer said to the girl that brought his food that he would like ketchup but the bottle was empty, she simply removed the bottle without offering a solution! There was no bin to empty your own rubbish into either; this might be helpful in future to keep the place looking a bit tidier and encourage more customers. On the up side, there were highchairs that were clean, as were the toilets.
When the food arrived it was only just average. The chips were bland and tiny (looked like we'd got the end of a batch) and my fish was slightly overdone but the mushy peas, pudding and curry sauce were all good (so my partner said).
Not an unpleasant experience at all but it certainly didn't have the wow factor.

1  Thank Sharee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLakesWaterTiger, Front Office Manager at Vinegar Jones, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you for the time you have taken writing this review. The team work very hard to ensure that there is a continuation of service. Thank you for the compliments on the cleanliness of the toilets and highchairs. Apologies regarding the chips, if you return please print this out and we will give you a free portion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinegar Jones also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Vinegar Jones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing