We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monsoons Indian tasty Sunday supper”

Monsoons Indian restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: A lovely cosy restaurant tucked away in a little side street directly opposite Ruskins Inn Pub after the Royalty Cinema offering, Dinner Takeways & Home Delivery Service.DIRECTIONS: Walking up the hill from the lake, 2nd right immediately after the Cinema.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Monsoons Indian tasty Sunday supper”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Staying overnight in Bowness before moving on to Center Parcs, we had Sunday supper at Monsoons. Went for the set meal for 2, to be honest it more than met our expectations, the starters and mains were great. Not cold either! The Nan's were very tasty and big, very big! Really enjoyable meal, would definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikemycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    39
    17
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Food and Service”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent New Year in Bowness and were lucky to have this restaurant at the end of the road just 7 doors away from our cottage. Ii was so good we had 4 takeaways in 6 nights from Monsoons, needless to say the food was excellent the staff and owner we very pleasant and we cant wait to go back next year, and hopefully dine in the new restaurant they are opening next to the cinema.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Bit of a Let Down”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We chose this restaurant as the reviews seemed to indicate it was really special.

We were really disappointed. The premises were nothing special, service could have been better and dishes that are normally quite spicy were exceptionally bland. Even the Bombay potatoes were hard and undercooked. And the price, quite expensive.

A definite miss for any future Indian meals.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nickella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great quality food in a basic setting”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

positive

1.Quite fresh popadums
2. chicken tikka chilli main made to specification
3. chicken tikka of highest quality with mint marinade shining through
4.peshawri nan so fresh and large



negative

1.no mint sauce in popadum dips
2.very basic interior meaning no character to premise
3.quite cold


conclusion

5 star food, great meal,will be going back

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrismriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent curry!!!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Visited on Christmas Eve. Decor as expected from other reviews was nothing to write home about and it was a bit on the cold side. The food however was excellent, tasty and plentiful and staff friendly and attentive.

The only gripe for me was the prices. I think most of the main courses were 8.95 and coming from Bradford where we pay around 6 quid I thought it was on the expensive side. However, it is the lakes where prices in general are inflated so it is probably in keeping with other pubs and restaurants. That said, we will return when next in the area.

Helpful?
Thank nellybarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monsoons Indian restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Monsoons Indian restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing