We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good quality but you need a deep purse !”
Review of The Cornish Bakery

The Cornish Bakery
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good quality but you need a deep purse !”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

They clearly love baking and the quality is there, but I do think £4 for their award winning pasty is a tad too steep. But if you want a treat they are nice, as are their croissants/pan au chocolat. The staff are nice and the premises very clean and offer free Wi-Fi.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank haziefantazie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    62
    18
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Just like being in Cornwall”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Tasty treats sweet and savoury. Delicious, as good as ones bought in Cornwall. Free wifi also always keeps the kids happy!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good Pasties”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Very much enjoyed my pasty in this lovely, clean eatery in Windermere. Can't fault the pork, apple and cider pasty. Had a nice selection of other basked good on offer too.

Only criticism is that service is geared towards takeaway, so even if you sit in, the pasty does not come with sides. Could do with a salad or chips option to make it into a sit down lunch.

Staff very helpful. Toilets clean.

Would highly recommend the pasties, even just for taking to eat later.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TwilightSparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easy Lunch”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Clean and tidy. Nice pasties with lots of choice. Other reviews have commented on the amount of pastry versus filling but I didn't notice a difference between these any any other pasties to be honest. Very tasty, would go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tallgirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Will not be returning”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Called here yesterday , we had two large Cornish and one small Cornish they were just mainley pastry with the minimum filling hardly any meat , the room upstairs was very stuffy no ventilation ....... We will NOT be returning

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank colinking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PastyPresto, Guest Relations Manager at The Cornish Bakery, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send us a review, we do take all customer comments seriously.

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your pasties. Our pasties are hand prepared in our bakery in Cornwall, and although prepared to approved recipes, there can on occasion be some variation. We are usually complimented on the amount of meat and filling being just right against the balance of pastry, therefore I apologise that your pasties did not meet our high standards, and do hope that you will give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cornish Bakery also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Cornish Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing