We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful property, great location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Oakthwaite Lodge

Bowness Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bowness Bay
Patio Area Lakeland
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Bowness Bay
Patio Area
Lakeland
Bowness on Windermere
Grasmere
Exterior
Lodge Bathroom
Kitchen
Lake Windermere from Ambleside
Lounge updated
Millerground, Lake Windermere
Lake Windermere
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lottieloo...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful property, great location”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the lodge with friends who we don't get chance to see very often. The lodge was perfect as it meant we could relax and catch up with friends and come and go as we pleased. It is decorated to a lovely standard and certainly had everything we needed for our weekend break. Beside tea and coffee the owners had even left a pint of milk in the fridge. As said in previous reviews the property has a beautiful comfy sofa that easily seated four and at times it was an effort to drag yourself off it (although the fridge with the wine in wasn't far away !).
The property is ideally located in a quiet residential area yet is no more than a 10 min walk into either Windermere or Bowness. We also got the train from Windermere to Staveley (5 min journey) and did the Hawkshead Brewery tour as our friend is a real ale fan. If you are looking for a weekend break rather than just a one night stay I would not hesitate to recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review and we hope this means you will come back and visit us again very soon. We will certainly look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Quality interior in an excellent location”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Oakthwaite Lodge which was just for a weekend. We travelled by train but found the Lodge easily ten minutes on foot from the station and located perfectly for ambles into either Windermere or Bowness on an evening. The Lodge is decorated superbly and finished to a high standard. Just lazing about on the ridiculously comfy and large L-shaped sofa made for a relaxing holiday. We found ourselves choosing to stay in one night just to enjoy the Lodge. Everything necessary was provided, including simple touches such as milk in the fridge, biscuits for your brew and washing-up liquid.

My only complaint that didn't make this a 5 star stay was it's presentation on the website as a detached bungalow, making us believe that this was stand-out in it's own grounds. The Lodge is in fact in the grounds of another B&B. Because of this, though you feel isolated once inside the Lodge, we found ourselves drawing the curtain over the front door most of the time as B&B guests would peer through it, and some would park outside the door. It wasn't a huge issue, but be aware if you are looking for somewhere specifically isolated for yourselves. I would still happily return.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review and we are delighted you both had such a lovely weekend.We apologise if the photos do not clearly show there is a neighbouring property within the grounds. The photo taken from the rear patio does only show part of the neighbouring building. There is a high hedge next to the lodge parking area which affords lodge guests privacy but thank you for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewineki...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Oakthwaite Lodge had the best of reviews which is why we decided to try it. It beat all our expectations in every way it was perfect and to be honest I cannot say more it just had everything needed to make the perfect holiday break from the owners to the furnishings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There was nothing too dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2013
Thank you do much for such a glowing review and we are delighted you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin R
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very enjoyable. Great place.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We would certainly look to go back again in the future. We enjoyed our stay and Deborah was very helpful.
Detached property set in its own grounds with nice private patio to the rear.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, peaceful.
Liked least: No wifi
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 24, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything is top class!
Liked least: Going home afterwards!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing