We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the chocolate indulgence!”

Mio Mondo at The Coffee Bean
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mobile, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved the chocolate indulgence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Staff are rude and pick up phones in the middle of serving you. I was a bit pee'd with the waiting time and there was only two of them. But when i finally got my order the hot chocolate indulgence was fantastic. My wife had the white hot chocolate and she loved it. It's a nice pit stop and the drinks made up for the staff. But that wont always work, don't think we will go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CuriousTravellerog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    60
    15
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tyneside, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beware of being overcharged”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Visited for a quick lunch. We had great difficulty conveying what we wanted to the waitress, who seemed not to understand English very well. Four of us had sandwiches or soup. We were asked if we wanted salad with the sandwiches. Answer - yes. They came with a simple, very small amount, which would be better termed a garnish (which was all that was really required). We asked for tap-water. It didn't come until we asked again. Then it came without ice, which had been requested. The service, despite there being few other customers, was slow. We decided, therefore, to do without coffee.
We were not given a bill. When we asked the cost we made payment then one of the party did a quick mental tot-up of the cost of our order - we had been overcharged. The water, we were first told was £1 a glass, then, after us expressing surprise that there was any cost, were told it was 50p. per glass. Nowhere was this on any menu nor were we told when we asked either the first or second time for the water. (The Restauranter blamed the waitress, who was standing next to him). We were also told that charge had been made for the salad with the two sandwiches. This was not set out on the menu board for the selection we chose (but was for a different selection). The Restauranter tried to convince us that it was part of the cost. We asked for appropriate refunds - and eventually got them, but not without a lot of fuss and ill feeling on both sides.
We will not go again.
If it was possible, my rating would be nil, rather than one dot.
In fairness, the place looks clean and well kept and it does have a wide range of menu options. Just the place you would choose, like us, for a quick bite and conveniently near the town centre and on the main road.
If you go, keep a list of what you order and the menu prices for them. You may not get any itemised bill when you ask to pay - and the total may be more than you would expect. Beware.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bittern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizzisaidi, Owner at Mio Mondo at The Coffee Bean, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
I am are very sorry that you felt displeased with the service offered on your recent visit. As im sure you could see we are a small coffee shop / sandwich bar, we offer food to eat in or takeaway we have never tried to pretend to be a restaurant and we certainly do not charge restaurant prices if this is the type of meal you were looking for you should have gone into one of the hundreds of restaurants nearby and you certainly would have paid a lot more than £2.50 for freshly made soup and freshly prepared sandwiches we are a small outlet with 2 members of staff and that is why the prices are kept to a minimum and not overcharged I can assure you. You failed to mention that you completely cleared your plates so the food must have been good? You just didn't like the fact you paid £3.50 per head for lunch for 4 people!!! and didn't get restaurant service. We Don't Claim To Be A Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good tea and coffee stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stopped here for a morning coffee while in Bowness and it was very good.We had a large cup of coffee and a generous sized cup of tea. Both were very good. The sandwiches, one bacon and one sausage were nice and tasty but nothing special. (ordinary sliced brown or white bread). A comfortable place to stop for a nice drink but nothing fancy. However, would recommend and visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A perfect coffee!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

After a lovely breakfast in holbeck ghyll I was still searching for my perfect espresso that most hotels fail to be able to serve, I found it at the coffee bean! It was by far the best I have had since visiting Abu Dhabi and Dubai, it was so strong and perfect I had two and my husbands triple shot latte the same just sensational and unless you are coffee fanatics you will not understand how frustrating it is to be served average coffee in these chain coffee places, not here this place is just brilliant, small and intimate and we sat in the sun an added bonus. We didn't eat here but the bread and cakes looked very fresh a perfect gem in bowness.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAAWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great coffee and interesting menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Best coffee in Bowness. Friendly family run business. Interesting menu, not the usual plain old rubbish. Breakfast croissant was lovely. My partner had the cooked breakfast, the only disappointment was the awful cheap sausage - she couldn't eat it. Recommend they buy locally sourced sausage to compliment the high quality of service and food that they strive to provide.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happyhippo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mio Mondo at The Coffee Bean also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Mio Mondo at The Coffee Bean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing