We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect food”

Moonwaters Restaurant
Price range: $28 - $41
Good for: Scenic view
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
444 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Perfect food”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The food in the restaurant was lovely. we had a five course meal which included a coffee course. The staff were really friendly and it was such a good place to eat, I will definitely be going back

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank slocker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
2 reviews
“Good service, poor value for money”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Following a visit the previous day, when we were breath taken at the fantastic views across the lake, we decided to book in for Sunday lunch. We were greeted by a really pleasant waiter and shown to a table that looked out across the bay - just lovely. We'd both hoped for a Sunday roast, but on hearing that the only meat available was Pork, we opted for the a la carte menu.

I ordered the rump of lamb which was described as being served with wilted spinach, dauphinois potatoes, green beans and a rosemary hollandaise sauce. What arrived was some very fatty slices of lamb, that were drowned in a frothy hollandaise sauce without a hint of rosemary. The dauphinoise potatoes were ok, but there was a huge amount of them compared to the portion of edible meat, making the overall flavour of the dish pretty bland. The spinach was soggy and left a substantial pool of water on my plate.

My partner ordered the belly pork, which was described as being served with cabbage, bacon and a black pudding bonbon. None of the accompaniments were present on his plate when the dish was served. We spoke to the waiter who quickly returned the dish to the kitchen and on bringing it back apologised, saying he'd forgotten the black pudding and ran out of cabbage....there was no mention of the bacon though...

We ordered a portion of glazed carrots as an accompaniment, but it is very fair to say that what arrived was some sliced, boiled carrots... They tasted fine, but it was not what was advertised on the menu - a common theme it seems, throughout this meal.

Such a shame as we had really looked forward to our meal there, but it was very average and over priced. In my opinion, the chef just hasn't put the effort in to dishes that could have been amazing. Can't fault the waiting staff or the interior, lots of potential, just a let down in the end.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington Northumberland
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed in Bowness for the weekend meeting up with our friends from Southport, Living social deal offered hotel stay and a free meal on Friday and it you book in for Saturday you got a free bottle of wine. We had aleady booked another restaurant for Saturday.

The food was excellent on Friday night the steaks cooked to perfection so we decided to cancel our Saturday booking and eat in the hotel, (Bad move) When we got into the dining room we were told there were no ribeye steaks available. How can a hotel this size run out of steaks on a Saturday evening???? Very disapointing.

Could not fault breakfast great idea buffet style. Resaurant staff were brilliant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fletch08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good food and views”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very good menu and service. The staff are really friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. The restaurant has excellent views over lake Windermere and is in a prime position.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MoominJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Meal with a beautiful view”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The service was a little slow but the food was worth waiting for.plus we had a beautiful view to look out onto whilst waiting

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank baylinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonwaters Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Moonwaters Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing